

Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho Board of Directors Meeting June 20, 2005 Canyon County Courthouse Caldwell, Idaho

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Matt Beebe, Commissioner, Canyon County David Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian Dave Bivens, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, Vice-Chair Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian, Chair-Elect Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County Bob Flowers, Mayor, City of Parma, Chair John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Secretary/Treasurer Virgil Isaacson, Commissioner, for Ralph Little, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4 Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation Jeff Lang, Councilman, for Dean Obray, Mayor, City of Kuna Gordon Law, City of Caldwell Carol McKee, Commissioner, for Sherry Huber, Commissioner, Ada **County Highway District** Frank McKeever, Mayor, City of Middleton Nancy Merrill, Mayor, City of Eagle Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1 Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell Judy Peavey-Derr, Commissioner, Ada County June Ramsdell for Mike McGown, Idaho Department of Environmental Ouality Mike Reno for Kathy Holley, Central District Health, Ex Officio Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex Officio Charles Rountree, Idaho Transportation Department Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex Officio

	Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County
	Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County
MEMBERS ABSENT:	A.J. Balukoff, Independent School District of Boise City
	Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise
	Alan Brock, Commissioner, Golden Gate/Notus-Parma Highway District
	Mark Dunham, Boise State University
	Ted Ellis, Mayor, Garden City
	Marje Ellmaker, Mayor, City of Notus
	Lance Giles, Governor's Office, Ex Officio
	Robert Vasquez, Commissioner, Canyon County
	Mike Vuittonet, Joint School District #2
OTHERS:	Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association
OTHERS.	Ross Dodge, Community Planning Association
	Karen Doherty, Doherty & Associates
	Katey Levihn, Ada County Highway District
	Patricia Nilsson, Community Planning Association
	Terri Schorzman, Community Planning Association
	Eric Shannon, Idaho Transportation Department
	Steve Siddoway, City of Meridian
	Cindy Thiel, Community Planning Association
	Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association
	Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association
	Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association
	Jay Witt, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Bob Flowers called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Matt Stoll announced that Linda Ritter, after 12 years with COMPASS, is moving out of state and presented her with a Certificate of Appreciation.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve May 23, 2005, COMPASS Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved April 15, 2005 and April 17, 2005, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Garret Nancolas moved and Tammy de Weerd seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Identify the Preferred Growth Scenario for Use in Communities in Motion and Blueprint for Good Growth

Charles Trainor provided comparative analyses of the Blended and Corridor growth scenarios. He stated that the Plan Coordination Team, on a split vote, recommended the Blended Scenario be carried forward for further analyses with the Trend Scenario.

After discussion, **Tom Dale moved and Nancy Merrill seconded to adopt the Blended Scenario as the preferred land use scenario as recommended by the Plan Coordination Team. Motion passed with Dave Bieter and Elaine Clegg voting nay.**

B. Adopt Resolution 16-2005 Amending the FY2005-2009 Northern Ada County Transportation Improvement Program – Ada County Highway District Commuteride

Patricia Nilsson presented the FY2005-2009 Northern Ada County Transportation Improvement Program – Ada County Highway District Commuteride.

After discussion, **Tammy de Weerd moved and Judy Peavey-Derr seconded adoption of Resolution 16-2005 amending the FY2005-2009 Northern Ada County Transportation Improvement Program – Ada County Highway District Commuteride, per staff's recommendation. Motion passed unanimously as an Ada County only item.**

C. Approve Draft Project List for Final FY2006-2010 Northern Ada County and Nampa Urbanized Area Transportation Improvement Programs

Patricia Nilsson presented the draft project list for the final FY2006-2010 Northern Ada County and Nampa Urbanized Area Transportation Improvement Programs. She noted that Project 57 on page 32 was funded and will not be removed.

Elaine Clegg requested the descriptions of Projects 94 and 111 be amended to indicate they are being proposed and have not been adopted.

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Nancy Merrill seconded approval of the draft project list for the final FY2006-2010 Northern Ada County and Nampa Urbanized Area Transportation Improvement Programs with the caveat to clear up descriptions of projects per Elaine Clegg suggestions. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Review Actions of Surface Transportation Program – Urban and Surface Transportation Program- Transportation Management Area Balancing Meetings

Patricia Nilsson reviewed the results of the May 27, 2005, Urban Balancing Committee meeting and the June 2, 2005, Transportation Management Area Balancing Committee meeting.

B. Review Proposed Public Participation Committee Bylaws

Terri Schorzman presented the proposed Public Participation Committee Bylaws.

C. Review Proposed Regional Geographic Information System Advisory Committee Membership and Bylaws

Ross Dodge presented the proposed Regional Geographic Information System Advisory Committee Membership and Bylaws.

D. Notice of Intent to Modify the COMPASS Bylaws to Name the Public Participation Committee and Regional Geographic Information System Advisory Committee as Standing Committees of the COMPASS Board

Matt Stoll reviewed the notice of intent to modify the COMPASS Bylaws to name the Public Participation Committee and Regional Geographic Information System Advisory Committee as Standing Committees of the COMPASS Board. Staff will come back in July under the Consent Agenda for approval of the Public Participation Committee and the Regional Geographic Information System Advisory Committee Bylaws.

E. Receive Final B20 Biodiesel Emissions Study Report

Jay Witt presented the final B20 Biodiesel Emissions Study Report.

F. Review 2005 Federal and State Legislative Issues

Matt Stoll provided an update on 2005 Federal and State legislative issues.

G. Receive Idaho Transportation Department's Excellence in Transportation Planning Awards

Eric Shannon presented the Idaho Transportation Department's Excellence in Transportation Planning Awards to Ada County Highway District, Boise State University, Capital City Development Corporation, City of Boise, COMPASS, Idaho Transportation Department, RBC Inc., and Valley Regional Transit for their efforts on the Downtown Boise Mobility Study.

ADJOURNMENT

Garret Nancolas moved and Judy Peavey-Derr seconded adjourning at 3:00 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 18th day of July 2005.

APPROVED:

By:

Bob Flowers, Chair Community Planning Association

ATTEST:

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association

By: