

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING JUNE 19, 2006 CANYON COUNTY COURTHOUSE CALDWELL, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Matt Beebe, Commissioner, Canyon County Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian

Dave Bivens, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Vice-

Karen Gallagher for Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise Don Kostelec for Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Jeff Lang, Councilman, for Dean Obray, Mayor, City of Kuna Mike McGown, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality

Frank McKeever, Mayor, City of Middleton

Nancy Merrill, Mayor, City of Eagle

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1 Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, *Secretary-Treasurer*

Judy Peavey-Derr, Commissioner, Ada County

Eric Shannon for Charles Rountree, Idaho Transportation Department

Steve Siddoway for Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian,

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Mike Vuittonet, Trustee, Joint School District #2

Margaret Watson, Mayor, City of Parma Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

MEMBERS ABSENT:

A.J. Balukoff, Trustee, Independent School District of Boise City

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Alan Brock, Commissioner, Golden Gate/Notus-Parma Highway District

Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, *Chair-Elect* Russell Duke, Central District Health, Ex officio

Marje Ellmaker, Mayor, City of Notus

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County

Lance Giles, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation

Gordon Law, City of Caldwell
Nathan Mitchell Mayor City o

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County

Robert Vasquez, Commissioner, Canyon County

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

OTHERS: Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Dave Butzier, Connecting Idaho Partner

John Cunningham, Community Planning Association

Chris Gabbert, Canyon Highway District

James Grunke, Boise Metro Chamber of Commerce Ryan Head, Community Planning Association

Erv Olen, Parametrix

Tim Richard, Canyon Highway District

Terri Schorzman, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association Debbie Winchar, Community Planning Association

Jay Witt, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Vice-Chair John Franden called the meeting to order at 1:40 p.m.

John Franden welcomed attendees Don Kostelec alternate for Carol McKee and Steve Siddoway alternate for Tammy de Weerd.

Nancy Merrill moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of alternates Don Kostelec and Steve Siddoway. Motion passed unanimously

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve May 15, 2006, COMPASS Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved April 12, 2006, Special Executive Committee Meeting Minutes and April 18, 2006, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Nancy Merrill moved and Dave Bivens seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Review Public Comments on Draft Transportation Plan under Communities in Motion

Terri Schorzman recapped public comments received during the comment period. Charles Trainor reviewed member agency comments. Based on the magnitude of the comments on policy issues, staff is recommending a two month extension for adoption to September to allow time for a thoughtful response to the comments.

John Franden welcomed attendee Karen Gallagher alternate for Vern Bisterfeldt.

Garret Nancolas moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of alternate Karen Gallagher. Motion passed unanimously.

Elaine Clegg added for the record that at least one of the public comments, maybe more, from citizens of Boise referenced that COMPASS had adopted language in previous long range transportation plans related to the Foothills transportation and implementation plan. One concern is that, if that language does not stay in the plan, then the basis for the agreement between Boise City, Ada County and the Ada County Highway District on the implementation of the plan for the north part of the Foothills would be made more difficult. She requested the language be reviewed to determine if it needs to be left in the plan.

After further discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Judy Peavey-Derr seconded approval of up to a 60-day extension of the transportation plan to allow time for a thoughtful response to the public comments. Staff is to bring back to the Board in July policy-level changes or amendments to the narrative materials in the plan. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Release Draft FY2007-2011 Northern Ada County and Nampa Urbanized Area Transportation Improvement Programs for Public Comment

Toni Tisdale provided the draft FY2007-2011 Transportation Improvement Programs for release for public comment.

After discussion, *Darin Taylor moved and Nancy Merrill seconded approval of the draft FY2007-2011*Northern Ada County and Nampa Urbanized Area Transportation Improvement Programs for public comment. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Adopt Resolution 08-2006 Amending FY2006-2010 Northern Ada County and Nampa Urbanized Area Transportation Improvement Programs and Applicable Air Quality Conformity Demonstration

Toni Tisdale presented proposed amendments transferring funding for transportation projects in Northern Ada County and the Nampa Urbanized Area.

Nancy Merrill moved and Margaret Watson seconded approval of Resolution 08-2006 amending FY2006-2010 Northern Ada County and Nampa Urbanized Area Transportation Improvement Programs, including the new Idaho Transportation Department project and applicable Air Quality Conformity Demonstration, and authorizes the COMPASS Chair and Executive Director to sign the Resolution after the public comment period if there are no substantive comments. Motion passed with one nay vote from Elaine Clegg.

After further discussion, Steve Siddoway moved and Nancy Merrill seconded approval of the priorities for additional funding through the "End of Year Sweep" process. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report – Coalition on Public Transportation

Garret Nancolas provided an update on the private and public sector effort to develop a local funding authority for regional public transportation.

Garret Nancolas moved and Judy Peavey-Derr seconded to authorize the COMPASS Chair to write a letter to Charles Winder thanking him for support he has provided to COMPASS over the years. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Status Report – Proposed Corridor Access Management Plan Agreement (CAMPA)

Tim Richard provided a proposed plan for corridor access management in Ada and Canyon Counties.

C. Status Report – Connecting Idaho/GARVEE Program

Dave Butzier provided a report on proposed projects in the GARVEE program.

D. Status Report – Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided the federal and state legislative issues identified as priorities by the Board.

Ad	ίοι	ırn	me	ent

Dave Bivens moved and Nancy Werrin Seconds	ed to adjourn at 3:20 p.m. Motion passed unanimousi
Dated this 17th day of July 2006.	APPROVED:
Αττεςτ:	By:
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association	

T:\FY06\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maintenance\Board\2006agendaminutes\minutes06192006.doc