ITEM III-A



# BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING MARCH 16, 2009 MERIDIAN CITY HALL 33 E. BROADWAY AVENUE, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

# \*\*MINUTES\*\*

ATTENDEES: Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County Phil Bandy, Mayor, City of Eagle Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise, Chair-Elect Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County, Vice Chair Sherry Huber, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Secretary/Treasurer Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1 Derick O'Neill, Independent School District of Boise Brent Orton for Jim Blacker, Councilman, City of Caldwell Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County Mike Vuittonet, Trustee, Joint School District #2 Pete Wagner, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County MEMBERS ABSENT: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa Scott Dowdy, Mayor, City of Kuna Russell Duke, Central District Health, Ex officio Clete Edmunson, Governor's Office, Ex officio Anne Horn, Mayor, City of Notus Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation James Maguire, Boise State University Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Chair Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Jerome Scroggins, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4 Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Vicki Thurber, Mayor, City of Middleton Margaret Watson, Mayor, City of Parma

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

OTHERS: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors Dan Coonce, Transpo Group Matt Ellsworth, City of Meridian Karen Gallagher, City of Boise Sally Goodell, Ada County Highway District Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Don Matson, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Elect Bieter called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

**OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENT** 

None.

#### CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve February 23, 2009, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved January 20, 2009, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive approved February 6, 13, 20, 2009, Special Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Receive Approved January 15, 2009, Finance Committee Minutes

Elaine Clegg moved and David Ferdinand seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### SPECIAL ITEMS

#### A. Status Report – 2009 Idaho Legislative Session

Ken Burgess provided a status report on the 2009 Legislative Session. Governor Otter would like COMPASS Board members to call the House members to encourage adoption of the Governor's three year compromise plan for fuel tax and registration fees.

# B. Status Report – Federal Stimulus Funding

Toni Tisdale provided a status report on stimulus funding.

After discussion, *Sherry Huber moved and Elaine Clegg seconded directing Matt Stoll to draft a letter, for review by Mayors Bieter and de Weerd, to the Idaho Transportation Board stating the COMPASS Board's appreciation for the stimulus funds allocation and requesting clarification of the action and how money is distributed for transportation enhancement projects. Motion passed unanimously.* 

#### ACTION ITEMS

# A. Approve FY2010 General and Special Membership Dues

Matt Stoll recapped action taken at the February 2009 Finance Committee meeting on FY2010 General and Special Membership Dues recommending that FY2010 dues are held at FY2009 rate until further analysis of three scenarios is presented.

After discussion, *Elaine Clegg moved and David Ferdinand seconded to accept the Finance Committee's recommendation to hold FY2010 General and Special Membership dues at FY2009 levels until further analysis. Motion passed with one nay vote.* 

# B. Approve New Projects and Prioritization for FY2010-2014 Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Toni Tisdale presented new projects and prioritization for FY2010-2014 Regional Transportation Improvement Program.

After discussion, *Carol McKee moved and Fred Tilman seconded approval of the new projects and prioritization for the FY2010-2014 Regional Transportation Improvement Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.* 

#### INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

### A. Review ACHD Transportation Land Use Integration Plan (TLIP)

Sally Goodell presented an overview and update of the Transportation and Land Use Integration Plan (TLIP).

#### ADJOURNMENT

Carol McKee moved and David Ferdinand seconded adjournment at 3:25 p.m.

Dated this 20th day of April 2009.

APPROVED:

BY:\_

Garret Nancolas, Chair Community Planning Association

ATTEST:

BY:

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association