

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING JUNE 20, 2006 COMPASS CONFERENCE ROOM

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Matt Beebe, Commissioner, Canyon County

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, Chair-Elect

John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District,

Vice-Chair

Frank McKeever, Mayor, City of Middleton

Nancy Merrill, Mayor, City of Eagle (via telephone)

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Secretary/Treasurer

Judy Peavey-Derr, Commissioner, Ada County

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association,

Ex officio

MEMBERS ABSENT: Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian, Chair

OTHERS PRESENT: Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

John Cunningham, Community Planning Association

Katey Levihn, Ada County Highway District

Patricia Nilsson, Community Planning Association Terri Schorzman, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association Diane Wilton, Community Planning Association Jay Witt, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair-Elect Tom Dale called the meeting to order at 2:04 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Garrett Nancolas moved and Dave Bieter seconded to add an Executive Session – Personnel Matter [Idaho Code 67-2345(b)] to the end of the agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

CONSENT AGENDA

A. Approve May 16, 2006, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Dave Bieter moved and Frank McKeever seconded to approve the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

ACTION ITEMS

A. Establish July 17, 2006, COMPASS Board Meeting Agenda

Matt Stoll reviewed the staff proposed July 17, 2006 COMPASS Board Agenda Items 1-19 and requested to add an Item as 19a – Presentation by the Treasure Valley Air Quality Council.

After discussion, Garrett Nancolas moved and Frank McKeever seconded approval of the July 17, 2006, COMPASS Board meeting Agenda Items 1-19 and 19a as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approve Board Member Travel Request

Matt Stoll presented travel requests for Garret Nancolas and John Franden for travel on behalf of COMPASS to Washington D.C.

After discussion, *Dave Bieter moved and Judy Peavey-Derr seconded approval of travel requests for Garret Nancolas and John Franden for travel to Washington D.C. in July 2006. Motion passed unanimously.*

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Review Preliminary Recommendations on the Integration of Land Use and Access Permitting Decisions.

John Cunningham presented an overview of the preliminary recommendations to integrate local land use decisions with the Idaho Transportation Department access permitting process.

Matt Stoll suggested that Patricia Nilsson provide educational presentations to various city councils and commissions, and utilize the Regional Technical Advisory Committee as the technical steering committee to provide advice on access management decisions.

After discussion, Judy Peavey-Derr moved and Garret Nancolas seconded the motion directing Patricia Nilsson to provide educational presentations on the preliminary recommendations on the integration of land use and access permitting decisions to various city councils and commissions, and utilize the Regional Technical Advisory Committee as the technical committee to provide advice on access management decisions. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Review Cumulative Development Evaluation Capabilities

Charles Trainor reviewed capabilities to evaluate travel demand based on the cumulative development in the region.

C. Discuss Federal and State Legislative Advocacy Program Schedule

Matt Stoll discussed the federal and state legislative advocacy program schedule for the upcoming session and the appropriations process for FY2008.

D. Other

Garret Nancolas moved and John Franden seconded to move into Executive Session under Idaho Code 67-2345(b)-Personnel Matter at 3:00 p.m.

Chair-Elect Tom Dale called roll. The following Executive Committee members were present and voted in the affirmative to adjourn into Executive Session: Dave Bieter, Matt Beebe, Tom Dale, John Franden, Frank McKeever, Garret Nancolas, and Judy Peavey-Derr. There were no nay votes.

Adjourned into Executive Session at 3:01 p.m. Adjourned back into regular session at 3:19 p.m.	
ADJOURNMENT	
Meeting adjourned at 3:20 p.m.	
Dated this 18th day of July 2006.	
	APPROVED:
	By:
ATTEST:	
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association	