Leadership by Example, Elected Official

Winner: Ada County Highway District Board of Commissioners

- Commission President Rebecca Arnold
- Commissioner Sara Baker
- Commissioner John Franden
- Commissioner Mitchell Jaurena
- Commissioner Carol McKee

Description:

Under the Commissioners' leadership, the Ada County Highway District has made a commitment to improving mobility throughout Ada County, and made significant progress in fulfilling that commitment in 2012.

The Commissioners have overseen substantial improvements in accessibility and safety for bicyclists, pedestrians, individuals with disabilities, and school children, including:

- Constructing sidewalks and curb ramps with related sidewalk repair.
- Adding bike lanes.
- Restriping 11 miles of roadway to make more room for bicyclists.
- Adding green bike lane sections in 32 locations where heavy vehicle/bicycle conflicts exist.
- Adding "sharrow" symbols where bicycles may need to occupy the vehicle lane for safety.
- Adding "way finding" signs that provide information to bicyclists of key destinations on or near bike routes.
- Installing nine hybrid beacon pedestrian crossings (HAWKs) at school crossings.
- Installing five accessible pedestrian signals that include audible and vibratory devices to better serve those with visual disabilities.