

# Working together to plan for the future

# REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE January 24, 2024 COMPASS, First Floor Board Room ZOOM CONFERENCE CALL

# \*\*MINUTES\*\*

## **ATTENDEES:**

Daniel Adams, Central District Health, Ex Officio, via ZOOM Rodney Ashby, City of Nampa, via ZOOM Michelle Barron, Canyon County Development Services, via ZOOM Troy Behunin, City of Kuna, via ZOOM Lee Belt, City of Greenleaf, via ZOOM Bre Brush, City of Boise, via ZOOM Hailey Durham, City of Eagle, via ZOOM Tom Ferch, Ada County Highway District, in person Gabe Finkelstein, Boise State University, via ZOOM Tessa Greegor, City of Boise, via ZOOM Doug Hanson, Chair, City of Kuna, via ZOOM Rob Hartsock, City of Notus, via ZOOM Wayne Herbel, City of Caldwell, via ZOOM Caleb Hood, City of Meridian, via ZOOM Stephen Hunt, Valley Regional Transit, in person Chelsie Johnson, City of Wilder, via ZOOM Meg Larsen, COMPASS, Ex officio, in person Tom Laws, Ada County Highway District, via ZOOM Leon Letson, Ada County Development Services, via ZOOM Dan Lister, Canyon County Development Services, via ZOOM Cody Lund, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio, via ZOOM Brian McClure, City of Meridian, via ZOOM Brent Moore, Ada County Development Services, via ZOOM Dave Rader, Ada County Highway District, via ZOOM Lenny Riccio, Highway District No. 4, in person Darrell Romine, City of Melba, via ZOOM Deb Root, Canyon County Development Services, via ZOOM Michael Toole, Department of Environmental Quality, via ZOOM Vince Trimboli, Idaho Transportation Department, via ZOOM Hanna Veal, City of Garden City, via ZOOM Stacey Yarrington, Ada County Development Services, via ZOOM

## **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Crystal Craig, City of Nampa Deanna Dupuy, City of Boise Brett Laird, City of Parma Shawn Nickel, City of Star

Zach Piepmeyer, Capital City Development Corporation

Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle Mark Steuer, **Vice-Chair**, City of Nampa Jason VanGilder, City of Middleton Lori Wolff, Governor's Office, Ex Officio

## **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Morgan Beesaw, City of Caldwell, via ZOOM

Lori Bishop, in person

Ashley Cannon, COMPASS, in person

Alex Eells, Canyon County Parks, Cultural, and Natural Resources, via

ZOOM

Nick Foster, Kittleson and Associates, in person

Teri Gregory, COMPASS, in person

Gus Loeffelholz, Federal Highway Administration, via ZOOM

Justin Lucas, Ada County Highway District, in person

Amy Luft, COMPASS, in person Austin Miller, COMPASS, in person Hunter Mulhall, COMPASS, in person

Abby Peterson, Idaho Transportation Department, via ZOOM

Alexa Roitman, COMPASS, in person

Doug Self, Atlas Strategic Communications, in person

Nicole Stern, ACHD Commuteride, via ZOOM

Toni Tisdale, COMPASS, in person

Mary Ann Waldinger, COMPASS, in person

Shirley Wentland, Idaho Transportation Department, via ZOOM

# **CALL TO ORDER**

Outgoing Chair Lee Belt called the meeting to order at 8:30 am.

#### OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Amy Luft announced that there is a public comment period currently open through February 11, 2024, for an amendment to COMPASS' Participation Plan; COMPASS 101 will be held the afternoon of January 31, 2024, and the morning of February 6, 2024; and the first installment of the 2024 Education Series will be held February 21 and 22, 2024, regarding housing.

## **CONSENT AGENDA**

# A. Approve the December 20, 2023, RTAC Meeting Minutes

Stephen Hunt moved and Rodney Ashby seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### SPECIAL ITEMS

# A. Safe Streets for All (SS4A) Regional Safety Action Plan Status Update

Nick Foster, Kittleson and Associates, and Doug Self, Atlas Strategic Communications, provided a status report on COMPASS' Regional Safety Action Plan.

## **B. Introduction to COMPASS**

Amy Luft provided an introduction to COMPASS' work products and how they relate to the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee (RTAC).

## **ACTION ITEMS**

## A. Elect Chair and Vice Chair

Meg Larsen facilitated the election of a chair and vice chair for RTAC for 2024.

Brent Moore nominated Doug Hanson for the 2024 RTAC Chair and Tom Laws seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Bre Brush nominated Mark Steuer for the 2024 RTAC Vice Chair and Rodney Ashby seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Doug Hanson then took over the meeting.

# B. Recommend Balancing in the Transportation Management Area (TMA)

Toni Tisdale presented balancing actions in the TMA and requested approval.

Tom Laws moved and Stephen Hunt seconded approval of the balancing actions for the Surface Transportation Block Grant-TMA program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

# C. Recommend Adoption of the Idaho Transportation Department's (ITD) Statewide Safety Performance Measures for FY2024

Hunter Mulhall presented ITD's statewide safety performance measures for FY2024.

After discussion, **Stephen Hunt moved and Brent Moore seconded to recommend the statewide safety performance measures as presented for COMPASS Board of Directors' approval.** Motion passed unanimously.

# INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

# A. Solicit Member Agencies' Requests for the FY2025 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget (UPWP)

Mary Ann Waldinger presented the request form and discussed the deadline for submittal of member agency requests for COMPASS staff time of more than five days to be included in the FY2025 UPWP.

# **OTHER**

Next Meeting: February 28, 2024

# **ADJOURNMENT**

**Stephen Hunt moved and Tom Laws seconded adjournment of the meeting.** Motion passed unanimously.

Chair Doug Hanson adjourned the meeting at 9:51 am.

T:\FY24\800 System Maintenance\820 Committee Support\RTAC\2024 Minutes\Unapproved\01242024\_RTAC\_Minutes.docx