

Working together to plan for the future

ITEM V-A

COMPASS BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING APRIL 17, 2017 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Kelli Badesheim, Valley Regional Transit

Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Immediate Past

Chair

Chad Bell, Mayor, City of Star

Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise, Secretary-Treasurer

Corey Cook, Boise State University

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa, Vice Chair

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

David Lincoln, Commissioner, Golden Gate Highway District No. 3

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District No. 4

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

David Porterfield, Mayor, City of Notus

Paul Raymond, Councilmember, City of Nampa

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department – District 3

Charlie Rountree, City of Meridian

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Chair

Aaron Scheff, Department of Environmental Quality

Joe Stear, Mayor, City of Kuna

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

TJ Thomson, Councilmember, City of Boise

Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County

Pam White, Commissioner, Canyon County

Paul Woods, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Nikole Zogg, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

MEMBERS Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

ABSENT: John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County, Chair Elect

Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Scott Jacops, City of Wilder

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Stan Ridgeway, Mayor, City of Eagle

Parkie Stapleton, Councilmember, City of Melba

Rick Visser, Commissioner, Ada County

OTHERS: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors Michael Fuss, City of Nampa

Rhonda Jalbert, Valley Regional Transit

Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association

Larry Maneely, Ada County

Carl Miller, Community Planning Association

Sabrina Minshall, Community Planning Association Hunter Mulhall, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Duane Wakan, Community Planning Association Dave Wallace, Ada County Highway District

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Steve Rule called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Garret Nancolas seconded to include a resolution of COMPASS Board support of Gowen Field being a host site for F-35 jets on the June 19, 2017, COMPASS Board meeting agenda for Board approval.

Chair Rule noted that the Executive Committee will begin the process for Matt Stoll's annual performance review at the May 9, 2017, committee meeting and will forward a recommendation for COMPASS Board action at the June 19, 2017, Board meeting.

Matt Stoll introduced new COMPASS staff members Duane Wakan and Hunter Mulhall.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve February 27, 2017, COMPASS Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved February 7, 2017, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved December 15, 2016, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Approve List of Records for Destruction

Bob Henry moved and Charlie Rountree seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report - State and Federal Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on the 2017 Idaho State Legislative Session and transportation funding.

B. Status Report - Finance Committee

John Evans, Finance Committee Vice-Chair, provided a status report of action taken at the March 16, 2017, Finance Committee meeting.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Adopt Resolution 06-2017 Amending the FY2017-2021 Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 06-2017 amending the FY2017-2021 Regional Transportation Improvement Program adding a rehabilitation segment on the Broadway Bridge near Boise State and pavement rehabilitation at I-84 Sand Hollow Interchange to SH44, as recommended by RTAC for COMPASS Board adoption.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Garret Nancolas seconded adoption of Resolution 06-2017 amending the FY2017-2021 Regional Transportation Improvement Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Adopt Resolution 07-2017 Approving Revision 2 of the FY2017 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget

Megan Larsen presented Resolution 07-2017 approving Revision 2 of the FY2017 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget adding funds to two programs and moving funds in four programs, as recommended by the Finance Committee for COMPASS Board approval.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Elaine Clegg seconded adoption of Resolution 07-2017 approving Revision 2 of the FY2017 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Accept 2017 Population Estimates

Carl Miller presented 2017 population estimates for COMPASS Board acceptance, which are used for local and regional planning and as a factor to help establish COMPASS membership dues, and recommended for COMPASS Board approval by the Demographic Advisory Workgroup.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Joe Stear seconded acceptance of the 2017 population estimates as presented and will be recalibrated after the 2020 Census. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Approve FY2018 General and Special Membership Dues

Megan Larsen presented proposed FY2018 General and Special membership dues, which are based on the FY2017 population estimates and recommended for COMPASS Board approval by the Finance Committee.

After discussion, Nathan Leigh moved and Bob Henry seconded approval of the FY2018 General and Special membership dues as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Rule adjourned the meeting at 3:00 p.m.

Approved this 19th day of June 2017.

By:	
_	Steven Rule, Chair
	Community Planning Association of
	Southwest Idaho

By:

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director
Community Planning Association of
Southwest Idaho

T:\FY17\900 Operations\Board\2017 agendasminutes\minutes04172017.docx