

Working together to plan for the future

Item V-B

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING FEBRUARY 7, 2017 COMPASS, 2ND FLOOR LARGE CONFERENCE ROOM MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Immediate

Past Chair

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County, Chair Elect

Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise, Secretary-Treasurer

John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City

Jay Gibbons, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa, Vice Chair Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Stan Ridgeway, Mayor, City of Eagle

Steve Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Chair

MEMBERS ABSENT: Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell

OTHERS PRESENT: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association Justin Lucas, Ada County Highway District Amy Luft, Community Planning Association

Sabrina Minshall, Community Planning Association

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Elect Dave Case called the meeting to order at 1:08 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGE

Matt Stoll requested to add a Status Report – I-84/Franklin Road to Franklin Boulevard as Agenda Item VI-C.

After discussion, Sara Baker moved and Stan Ridgeway seconded to amend the agenda as requested. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

CONSENT AGENDA

A. Approve December 13, 2016, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Bob Henry moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEM

A. Establish February 27, 2017, COMPASS Board Meeting Agenda

Matt Stoll presented staff proposed Agenda Items 1-14 and requested to add Item 14-B, Status Report - I-84 Pavement Preservation for the February 27, 2017, COMPASS Board meeting and requested latitude to amend the agenda as necessary.

(Chair Rule joined the meeting at 1:18 p.m.)

After discussion, Jay Gibbons moved and Dave Case seconded approval of Agenda Items 1-14b for the February 27, 2017, COMPASS Board meeting as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report – 2017 Idaho Legislative Session

Ken Burgess provided a status report on discussions taking place during the Idaho legislative session on the surplus eliminator, fuel tax increase concepts, highway distribution account funding, sales tax exemption on road building materials, GARVEE, dyed diesel, and the hybrid vehicle registration fee. No transportation funding bills have been formally drafted or introduced as of yet.

After discussion, Sara Baker moved and Tammy de Weerd seconded to request at the February 27, 2017, COMPASS Board meeting to amend the COMPASS legislative position statements to include changing the GARVEE eligible corridors to include US 20/26.

Chair Rule called for a roll call vote. Matt Stoll called roll: Sara Baker, yes; Dave Case, no; Elaine Clegg, no; Tammy de Weerd, yes; John Evans, yes; Jay Gibbons, no; Bob Henry, no; Stan Ridgeway, no; and Steve Rule, no. Motion fails 3 to 6.

(Mayors Evans and De Weerd physically joined the meeting)

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Jay Gibbons seconded to recommend the COMPASS Board support Ken Burgess advocating for Safe Routes to School across the state in this legislative session.

Chair Rule called for a roll call vote. Matt Stoll called roll: Sara Baker, no; Dave Case, no; Elaine Clegg, yes; Tammy de Weerd, yes; John Evans, yes; Jay Gibbons, yes; Bob Henry, yes; Stan Ridgeway, yes; and Steve Rule, no. Motion passed 6 to 3.

В. **Status Report - ICRMP Services**

Matt Stoll provided an update on talks COMPASS staff is having with ICRMP regarding their services and potential cost savings to COMPASS.

Status Report - I-84 Pavement Preservation, Franklin Road to Franklin Blvd. C.

Matt Stoll provided an update on I-84 pavement preservation from Franklin Road to Franklin Boulevard. ITD had determined the pavement preservation work needed to be advanced from FY2018 and FY2019 to FY2017 due to failing pavement conditions.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Α. Executive Session – Idaho Code 74-206 (1) (F)

Bob Henry moved and Stan Ridgeway seconded to adjourn into Executive Session pursuant to Idaho Code 74-206 (1) (F) at 2:10 p.m.

Matt Stoll called roll. The following members were present and voted in the affirmative to move into Executive Session: Sara Baker, Dave Case, Elaine Clegg, Tammy de Weerd, John Evans, Jay Gibbons, Bob Henry, Stan Ridgeway, and Steve Rule. Motion passed unanimously.

No action was taken in Executive Session.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Rule adjourned the meeting at 2:1	5 p.m.
Dated this 14th day of March 2017.	
	Approved:
	By: Steven Rule, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho
Attest:	
By:	_