

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING JANUARY 24, 2011 MERIDIAN CITY HALL 33 EAST BROADWAY AVENUE MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County

Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District

Lisa Bachman, Councilwoman, for Scott Dowdy, Mayor,

City of Kuna

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise, Immediate Past

Chair

Vern Bisterfeldt, Commissioner, Ada County

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise

Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County,

Chair

Caleb Hood for Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of

Meridian, Secretary/Treasurer

Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department

Kathleen Lacey, for David Eberle, Councilman, City of Roise

Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, **Chair Elect**

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, **Vice Chair**

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell,

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

James Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

Jerome Scroggins, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa

Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

MEMBERS ABSENT: Chris Collins, Mayor, City of Notus

Russell Duke, Central District Health, Ex officio Jason Kreizenbeck, Governor's Office, Ex officio Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation

James Maguire, Boise State University

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County

Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma Vicki Thurber, Mayor, City of Middleton

Pete Wagner, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality

OTHERS: Sabrina Anderson, Ada County Highway District

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Kate Eldridge, HDR Engineering, Inc.

Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

Bill Vaughan, City of Eagle

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Elect Ferdinand called the meeting to order at 1:35 pm. Chair Elect Ferdinand welcomed Dave Case, ACHD Commissioner, to his first COMPASS meeting, and Vern Bisterfeldt in his new position as a Ada County Commissioner.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve December 20, 2010, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved November 16, 2010, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved November 18, 2010, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Confirm Non-Elected Board Members and Alternates
- E. Confirm Standing Committees' Memberships

Carol McKee moved and Garret Nancolas seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEMS

A. Status Report – State and Federal Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on state and federal legislative issues.

Chair Elect Ferdinand turned the meeting over to Chair Bieter at 1:40 pm

ACTION ITEMS

A. Confirm Board Officers: Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice Chair, Immediate Past Chair. Elect Secretary-Treasurer

Matt Stoll stated the Executive Committee recommended approval of the following officers, and elect Charlie Rountree as Secretary-Treasurer:

David Ferdinand, Chair Carol McKee, Chair Elect Bryce Millar, Vice Chair Dave Bieter, Immediate Past Chair

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Nate Mitchell seconded approval of the ascension of officers as presented and Charlie Rountree as the Secretary-Treasurer. Motion passed unanimously.

Matt Stoll presented Dave Bieter with a plaque of recognition of achievement for his tenure as Chair.

Immediate Past Chair Bieter turned the meeting over to Chair Ferdinand at 1:45 pm.

B. Confirm Executive Committee Representation for Cities under 25,000 in Population

Matt Stoll stated that the cities under 25,000 in population recommended that Mayor Vicki Thurber, City of Middleton and Mayor Nate Mitchell, City of Star remain as the small cities representatives on the COMPASS Executive Committee.

After discussion, Rick Yzaguirre moved and Brent Orton seconded confirmation of Mayor Nate Mitchell and Mayor Vicki Thurber as the small cities representatives for Ada and Canyon counties on the COMPASS Executive Committee. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Review New Project Applications and Priorities for the FY2012-2016 Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Toni Tisdale reviewed new project applications and priorities for the FY2012-2016 Regional Transportation Improvement Program. Staff will seek COMPASS Board approval at the February 2011 Board meeting.

Elaine requested that staff show which year each project will be going into.

B. Review Memorandum of Understanding for Coordinating and Implementing Activities in the State Street/Idaho 44 Corridor

Don Matson reviewed a Memorandum of Understanding between COMPASS and other agencies for coordinating and implementing activities in the State Street/Idaho 44 Corridor. Staff will seek COMPASS Board approval at the February 2011 Board meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

Carol McKee moved and Nate Mitchell seconded adjournment at 2:10 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated	this	28th	day	of	February	2011	۱.

	Approved:
Attest:	By: David Ferdinand, Chair Community Planning Association
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association	_

T:\FY11\900 Operations\990 Direct Opertaions-Maintenance\Board\2011 agendasminutes\minutes01242011.doc