

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING JUNE 17, 2013 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District

County

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District,

Secretary/Treasurer

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, **Vice Chair**

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Jim Hansen, Ada County Highway District, Ex officio Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio Meg Leatherman for Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada

Robb MacDonald for Brent Orton, City of Caldwell John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, **Chair**

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna

Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Chair Elect

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

TJ Thomson, Councilman, City of Boise Bill Vaughan for Jim Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality

700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

MEMBERS ABSENT: Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise, Immediate Past Chair

John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

OTHERS: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Mark Fenton

Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Don Matson, Community Planning Association

Patricia Nilsson, Canyon County Development Services

Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association MaryAnn Waldinger, Community Planning Association

Dave Wallace, Ada County Highway District

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Millar called the meeting to order at 1:32 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll requested to amend the title of Agenda Item VII-A to read, "Approve Regional Transportation Improvement Program Public Involvement Plan," there is not a Resolution associated with the Action Item. And add an Action Item before Action Item VII-A, to approve Robb MacDonald as a Non-elected Board alternate for the City of Caldwell.

Dave Jones moved and Kathy Alder seconded the amendments to the Agenda as requested by Matt Stoll. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS

None.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve May 20, 2013, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved March 28, 2013, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Approve Larry Maneely as Ada County Non-Elect COMPASS Board Alternate

Garret Nancolas moved and Charlie Rountree seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEM

A. PRESENTATION: Planning for the Triple Bottom Line: Economic, Environmental, and Public Health

Mark Fenton discussed how communities and regions are planning for sustainable economic, environmental, and public health and setting priorities for transportation projects to create communities that are successful and vibrant.

ACTION ITEMS

Note: The approval of Robb MacDonald as a non-elected Board alternate for the City of Caldwell was not acted on, the action will be moved to the July 2013, Board meeting agenda under the Consent Agenda.

A. Approve the Regional Transportation Improvement Program Public Involvement Plan

Toni Tisdale presented the Regional Transportation Improvement Program Public Involvement Plan. The Plan will be updated on a three-year cycle following the update of the COMPASS Public Involvement Policy.

After discussion, Charlie Rountree moved and Rebecca Arnold seconded approval of the Regional Transportation Improvement Program Public Involvement Plan as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Adopt Resolution 12-2013 Amending the FY2013-2017 Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 12-2013 amending the FY2013-2017 Regional Transportation Improvement Program.

After discussion, Tammy de Weerd moved and Greg Nelson seconded adoption of Resolution 12-2013 amending the FY2013-2017 Regional Transportation Improvement Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Approve Priorities for the End-of-Year Program

Toni Tisdale presented priorities for the End-of-Year Program, which only includes existing projects that can obligate additional funding immediately.

After discussion, **Tom Dale moved and Sara Baker seconded approval of the priorities for the End-of-Year Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.**

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEM

A. Preview Options for Use of Federal Funds in Communities in Motion 2040

Mary Ann Waldinger presented proposed discussion options for use of local federal funds in *Communities in Motion* 2040: maintenance only (including roadway maintenance, alternative transportation, and special projects), or investing part of the available federal funds to expand one of the top priority corridors.

After discussion, Sara Baker moved and Rebecca Arnold seconded to adhere to the current policy of focusing 82% of local federal funds towards roadway maintenance and the other distributions, 15% towards public transportation maintenance and 3% towards planning/special studies, stay as outlined in the policy. Motion passed with Kathy Alder voting nay and Meg Leatherman abstaining.

ADJOURNMENT

Tom Dale moved and Kathy Alder seconded adjournment at 3:30 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 15th day of July 2013.

Dated this 15th day of July 2015.	
	Approved:
	By: Bryce Millar, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho
Attest:	
By:	_
Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho	

T:\FY13\900 Operations\990DirectOperations-Maint\Board\2013agendasminutes\minutes06172013.doc