

# Working together to plan for the future

ITEM V-A

# BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING FEBRUARY 23, 2015 COMPASS, 1<sup>ST</sup> FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2<sup>ND</sup> STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

# \*\*MINUTES\*\*

ATTENDEES: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Nichoel Baird Spencer for Jim Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Chair Elect

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County, Secretary-Treasurer

Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa

Maryanne Jordan, Councilmember, City of Boise

Kathleen Lacey for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Megan Leatherman for Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County Larry Maneely for Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Luke McHenry, City of Wilder

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1

Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Paul Raymond, Councilmember, City of Nampa

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department - District 3

Charlie Rountree, Councilmember, City of Meridian, Immediate Past Chair

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Vice Chair

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality

MEMBERS John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

**ABSENT:** Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County

Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Chair

Nicole Nimmons, Boise State University

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

OTHERS: Sabrina Anderson, Community Planning Association

Aaron Bauges, Idaho Transportation Department - District 3

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Rhonda Jalbert, Valley Regional Transit Justin Lucas, Ada County Highway District Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Don Matson, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association

# **CALL TO ORDER:**

Chair Elect Baker called the meeting to order at 1:30 pm.

#### AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

# **OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS**

None.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

- A. Approve January 26, 2015, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive December 16, 2014, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Approve List of Records of Destruction

Darin Taylor moved and Jim Hansen seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

# SPECIAL ITEM

# A. Status Report - State and Federal Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on state and federal legislative issues.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Bob Henry seconded for Ken Burgess to follow and vigorously lobby against proposed state legislation HB173 on behalf of COMPASS. Motion passed with Rebecca Arnold and Pete Wagner abstaining.

# **ACTION ITEMS**

A. Review Draft Updates to the Joint Powers Agreement and Board Bylaws and Provide 30 Day Notice of Intent to Amend

Matt Stoll reviewed the draft amendments to the Joint Powers Agreement and Board Bylaws.

After discussion, Bob Henry moved and motion was seconded that Board members are to email their comments regarding the draft Joint Powers Agreement and Board Bylaws to Matt Stoll by March 2, 2015, at 5:00 pm, specifying the sections to be changed. The redline versions of the Joint Powers Agreement and Bylaws provided today and Board member comments will be included in the March 16, 2015, Board meeting packet. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approve Priorities of New Projects for FY2016-2020 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Toni Tisdale presented priorities of new projects in the Federal Transit Administration program for the FY2016-2020 TIP, as recommended for COMPASS Board approval by the Regional Coordination Council, Valley Regional Transit Board, and the Regional Technical Advisory Committee.

After discussion, **Bob Henry moved and Paul Raymond seconded approval of the priorities of new projects for the FY2016-2020 TIP as presented. Motion passed unanimously.** 

# INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEM

A. Status Report - Communities in Motion CIM Implementation Grant Program

Due to time, this item was deferred to the March 16, 2015, COMPASS Board meeting.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Dave Case moved and Bob Henry seconded adjourning the meeting at 3:30 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

•	
Dated this 16th day of March 2015.	Approved:
	By: Garret Nancolas, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho
Attest:	
By:	_