

Working together to plan for the future

REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE September 27, 2023 COMPASS, First Floor Board Room ZOOM CONFERENCE CALL

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Rodney Ashby, City of Nampa, via ZOOM Lee Belt, City of Greenleaf, Chair, via ZOOM Miranda Carson, City of Meridian, Vice Chair, via ZOOM Crystal Craig, City of Nampa, via ZOOM Tom Ferch, Ada County Highway District, in person Gabe Finkelstein, Boise State University, via ZOOM Tessa Greegor, City of Boise, via ZOOM Doug Hanson, City of Kuna, via ZOOM Caleb Hood, City of Meridian, via ZOOM Kate Dahl for Stephen Hunt, Valley Regional Transit, via ZOOM Tom Laws, Ada County Highway District, via ZOOM Brian McClure, City of Meridian, via ZOOM Brent Moore, Ada County Development Services, via ZOOM Shawn Nickel, City of Star, via ZOOM Dave Rader, Ada County Highway District, via ZOOM Lenny Riccio, Highway District No. 4, in person Darrell Romine, City of Melba, via ZOOM Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle, via ZOOM Mark Steuer, City of Nampa, via ZOOM Toni Tisdale, COMPASS, Ex officio, in person Michael Toole, Department of Environmental Quality, via ZOOM Vince Trimboli, Idaho Transportation Department, via ZOOM Jason VanGilder, City of Middleton, via ZOOM Stacey Yarrington, Ada County Development Services, via ZOOM

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Michelle Barron, Canyon County Development Services

Bre Brush, City of Boise

Lara Disney, Public Participation Workgroup

Wayne Herbel, City of Caldwell Chelsie Johnson, City of Wilder

Samantha Kenney, Central District Health, Ex. Officio

Angie Lee, Mayor, City of Parma

Leon Letson, Ada County Development Services Dan Lister, Canyon County Development Services

Robb MacDonald, City of Caldwell

Hayden Rogers, Governor's Office, Ex Officio Deb Root, Canyon County Development Services

Bill Vaughan, City of Eagle Hanna Veal, City of Garden City

OTHERS PRESENT:

Matt Carlson, COMPASS, in person Ashley Cannon, COMPASS, in person Teri Gregory, COMPASS, in person Meg Larsen, COMPASS, in person Gus Loeffelholz, FHWA, via ZOOM Amy Luft, COMPASS, via ZOOM Austin Miller, COMPASS, via ZOOM Alexa Roitman, COMPASS, in person

Nicole Stern, ACHD Commuteride, via ZOOM Mary Ann Waldinger, COMPASS, in person

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Lee Belt called the meeting to order at 8:30 am.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Vince Trimboli announced Caleb Lakey is leaving ITD in late October.

Amy Luft reminded everyone the Leadership in Motion nominations close at noon on September 29.

Rodney Ashby announced the City of Nampa Planning and Zoning team with JUB, received the Kenneth G Wigel Award from the Western Planner Association.

CONSENT AGENDA

A. Approve the August 9, 2023, RTAC Meeting Minutes

Lenny Riccio moved and Nichoel Baird Spencer seconded approval of the Consent Agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Recommend the FY2024 COMPASS Resource Development Plan

Matt Carlson presented the FY2024 COMPASS Resource Development Plan including two modifications that occurred after the meeting packet was provided to RTAC. The first was to update the cost estimate for the Eagle Road Pathway Connection, Phase 3, Baldycypress Drive to McMillan Road (east side) project to be \$1.6 million. The second modification was to change the location of the Eagle Road Ten-foot Pathway, River Valley Street to Ustick Road, east side project from the City of Boise to the City of Meridian.

Lenny Riccio moved and Tom Ferch seconded to recommend COMPASS Board of Directors' approval of the FY2024 COMPASS Resource Development Plan with modifications as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Recommend Communities in Motion 2055 Goals and Objectives

Austin Miller presented the Communities in Motion 2055 goals and objectives.

After discussion, Lenny Riccio moved to recommend COMPASS Board of Director's adoption of the proposed Communities in Motion 2055 goals and objectives with an added amendment to the Convenience goal to include an objective titled Organized Transportation and Development with the description "To promote development patterns that provide for an organized transportation system." Vince Trimboli seconded the motion.

After further discussion, Nichoel Baird Spencer proposed an alternative motion to recommend COMPASS Board of Director's adoption of the proposed *Communities in Motion 2055* goals and objectives as presented with the consideration and development of a potential additional objective relating to Organized Transportation and Development at a later date. Rodney Ashby seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Nichoel Baird Spencer then made a motion to defer a decision regarding the *Communities in Motion 2055* goals and objectives until a subcommittee can be formed to review and discuss the items presented by members of RTAC. Lenny Riccio seconded the motion. Motion passed. Lenny Riccio, Nichoel Baird Spencer, and Tom Laws volunteered to be on the committee.

C. Recommend Adoption of a Resolution Amending *Communities in Motion 2050* and the FY2023-2029 and FY2024-2030 Regional Transportation Improvement Programs (TIPs)

Austin Miller and Toni Tisdale, with assistance from Jason VanGilder, City of Middleton, and Tom Laws, Ada County Highway District, presented resolutions amending *Communities in Motion 2050* (CIM 2050) and the FY2023-2029 and FY2024-2030 TIPs.

After discussion, Crystal Craig moved and Tessa Greegor seconded to recommend the COMPASS Board of Directors adopt resolutions amending CIM 2050 to add the realignment of Middleton Road and the FY2023-2029 and FY2024-2030 TIPs to add the realignment of Middleton Road, the Fairview Avenue bridge replacement, and the Emerald Street bridge replacement. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Recommend Adjusted Urban Area Boundaries

Mary Ann Waldinger reviewed the US Census urban areas and adjustment process and presented the adjusted urban area boundaries.

After discussion, Tom Laws moved and Lenny Riccio seconded to recommend the COMPASS Board of Director's adopt a resolution approving the adjusted urban area boundaries. Motion passed unanimously.

Next Meeting: October 25, 2023

ADJOURNMENT

Lenny Riccio moved and Miranda Carson seconded to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

Chair Lee Belt adjourned the meeting at 9:59 am.

T:\FY23\800 System Maintenance\820 Committee Support\RTAC\2023 Minutes\Unapproved\09272023.docx