

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING MARCH 19, 2012 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 N. EAST 2ND STREET MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Elizabeth Conner for John Evans, Mayor, Garden City Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County, **Immediate Past Chair** Sally Goodell for Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Casey Jones for James Maguire, Boise State University Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio Anthony Lyons, Capital City Development Corporation John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4 Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Chair Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, Chair Elect Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna Brent Orton, City of Caldwell Ben Quintana, Councilman, for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise James Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Vice Chair Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio TJ Thomson, Councilman, City of Boise Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

MEMBERS ABSENT: Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County Vern Bisterfeldt, Commissioner, Ada County Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, Secretary/Treasurer David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa **OTHERS:** Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors Russ Duke, Central District Health Department Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association Lance Holmstrom, LHTAC Caleb Hood, City of Meridian Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Kathleen Lacey, City of Boise Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Ross Mason, Idaho Department of Health and Welfare Don Matson, Community Planning Association Jeff Miles, LHTAC Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association Bill Vaughan, City of Eagle

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair McKee called the meeting to order at 1:35 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS

Dave Jones announced that Julie DeLorenzo was appointed as the District 3 Idaho Transportation Board member.

Carol McKee recapped the National Association of Regional Councils 2012 National Conference of Regions held February 12-14, 2012 in Washington, D.C., which she attended with Matt Stoll and Ken Burgess.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve January 23, 2012, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved December 20, 2011, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved December 15, 2011, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Confirm Executive Committee Recommendation of COMPASS Board Position Opposing SB 1310
- E. Approve Changing the November 2012 COMPASS Board and Executive Committee Meeting Dates

Garret Nancolas moved and Charlie Rountree seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as printed.

Discussion:

TJ Thomson requested that Item II -D. Confirm Executive Committee Recommendation of COMPASS Board Position Opposing SB 1310 be pulled from the Consent Agenda for discussion.

Garret Nancolas withdrew the motion, Charlie Rountree agreed.

Garret Nancolas moved and Charlie Rountree seconded approval of Consent Items A, B, C and E. as presented and to move Item D under Action Items as Item V-C. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEMS

A. Overview of the Local Highway Safety Improvement Program (LHSIP)

Lance Holmstrom presented an overview of the local highway safety improvement program.

B. Member Agency Presentation: City of Caldwell Goals, Successes, Issues, Challenges

Garret Nancolas reviewed the City of Caldwell's goals, successes, issues, and challenges.

C. Status Report – Federal and State Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on federal and state issues.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Approve Priorities for New Projects for Draft FY2013-2017 Transportation Improvement Program

Toni Tisdale requested Board approval of priorities for new Surface Transportation Program and transit projects for the draft FY2013-2017 Transportation Improvement Program.

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Tammy de Weerd seconded approval of the priorities for new projects for the draft FY2013-2017 Transportation Improvement Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approve Priorities for Discretionary Grant Applications

Toni Tisdale requested Board approval of priorities for upcoming discretionary grants for the following programs: FTA 5309 Veteran's Transportation and Community Living Capital Grants Program; FTA 5309 Bus Livability Program; and FTA 5309 State of Good Repair Program.

Russ Duke, Central District Health Department Director, requested approval to add a Boise Bike Share Program under FTA 5309 Bus Livability Program.

After discussion, **David Ferdinand moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of the priorities for discretionary grant applications**, with the caveat that the Board has further opportunity to review the Boise Bike Share Program, as presented.

After further discussion, **Rebecca Arnold moved a substitute motion and Garret** Nancolas seconded to approve the priorities for discretionary grant applications as presented, with the request for the Boise Bike Share Program to be considered for approval separately. Motion passed unanimously.

Elaine Clegg moved and TJ Thomson seconded to approve the Boise Bike Share Program under the priorities for discretionary grant applications. Motion passed.

D. Confirm Executive Committee Recommendation of COMPASS Board Position Opposing SB1310

Ken Burgess and Matt Stoll recapped the Executive Committee recommendation that the COMPASS Board oppose SB1310 Creating Idaho Mobility Council.

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and David Ferdinand seconded confirmation of the Executive Committee's recommendation that the COMPASS Board oppose SB1310 Creating Idaho Mobility Council. Motion passed, with Dave Jones abstaining.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Receive 2012 Population Estimates

Carl Miller presented 2012 population estimates, which will be the basis for the COMPASS 2013 membership dues.

B. Status Report – Communities in Motion

Liisa Itkonen discussed progress on *Communities in Motion 2040* to date.

C. Review Draft Transportation Management Area (TMA) Balancing Committee Guidelines

Toni Tisdale presented draft TMA Balancing Committee guidelines.

D. Status Report – Finance Committee

Matt Stoll provided a status report on action taken at the February 16, 2012, Finance Committee meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

Elaine Clegg moved and John McEvoy seconded to adjourn at 3:22 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 16th day of April 2012.

Approved:

Ву:_____

Carol McKee, Chair Community Planning Association

Attest:

By:_

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association

T:\FY12\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maint\Board\2012 agendaminutes\minutes03192012.doc