Working together to plan for the future



#### \*\*MINUTES\*\*

Rodney Ashby, City of Nampa, via telephone

#### **ATTENDEES**:

COMPA

Lee Belt, City of Greenleaf, Chair, via telephone Miranda Carson, City of Meridian, Vice Chair, via telephone Crystal Craig, City of Nampa, via telephone Glenn Pfautsch for Lara Disney, Public Participation Workgroup, via telephone Tom Ferch, Ada County Highway District, via telephone Gabe Finkelstein, Boise State University, via telephone Tessa Greegor, City of Boise, via telephone Wayne Herbel, City of Caldwell, via telephone Stephen Hunt, Valley Regional Transit, via telephone Kristy Inselman, Ada County Highway District, via telephone Liisa Itkonen, COMPASS, Ex. Officio, via telephone Chelsie Johnson, City of Wilder, via telephone Samantha Kenney, Central District Health, Ex. Officio, via telephone Justin Lucas for Tom Laws, Ada County Highway District, via telephone Leon Letson, Ada County Development Services, via telephone Brian McClure, City of Meridian, via telephone Brent Moore, Ada County Development Services, via telephone Shawn Nickel, City of Star, via telephone Lenny Riccio, Canyon Highway District No. 4, via telephone Darrell Romine, City of Melba, via telephone Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle, via telephone Mark Steuer, City of Nampa, via telephone Michael Toole, Department of Environmental Quality, via telephone Vince Trimboli, Idaho Transportation Department, via telephone Jason VanGilder, City of Middleton, via telephone Hanna Veal, City of Garden City, via telephone Stacey Yarrington, Ada County Development Services, via telephone

- MEMBERS ABSENT: Bre Brush, City of Boise Karen Gallagher, City of Boise Doug Hanson, City of Kuna Caleb Hood, City of Meridian McKenzie Johnson, Governor's Office Devin Krasowski, Canyon County Development Services Angie Lee, City of Parma Dan Lister, Canyon County Development Services Robb MacDonald, City of Caldwell Sabrina Minshall, Canyon County Development Services Bill Vaughan, City of Eagle
  OTHERS PRESENT: Dane Hoskins, COMPASS, via telephone Teri Gregory, COMPASS, in person
- Teri Gregory, COMPASS, in person Meg Larsen, COMPASS, in person Amy Luft, COMPASS, in person Austin Miller, COMPASS, via telephone Toni Tisdale, COMPASS, via telephone Mary Ann Waldinger, COMPASS, via telephone

# CALL TO ORDER

Chair Brent Moore called the meeting to order at 8:32 am.

#### **OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS**

Toni Tisdale announced COMPASS will be holding a workshop on February 8, 2023, from 8:30-10:30 in the 2<sup>nd</sup> floor large conference room or via ZOOM, to review Phase II Applications.

Amy Luft announced COMPASS 101 will be held January 31 and February 1, 2023, in the COMPASS Board Room.

Stephen Hunt announced that Valley Regional Transit (VRT) has hired Kate Dahl as a Principal Planner. Stephen also announced that VRT is having outreach meetings in Canyon County regarding public transportation. He will send an email to the membership with upcoming dates and times.

#### CONSENT AGENDA

# A. Approve the December 14, 2022, RTAC Meeting Minutes

Nichoel Baird Spencer moved and Rodney Ashby seconded approval of the Consent Agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

# ACTION ITEMS

## A. Elect 2023 Chair and Vice Chair

Liisa Itkonen facilitated nominations for the 2023 Regional Transportation Advisory Committee Chair. Brent Moore nominated Lee Belt and Lenny Riccio seconded the nomination. Motion passed unanimously.

Lee Belt then took over the meeting and opened nominations for Vice Chair. Brent Moore nominated Miranda Carson to be the Vice Chair for 2023 and Justin Lucas seconded. After discussion the motion passed unanimously.

#### B. Recommend the COMPASS Development Review Policy and Revised Development Review Checklist

Austin Miller presented the COMPASS Development Review Policy and Revised Development Review Checklist.

Stephen Hunt moved and Kristy Inselman seconded to recommend the Development Review Policy and the Development Review Checklist for COMPASS Board of Directors' approval. Motion passed unanimously.

## C. Approve Balancing in the Transportation Management Area (TMA)

Toni Tisdale presented balancing actions in the TMA and requested approval.

After discussion, **Brent Moore moved and Stephen Hunt seconded approving balancing** actions for the Surface Transportation Block Grant-TMA program, as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### D. Recommend Adoption of Resolution Amending the FY2023-2029 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Toni Tisdale presented a resolution amending the FY2023-2029 TIP.

Mark Steuer moved and Vince Trimboli seconded to recommend the resolution amending the FY2023-2029 TIP for COMPASS Board of Directors' approval. Motion passed unanimously.

#### E. Recommend Changes to Scoring Criteria

Toni Tisdale presented the current scoring process and discussed scoring related to the new Carbon Reduction Program. After discussion, a subcommittee was requested to discuss how some Carbon Reduction Program applications will fit with the current scoring process.

Nichoel Baird Spencer, Brian McClure, Tessa Greegor, Jason Van Gilder, and Tom Ferch volunteered to be on the subcommittee.

#### **INFORMATION ITEMS**

# A. Solicit Member Agencies Requests for the FY2024 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP)

Mary Ann Waldinger presented the request form and discussed the deadline for submittal of member agency requests for COMPASS staff time of more than five days to be included in the FY2024 UPWP.

#### B. Status Report – Long-Range Planning Functional Classification Map Update Process

Mary Ann Waldinger presented a status report on the Long-Range Planning Functional Classification Map for Canyon County and next steps.

Next Meeting: March 15, 2023

#### ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 9:31 am.

T:\FY23\800 System Maintenance\820 Committee Support\RTAC\2023 Minutes\Unapproved\01252023.docx