

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING MARCH 15, 2010 MERIDIAN CITY HALL 33 E. BROADWAY AVENUE, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

Attendees:

Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise, **Chair** Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County,

Chair Elect

Sherry Huber, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department Maryanne Jordan, Councilwoman, for Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise

Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, **Vice Chair**

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, **Secretary/Treasurer**

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Jerome Scroggins, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Vicki Thurber, Mayor, City of Middleton Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County

Pete Wagner, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

Members Absent: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Chris Collins, Mayor, City of Notus Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa Scott Dowdy, Mayor, City of Kuna

Russell Duke, Central District Health, Ex officio Jason Kreizenbeck, Governor's Office, Ex officio Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation

James Maguire, Boise State University

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Immediate Past

Chair

Derick O'Neill, Independent School District of Boise Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County

Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma

Others: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Stephen Coe, Department of Environmental Quality

Kate Eldridge, HDR Engineering

Sally Goodell, Ada County Highway District

Caleb Hood, City of Meridian Kathleen Lacey, City of Boise

Kevin LoPiccolo, Canyon County Development Services

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association
Don Matson, Community Planning Association
Mike McGown, Environmental Protection Agency
Carl Miller, Community Planning Association
Matt Moore, Idaho Transportation Department
Ray Stark, Boise Metro Chamber of Commerce
Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association
Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association
Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association
Mary Ann Waldinger, Community Planning Association
Krishna Viswanathan, Environmental Protection Agency

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Bieter called the meeting to order at 1:30 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

David Ferdinand introduced Canyon County Development Services Director, Kevin LoPiccolo.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve February 22, 2010, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved January 19, 2010, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Martin Thorne moved and Rick Yzaguirre seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEMS

A. Introduce Brian Ness, Idaho Transportation Department Director

Chair Bieter welcomed Brian Ness, Director of the Idaho Transportation Department, to the meeting. Director Ness spoke to the Board about his vision for the Idaho Transportation Department.

B. Status Report – Proposed Ozone Standards

Krishna Viswanathan, staff lead, Office of Air Waste and Toxics, EPA Region 10, presented a status report on proposed changes to the ground level ozone standards and discussed the rationale behind the changes.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Adopt Resolution 08-2010 Amending the FY2009-2013 and FY2010-2014 Regional Transportation Improvement

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 08-2010 amending the FY2009-2013 and FY2010-2014 Regional Transportation Improvement Program. ITD staff requested that two projects be added to the Illustrative list: SH 21 Bridge Deck Preservation and Kuna overlays.

After discussion, Sherry Huber moved and Carol McKee seconded adoption of Resolution 08-2010 amending the FY2009-2013 and FY2010-2014 Transportation Improvement Program Illustrative list as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approve *Communities in Motion* Forecast

Carl Miller presented the *Communities in Motion* Forecasts and 2035 Preservation Scenario for population and employment.

After discussion, Carol McKee moved and Sherry Huber seconded approval of the Communities in Motion forecast as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Confirm Executive Committee Representative for Cities Under 25,000 in Population

Matt Stoll stated that the small cities in Ada County appointed Mayor Nate Mitchell as their representative on the Executive Committee, filling the vacancy created by Mayor Bandy's resignation.

After discussion, John Evans moved and Fred Tilman seconded confirmation of Mayor Nate Mitchell as the Ada County small cities representative on the Executive Committee. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Confirm Finance Committee Member

Chair Bieter stated as required by the bylaws, he appointed Keith Bird to fill the open seat on the Finance Committee created by Mayor Bandy's resignation.

After discussion, Sherry Huber moved and Vern Bisterfeldt seconded confirmation of Keith Bird on the Finance Committee. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Review Studies Coordination Website

Toni Tisdale presented an overview of the Studies Coordination website, which was developed in 2005 and updated every six months.

B. Review 2010 Census Report

Carl Miller reviewed the 2010 Census Report. The data is used as the basis for transportation planning, economic development, social and emergency services planning, municipal budgeting, and land use planning, as well as other uses.

ADJOURNMENT

Carol McKee moved and Nate Mitchell seconded adjournment at 2:50 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 19th day of April 2010.	
	Approved:
Attest:	By: Dave Bieter, Chair Community Planning Association
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association	.

T:\FY10\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maintenance\Board\2010 agendasminutes\minutes03152010.doc