

Working together to plan for the future

ITEM V-A

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING JANUARY 26, 2015 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Nichoel Baird Spencer for Jim Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Chair Elect

John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County, Secretary-Treasurer

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

Kathleen Lacey for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Luke McHenry, City of Wilder

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Chair

Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna

Nicole Nimmons, Boise State University

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Paul Raymond, Councilman, City of Nampa

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department - District 3

Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Immediate Past Chair

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Vice Chair

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County

Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

MEMBERS Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

ABSENT: Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa

David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio Maryanne Jordan, Councilwoman, City of Boise

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

OTHERS: Sabrina Anderson, Community Planning Association

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Julie DeLorenzo, Idaho Transportation Board

Michael Fuss, City of Nampa

Jennifer Gonzalez, Idaho Transportation Department

Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association

Rhonda Jalbert, Valley Regional Transit

Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association

Megan Leatherman, Ada County

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Don Matson, Community Planning Association Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Dave Wallace, Ada County Highway District

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Rountree called the meeting to order at 1:32 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll requested to add Agenda Item VII-F, Authorize COMPASS Staff to Apply for a Strategic Highway Research Program 2 Competitive Grant, to the agenda. Staff just received notification of the grant opportunity and the deadline is before the next Board or Executive Committee meetings.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Dave Case seconded approval of adding Agenda Item VII-F, Authorize COMPASS Staff to Apply for a Strategic Highway Research Program 2 Competitive Grant, to the agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve December 15, 2014, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive November 18, 2014, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive November 20, 2014, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Approve List of Records for Destruction
- E. Confirm COMPASS Non-Elected Board Members and Alternate Members
- F. Confirm COMPASS Standing Committees Membership

Garret Nancolas moved and Dave Case seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEM

A. Status Report - State and Federal Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on state and federal legislative issues.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Confirm Board Officers: Chair, Chair Elect, Vice Chair, Immediate Past Chair. Elect Secretary-Treasurer

Matt Stoll stated that the Executive Committee recommended the slate of officers: Charlie Rountree, Immediate Past Chair; Garret Nancolas, Chair; Sara Baker, Chair Elect; Steve Rule, Vice Chair; and Dave Case, Secretary-Treasurer.

After discussion, Jim Hansen moved and Rick Yzaguirre seconded approval of the slate of officers as recommended by the Executive Committee. Motion passed unanimously.

Matt presented Charlie Rountree with a plaque of appreciation for his service as the Board Chair in 2014.

Chair Nancolas stated the process used for the elections of officers will be evaluated, and requested that Board members let Matt know of any suggestions for that process.

B. Confirm Executive Committee Representatives for Cities under 25,000 in Population

Greg Nelson moved and John Evans seconded Jim Reynolds as the Ada County small cities representative. Motion passed unanimously.

Darin Taylor moved and Luke McHenry seconded Nathan Leigh as the Canyon County small cities representative. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Adopt Resolution 07-2015 Approving General and Special Membership Dues Formula for COMPASS

Matt Stoll presented Resolution 07-2015 approving a General and Special membership dues formula for COMPASS as recommended by the Finance Committee starting in FY2016.

After discussion, Steve Rule moved and Darin Taylor seconded adoption of Resolution 07-2015 approving the General and Special membership dues formula for COMPASS as presented. Motion passed.

D. Adopt Resolution 08-2015 Amending the FY2015-2019 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 08-2015 amending the FY2015-2019 Regional Transportation Improvement Program to move the maintenance work on I-84 between US 20/26 (Franklin Road) in Caldwell to Franklin Boulevard in Nampa to preliminary development and increase the total to \$15 million.

After discussion, Tom Dale moved and Darin Taylor seconded adoption of Resolution 08-2015 amending the FY2015-2019 Regional Transportation Improvement Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Authorize COMPASS Staff to Develop a Proposal for Ensuring the Retention of the E. Economic Development District (EDD) Designation for Region III

Chair Nancolas presented a request for Board authorization of COMPASS staff developing a proposal for ensuring the retention of the Economic Development District designation for Region IIII as requested by the Idaho Council of Governments (ICOG) Board.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Tom Dale seconded directing COMPASS staff to develop a proposal regarding how COMPASS could assume some or all of ICOG's responsibilities as the Economic Development District (EDD) for Region III, and report back to the Board in 90 days. Motion passed. Rebecca Arnold and Paul Raymond voted nay.

F. Authorize COMPASS Staff to Apply for a Strategic Highway Research Program 2 **Competitive Grant**

Sabrina Anderson presented a request for approval of COMPASS staff applying for a Strategic Highway Research Program 2 grant to collect additional data on freight and enhance performance-based planning for Communities in Motion 2040 2.0.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Jim Hansen seconded authorizing staff to apply for the Strategic Highway Research Program 2 grant as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Nancolas adjourned the meeting a	at 2:58 pm.
Dated this 23rd day of February 2015.	
	Approved:
	By: Garret Nancolas, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho
Attest:	
By:	_

T:\FY15\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations Maint\Board\2015 agendaminutes\minutes01262015.docx