

## BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING MAY 21, 2012 COMPASS, 1<sup>ST</sup> FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2<sup>ND</sup> STREET MERIDIAN, IDAHO

### \*\*MINUTES\*\*

**ATTENDEES**: Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, Secretary/Treasurer Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County, **Immediate Past Chair** Caleb Hood for Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio David Kuisti for Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4 Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Chair Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, Chair Elect Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell Patricia Nilsson for Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Brent Orton, City of Caldwell Ben Quintana, Councilman, for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Vice Chair Nichoel Baird Spencer for James Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton TJ Thomson, Councilman, City of Boise Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District John Evans, Mayor, Garden City David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio Anthony Lyons, Capital City Development Corporation James Maguire, Boise State University Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County

OTHERS: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors Sally Goodell, Ada County Highway District Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Rhonda Jalbert, Valley Regional Transit Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Don Matson, Community Planning Association Lynne McWhorter, Environmental Protection Agency Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Walt Satterfield, Community Planning Association Elaine Somers, Environmental Protection Agency Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

#### CALL TO ORDER:

Chair McKee called the meeting to order at 1:35 pm.

#### AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

#### **OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS**

None.

#### CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve April 16, 2012, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved March 20, 2012, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Martin Thorne moved and Charlie Rountree seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### SPECIAL ITEM

#### A. Workshop- How NEPA Can Help You; Keys to Streamlining

Elaine Somers and Lynn McWhorter, US EPA, Region 10, lead a workshop on NEPA and keys to streamlining processes.

#### ACTION ITEMS

# A. Approve Prioritized Needs in the Surface Transportation Programs (Urban and TMA)

Toni Tisdale presented prioritized needs in the Surface Transportation Programs (Urban and TMA) as recommended by the Regional Technical Advisory Committee.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Dave Case seconded to accept the Regional Technical Advisory Committee's recommendation and approve the prioritized list of needs for funding through the End-of-Year Program, including Key No. 12229 – Kuna Road Overlays as No. 1, and delete No. 3 – Key No. 09989 -Intersection of Star Road and Franklin Road that has already been funded. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Nominate COMPASS Board Representative on National Association of Regional Councils (NARC) Board of Directors

After discussion, **Darin Taylor moved and David Ferdinand seconded to appoint Charlie Rountree as the COMPASS representative on the NARC Board of Directors. Motion passed unanimously.** 

#### INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

#### A. Status Report – Federal and State Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on federal and state issues.

#### B. Status Report – Finance Committee

Matt Stoll recapped actions taken at the May 10, 2012, Finance Committee meeting.

#### C. Status Report – *Communities in Motion* Update

Liisa Itkonen presented a status report on Communities in Motion 2040.

#### ADJOURNMENT

Martin Thorne moved and Dave Case seconded adjournment at 2:45 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 18th day of June 2012.

Approved:

Ву:\_\_\_

Carol McKee, Chair Community Planning Association

Attest:

By:\_\_\_\_

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association

T:\FY12\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maint\Board\2012 agendaminutes\minutes05212012.doc