

### BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING FEBRUARY 24, 2014 COMPASS, 1<sup>ST</sup> FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2<sup>ND</sup> STREET MERIDIAN, IDAHO

#### \*\*MINUTES\*\*

ATTENDEES: Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Nichoel Baird Spencer for Jim Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Vice Chair Aaron Bauges, Idaho Transportation Department Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian John Evans, Mayor, Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa Maryanne Jordan, Councilwoman, City of Boise Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio Kathleen Lacey for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise, John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4 Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, Immediate Past Chair Paul Raymond, Councilman, City of Nampa Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Chair Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Secretary-Treasurer Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

- MEMBERS ABSENT: John Brunelle, Capitol City Development Corporation Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Bob Flowers, Mayor, City of Parma David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Chair Elect Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna Brent Orton, City of Caldwell Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio David Smith, Boise State University
  - OTHERS: Sabrina Anderson, Ada County Highway District John Bechtel, Mayor, City of Wilder Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Larry Maneely, Ada County Don Matson, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association

#### CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Rountree called the meeting to order at 1:30 pm.

#### AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll noted that the Special Item may become an Action Item if the Board agrees to general support of Senator Winder's draft local option sales tax legislation.

Matt Stoll requested to add Action Item VII-C, Approve City of Wilder as a COMPASS General member.

After discussion, John Evans moved and John McEvoy seconded approval to amend the agenda adding Action Item VII-C as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### **OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS**

None.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

- A. Approve January 27, 2014, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved December 17, 2013, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Approve COMPASS Records Retention Policy
- D. Approve Justin Lucas and Bruce Chatterton as City of Meridian Non-Elected COMPASS Board Alternates

Kathy Alder moved and Rick Yzaguirre seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### SPECIAL ITEMS

#### A. Status Report - 2014 Idaho Legislative Session

Ken Burgess reviewed Senator Winder's draft local option sales tax legislation, and outlined various other proposed legislation relating specially to transportation funding.

Steve Rule stated for the record as opposing local option sales tax legislation, which he sees as bad for Canyon County because it will send business to Oregon, which does not have sales tax.

After discussion, **Darin Taylor moved and Tammy de Weerd seconded COMPASS Board support of Senator Winder's bill for local option sales tax as presented. Motion passed with one abstention from Pete Wagner.** 

#### ACTION ITEMS

#### A. Approve List of New Project Priorities for the Draft FY2015-2019 Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Toni Tisdale presented a list of new project priorities for the draft FY2015-2019 Regional Transportation Improvement Program. The Regional Technical Advisory Committee recommended COMPASS Board approval of the list as presented on January 22, 2014.

After discussion, **Rebecca Arnold moved and John Evans seconded approval of the list of new project priorities for the draft FY2015-2019 Regional Transportation Improvement Program as presented.** Motion passed unanimously.

## B. Authorize Release of Draft *Communities in Motion* (CIM) 2040 Plan Document for Public Comment

Liisa Itkonen reviewed the draft CIM 2040 plan document to be released for public comment.

After discussion, Steve Rule moved and Sara Baker seconded to release the draft CIM 2040 plan document for public comment as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### C. Approve Request from City of Wilder for COMPASS Membership

Matt Stoll presented the City of Wilder's request to join COMPASS as a general member at a prorated rate for FY2014, February 1 thru September 30, of \$699.00.

# After discussion, Kathy Alder moved and Paul Raymond seconded approval of the City of Wilder's membership request at the prorated rate of \$699.00 for FY2014. Motion passed unanimously.

Mayor Bechtel stated Luke McHenry, Wilder's Public Works Supervisor, will be the primary member for Wilder. Mayor Bechtel will be the alternate.

#### ADJOURNMENT

Tammy de Weerd moved and Dave Case seconded adjournment at 2:45 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 17th day of March 2014.

Approved:

Ву:\_\_\_\_

Charlie Rountree, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho

Attest:

By:\_\_

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho

T:\FY14\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations Maint\Board\2014 agendaminutes\minutes02242014.doc