

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING JANUARY 23, 2012 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 N. EAST 2ND STREET MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Sara Baker, Commissioner, for Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Vern Bisterfeldt, Commissioner, Ada County Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa,

Secretary/Treasurer

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County,

Immediate Past Chair

Caleb Hood for Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio Kathleen Lacey for TJ Thomson, Councilman, City of Boise

James Maguire, Boise State University
John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway
District #4

Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, **Chair**

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, Chair Elect

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna

James Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex

officio

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

MEMBERS ABSENT: Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Anthony Lyons, Capital City Development Corporation

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Vice Chair

Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma

OTHERS: Eric Adolfson, Community Planning Association

Sabrina Anderson, Ada County Highway District Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Don Matson, Community Planning Association Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Ferdinand called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS

Chair Ferdinand welcomed new COMPASS Board members Middleton Mayor Darin Taylor, and Kuna Mayor Greg Nelson.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve December 19, 2011, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved November 15, 2011, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved November 16, 2011, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Confirm COMPASS Non-Elected Board Members and Alternate Members
- E. Confirm Standing Committee Memberships

Carol McKee moved and Garret Nancolas seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Confirm Board Officers: Chair, Chair Elect, Vice Chair, Immediate Past Chair. Elect Secretary-Treasurer

Matt Stoll stated the Executive Committee recommended approval of the following ascension of Board officers, and nominated Tom Dale as secretary-treasurer:

Carol McKee, Chair Bryce Millar, Chair Elect Charlie Rountree, Vice Chair David Ferdinand, Immediate Past Chair

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Nate Mitchell seconded approval of the ascension of officers as recommended by the Executive Committee and Tom Dale as secretary-treasurer. Motion passed unanimously.

Matt Stoll thanked Commissioner David Ferdinand for his leadership as COMPASS Board Chair in 2011.

Immediate Past Chair Ferdinand turned the meeting over to Chair McKee at 1:45 pm.

B. Confirm Executive Committee Representatives for Cities under 25,000 in Population

Matt Stoll stated that the small cities recommended Mayor Nate Mitchell as the representative for the Ada County small cities and Mayor Darin Taylor as the representative for the Canyon County small cities on the COMPASS Executive Committee.

After discussion, Sara Baker moved and Elaine Clegg seconded confirmation of Mayor Mitchell and Mayor Taylor as the Executive Committee representatives for cities under 25,000 in population as recommended by the small cities. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Adopt Board Policy 12-01 Conflict of Interest Policy for Professional Services

Matt Stoll presented Board Policy 12-01 Conflict of Interest Policy for Professional Services for adoption.

After discussion, **David Ferdinand moved and Steve Rule seconded adoption of Board Policy 12-01 Conflict of Interest Policy for Professional Services as presented.** Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report – Communities in Motion 2040

Liisa Itkonen provided a status report on the *Communities in Motion 2040* process to date.

After discussion, it was agreed that the Board will review the results of the Scenario workshops at the April 16, 2012 and the July 16, 2012, Board meetings so that the Leadership Team has direction from the full Board.

It was also agreed that the Regional Technical Advisory Committee (RTAC) April and July 2012 meetings will be scheduled so that RTAC can review the results prior to the Planning Team meetings so they will have direction from the full Regional Technical Advisory Committee.

B. Status Report –Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations (AMPO) Annual Meeting

Elaine Clegg, COMPASS' representative on the AMPO Board, provided a recap of the October 2011 AMPO annual meeting in Dallas, Texas.

C. Workshop – Mapping and GIS

Eric Adolfson, COMPASS Associate Planner, conducted a workshop on COMPASS' mapping/GIS capabilities and how they support other COMPASS and member agency programs.

D. Review Requests for New Projects

Toni Tisdale presented requests for new Surface Transportation Program projects and transit programs.

E. Status Report - Federal and State Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on federal and state legislative issues.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Vern Bisterfeldt seconded to send a letter from COMPASS to the U.S. House of Representative members reiterating COMPASS' support for keeping the metropolitan planning organization with a 50,000 population threshold in place. Motion passed unanimously.

F. Status Report – Administrative Building

Matt Stoll provided an update on the COMPASS/VRT administrative building to date.

OTHER

Matt Stoll provided a reminder that the February 27, 2012, COMPASS Board meeting has been cancelled.

ADJOURNMENT

Elaine Clegg moved and John McEvoy se passed unanimously.	conded to adjourn at 3:15 pm. Motion
Dated this 19th day of March 2012.	Approved:
Attest:	By: Carol McKee, Chair Community Planning Association
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association	_

T:\FY12\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maint\Board\2012 agendaminutes\minutes01232012.doc