

Working together to plan for the future

ITEM V-A

COMPASS BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING JUNE 18, 2018 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Kelli Badesheim, Valley Regional Transit Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Chad Bell, Mayor, City of Star

Treg Bernt, Councilmember, City of Meridian

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise, Vice Chair

Cory Cook, Boise State University

Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County, Chair Elect

Matt Edmond for John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

De Enrico, City of Wilder

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

Jay Gibbons, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District No. 4

Caleb Hood for Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Debbie Kling, Mayor, City of Nampa

Kurt Kopadt, Councilmember, City of Greenleaf

Meg Leatherman for Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County, Chair

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

David Lincoln, Commissioner, Golden Gate Highway District No. 3

Robb MacDonald for Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Secretary-

Treasurer

Larry Maneely for Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Mark Perfect for Rick Visser, Commissioner, Ada County

David Porterfield, Mayor, City of Notus

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department - District 3

Stan Ridgeway, Mayor, City of Eagle

Victor Rodriguez, Councilmember, City of Nampa

Charlie Rountree, City of Meridian

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Immediate Past Chair

Aaron Scheff, Department of Environmental Quality

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

Holli Woodings, Councilmember, City of Boise

Paul Woods, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Nikole Zogg, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

MEMBERS David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

ABSENT: Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Parkie Stapleton, Councilmember, City of Melba

Joe Stear, Mayor, City of Kuna

Pam White, Commissioner, Canyon County

OTHERS: Alicia Almazan, Mayor, City of Wilder

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Julie DeLorenzo, Idaho Transportation Board

Michael Fuss, City of Nampa

Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Samantha Herriot, US Census Bureau Rhonda Jalbert, Valley Regional Transit

Caleb Lakey, Idaho Transportation Department - District 3

Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Kathy Parker, Community Planning Association

Leslie Pedrosa, Valley Regional Transit

Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association David Wallace, Ada County Highway District

Jerry Wong, US Census Bureau

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Elect Tom Dale called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Victor Rodriguez moved and Steve Rule seconded approval of the agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Matt Stoll welcomed Meridian City Councilmember Treg Bernt to his first COMPASS Board meeting and introduced three new COMPASS staff members.

Matt announced that COMPASS received notification that the joint application with the Idaho Transportation Department for the Infrastructure for Rebuilding America (INFRA) grant for I-84 improvements was awarded \$90 million in funding of the \$150 million project cost, pending a 60 day Congressional review.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve April 16, 2018, COMPASS Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved March 13 and April 10, 2018, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Approve Appointment of Ada County Staff Member Christopher Daley and Ada County Highway District Staff Member Maureen Gresham to the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee per RTAC Bylaws Article 2, Committee Structure 2.4
- D. Ratify FY2018 Performance Measure Framework Workgroup Charter

Sara Baker moved and Nathan Leigh seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEM

A. Road to the 2020 Census: A Complete Count of Your Community

Jerry Wong, Partnership Specialist with the US Census Bureau provided an overview of plans for the 2020 Census.

Carl Miller discussed the COMPASS work plan for the 2020 Census.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Executive Session - Personnel Matter Idaho Code [74-206 (b)]

Sara Baker moved and Nathan Leigh seconded to move into Executive Session pursuant to Idaho Code 74-206 (b) at 2:09 p.m.

Matt Stoll called roll. The following Board members were present and voted in the affirmative to move into Executive Session: Rebecca Arnold, Kelli Badesheim, Nichoel Baird Spencer, Sara Baker, Chad Bell, Treg Bernt, Dave Bieter, Elaine Clegg, Corey Cook, Tom Dale, Matt Edmond, De Enrico, John Evans, Jay Gibbons, Caleb Hood, Debbie Kling, Kurt Kopadt, Meg Leatherman, Nathan Leigh, David Lincoln, Robb MacDonald, Larry Maneely, Brent Orton, Mark Perfect, David Porterfield, Amy Revis, Stan Ridgeway, Victor Rodriquez, Charlie Rountree, Steve Rule, Aaron Scheff, Darin Taylor, Holli Woodings, and Paul Woods. Motion passed unanimously.

Convened back into regular session at 2:26 p.m.

Chair Elect Dale noted the Board discussed a personnel matter under Idaho Code [74-206 (b)] and no action was taken in Executive Session.

After discussion, Debbie Kling moved and Charlie Rountree seconded to retain Matt Stoll as Executive Director, approve a 3% merit increase, and to keep his current benefits package. Motion passed with Rebecca Arnold abstaining.

Elaine Clegg noted the Board requested that next year the Executive Committee bring forward a comparative analysis of salaries for other executive directors in similar size MPOs.

B. Adopt Resolution 09-2018 Amending the FY2018-2022 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 09-2018 amending the FY2018-2022 TIP as requested by the City of Caldwell, the City of Eagle, Boise State University, and the City of Boise. Toni noted that Boise State University has requested to delay obligation for their project to June 29, 2018.

After discussion, Rebecca Arnold moved and Sara Baker seconded adoption of Resolution 09-2018 amending the FY2018-2022 Regional Transportation Improvement Program as presented, including Boise State University's request to delay obligation for their project to June 29, 2018. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Approve End-of-Year Program and Redistribution Priorities

Toni Tisdale presented End-of-Year Program and redistribution priorities should funding become available, as recommended by the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee in May.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Jay Gibbons seconded approval of the End-of-Year Program and redistribution priorities as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Approve BUILD Grant Application for US 20/26, I-84 to Middleton Road

Kathy Parker presented the BUILD (Better Utilizing Investments to Leverage Development) Grant application to widen two sections of US 20/26 in Canyon County to six lanes. Caleb Lakey provided details of the project.

After discussion, Rebecca Arnold moved and Darin Taylor seconded approval to submit the BUILD Grant Application for US 20/26, I-84 to Middleton Road as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEM

A. Review Draft FY2019-2023 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Project List

Toni Tisdale reviewed the draft FY2019-2023 TIP project list. A public comment period is scheduled for July 17 – August 15, 2018.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Elect Dale adjourned the meeting at 3:02 p.m.

Approved this 20th day of August 2018.

	By:
Attest:	David L. Case, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho
By:	_