

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING MARCH 18, 2013 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County

Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District

Nichoel Baird Spencer for James Reynolds, Mayor, City of

Eagle

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District,

Secretary/Treasurer

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise

Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, Vice Chair

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District

Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County

Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department

Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway

District #4

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway

District #1, Chair

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Chair

Elect

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning

Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa

Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County

Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

MEMBERS ABSENT: Capital City Development Corporation Representative

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise, Immediate Past Chair

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

TJ Thomson, Councilman, City of Boise Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma

OTHERS: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Jim Evanoff, Retired Yellowstone National Park Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association

Megan Leatherman, Ada County

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Don Matson, Community Planning Association

Brian McClure, City of Meridian

Scott Moreno, Community Planning Association Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Dave Wallace, Ada County Highway District

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Millar called the meeting to order at 1:32 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

No additions or changes were requested.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS

Various announcements were made by Board members.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve February 25, 2013, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved January 15, 2013, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved December 13, 2012, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes

Martin Thorne moved and Charlie Rountree seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEM

A. Meeting the Challenges of Transportation in a National Park

Jim Evanoff, retired from Yellowstone National Park, spoke on meeting the challenges of transportation in a National Park.

B. Status Report - State and Federal Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess presented a status report on state and federal legislative issues.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Accept 2013 Population Estimates

Carl Miller presented 2013 population estimates.

After discussion, Steve Rule moved and Garret Nancolas seconded to accept the 2013 population estimates as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approve New Projects for the FY2014-2018 Regional Transportation Improvement Program - Transportation Alternatives Program

Toni Tisdale presented new projects for the FY2014-2018 Transportation Improvement Program, Transportation Alternatives Program.

After discussion, Sara Baker moved and Dave Case seconded to approve the new projects for the FY2014-2018 Regional Transportation Improvement Program – Transportation Alternatives Program as presented with the caveat that the Boise Bike Share Program years 1 and 2 be analyzed to see if it is worthwhile pursuing in future years. Motion passed with one nay vote. Pete Wagner abstained.

C. Approve Audience Response System Policy Change

Amy Luft presented proposed changes to the Audience Response System Policy.

After discussion, **Darin Taylor moved and Tom Dale seconded approval of the changes to the Audience Response System Policy as presented.** Motion passed unanimously.

D. Approve Communities in Motion 2040 Vision Map

Carl Miller presented the proposed Communities in Motion 2040 Vision Map.

After discussion, Brent Orton moved and Nichoel Baird Spencer seconded approval of the Communities in Motion 2040 Vision Map as presented.

After further discussion, Sara Baker made a substitute motion and Rebecca Arnold seconded to approve the *Communities in Motion 2040* Vision Map with population figures to reflect the total 2010 Census figures that includes group quarters. Motion passed with two nays.

E. Approve Amendment to the FY2014-2018 Regional Transportation Improvement Program Public Involvement Plan

Toni Tisdale presented a proposed amendment to the FY2014-2018 Regional Transportation Improvement Program Public Involvement Plan.

After discussion, Dave Jones moved and Rick Yzaguirre seconded approval of the amendment to the FY2014-2018 Regional Transportation Improvement Program Public Involvement Plan as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report - Surface Transportation Program Urban Apportionments

Matt Stoll presented a status report on the Urban Balancing Committee's recommendation to the Idaho Transportation Board on Surface Transportation Program Urban apportionments based on MAP-21.

ADJOURNMENT

Darin Taylor moved and Nate Mitchell seconded adjournment at 3:08 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 20th day of May 2013.

Datou tine Lotti day of may Lotte.	
	Approved:
	By: Bryce Millar, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho
Attest:	
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association of	_

T:\FY13\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maint\Board\2013 agendasminutes\minutes03182013.doc