

# BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING **APRIL 16, 2012** COMPASS, 1<sup>ST</sup> FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 N. EAST 2<sup>ND</sup> STREET MERIDIAN, IDAHO

# \*\*MINUTES\*\*

**ATTENDEES:** 

Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County

Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise

Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa,

Secretary/Treasurer

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County,

**Immediate Past Chair** 

Caleb Hood for Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of

Meridian

Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department

Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

Anthony Lyons, Capital City Development

Corporation

Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District, Chair

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway

District #1, Chair Elect

Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna

Patricia Nilsson for TJ Thomson, Councilman, City of Boise

Ben Quintana, Councilman, for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

James Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

MEMBERS ABSENT: Vern Bisterfeldt, Commissioner, Ada County

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio James Maguire, Boise State University

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway

District #4

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Vice Chair

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County

Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma

Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County

OTHERS: Sabrina Anderson, Ada County Highway District

Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Julie DeLorenzo, District 3, Idaho Transportation Board

Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association

Kathleen Lacey, City of Boise

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

Rick Youngblood, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

#### **CALL TO ORDER:**

Chair McKee called the meeting to order at 1:35 pm.

# AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

# OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS

Chair McKee introduced and welcomed Julie DeLorenzo District 3, Idaho Transportation Board member to the meeting.

Matt Stoll noted that Ada County Commissioner Vern Bisterfeldt will be retiring in May 2012.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

- A. Approve March 19, 2012, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved February 21, 2012, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved February 16, 2012, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes

Martin Thorne moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### SPECIAL ITEM

# A. Status Report – Federal and State Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on federal and state issues.

# **ACTION ITEMS**

# A. Approve FY2013 General and Special Membership Dues

Matt Stoll presented proposed FY2013 General and Special Membership dues estimates as recommended for approval by the Finance Committee.

After discussion, Tom Dale moved and Jim Reynolds seconded approval of the FY2013 General and Special Membership dues estimates as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

# B. Approve Transportation Management Area (TMA) Balancing Committee Guidelines

Toni Tisdale presented TMA Balancing Committee Guidelines as recommended for approval by the Regional Technical Advisory Committee.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and David Ferdinand seconded approval of the Transportation Management Area Balancing Committee Guidelines as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

# A. Review Local System Project Administration Options

Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department District 3 Engineer, discussed the Idaho Transportation Department's approach for administering local system projects using federal funds.

# B. Status Report - Communities in Motion Update

Liisa Itkonen presented a status report on *Communities in Motion* 2040.

#### C. Review Communities in Motion Draft Growth Scenario Outreach Activities

Amy Luft reviewed Communities in Motion draft growth scenario outreach activities.

# D. Status Report - Finance Committee

Rebecca Arnold, Finance Committee Chair, recapped actions taken at the March 29, 2012, Finance Committee meeting.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion passed unanimously.	
Dated this 21st day of May 2012.	Approved:
Attest:	By: Carol McKee, Chair Community Planning Association
By:  Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association	_

Martin Thorne moved and Kathy Alder seconded adjournment at 3:05 pm.

T:\FY12\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maint\Board\2012 agendaminutes\minutes04162012.doc