

ITEM V-A

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING JUNE 20, 2016 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:	Drew Alexander, Boise State University Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Chair Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County, Vice Chair Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian John Evans, Mayor, Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit Jim Hansen, Ada County Highway District Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa, Secretary/Treasurer Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4 Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Immediate Past Chair Brent Orton, City of Caldwell Zach Piepmeyer for Scot Ludwig, Councilmember, City of Boise Paul Raymond, Councilmember, City of Nampa Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department – District 3 Charlie Rountree, City of Meridian Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Chair Elect Aaron Scheff, Department of Environmental Quality Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County Nikole Zogg, Southwest District Health, Ex officio
MEMBERS	
ABSENT:	Chad Bell, Mayor, City of Star Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Stan Ridgeway, Mayor, City of Eagle Joe Stear, Mayor, City of Kuna Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

OTHERS: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors Julie DeLorenzo, Idaho Transportation Board Michael Fuss, City of Nampa Caleb Hood, City of Meridian Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Larry Maneely, Ada County Sabrina Minshall, Community Planning Association Amy Schroeder, Idaho Transportation Department Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Dave Wallace, Ada County Highway District

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Sara Baker called the meeting to order at 1:30 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Amy Schroeder, ITD–D3, provided a status report on four strategic initiatives projects selected for funding in FY2020-2021.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve April 18, 2016, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive March 8 and April 12, 2016, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive March 30, 2016, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Approve Appointment of Drew Alexander, BSU, to the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee, per RTAC Bylaws Article 2, Committee Structure, 2.4
- E. Approve Appointment of Ryan Head, ACHD, to the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee, per RTAC Bylaws Article 2, Committee Structure, 2.4
- F. Confirm Resolution 09-2016 Amending the FY2016-2020 Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Garret Nancolas moved and Bob Henry seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report - Finance Committee

Bob Henry, Finance Committee Chair, provided a status report on action taken at the May 19, 2016, Finance Committee meeting.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Executive Session - Personnel Matter Idaho Code [74-206 (b)]

Tom Dale moved and John McEvoy seconded to move into Executive Session pursuant to Idaho Code 74-206 (b) at 1:45.

Matt Stoll called role. The following Board members were present and voted in the affirmative to move into Executive Session: Drew Alexander, Nichoel Baird Spencer, Sara Baker, Dave Case, Elaine Clegg, Tom Dale, Tammy de Weerd, John Evans, Kelli Fairless, Jim Hansen, Bob Henry, Nathan Leigh, Zach Piepmeyer, John McEvoy, Garret Nancolas, Brent Orton, Paul Raymond, Amy Revis, Charlie Rountree, Steve Rule, Aaron Scheff, Jim Tibbs, Rick Yzaguirre. Motion passed unanimously.

Convened back into regular session at 1:55 pm.

Bob Henry moved and Jim Tibbs seconded to continue to employ Matt Stoll and effective July 1, 2016, award him a 3 percent increase. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approve Surface Transportation Program (STP) and Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) Balancing Policy

Toni Tisdale presented the STP/TAP Balancing Policy recommended by the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee for COMPASS Board approval.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Nichoel Baird Spencer seconded to approve the Surface Transportation Program and Transportation Alternatives Program Balancing Policy as presented with a clarification that all cost overruns are for projects that are consistent with the original scope of the project. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Adopt Resolution 10-2016 Amending *Communities in Motion 2040 (*CIM 2040)

Liisa Itkonen presented Resolution 10-2016 amending CIM 2040, modifying the I-84\Karcher Road Intersection, adding a second southbound through-lane on Midland Boulevard, recommended by the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee for COMPASS Board approval.

After discussion, **Bob Henry moved and Tom Dale seconded adoption of Resolution 10-2016 amending CIM 2040 as presented. Motion passed unanimously.**

D. Adopt Resolution 11-2016 Amending the FY2016-2020 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 11-2016 amending the FY2016-2020 TIP as requested by Valley Regional Transit, Idaho Transportation Department, and the City of Kuna.

Bob Henry requested a correction to Key No. 19998, I-84, Karcher Interchange Modification, Nampa, to add \$190,000 under PEC for local contribution for a total amount of \$580,000.

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Bob Henry seconded adoption of Resolution 11-2016 amending the FY2016-2020 TIP, including the correction to Key No. 19998, as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

After discussion regarding the railroad's slow response to requests from the cities, Matt Stoll will meet with Amy Revis, Julie DeLorenzo, and Ken Burgess to discuss next steps, for discussion at the next Board meeting. Matt requested Board members email him a summary of problems they have had with the railroad.

E. Adopt Resolution 12-2016 Approving Priorities for the End-of-Year Program

Toni Tisdale presented priorities for the End-of-Year Program for COMPASS Board approval.

After discussion, **Bob Henry moved and Charlie Rountree seconded adoption of Resolution 12-2016 approving priorities for the End-of-Year Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.**

F. Approve Requests to Extend Project Obligation Deadline

Matt Stoll presented requests from ACHD and the cities of Caldwell and Eagle to extend deadlines for three federally funded projects.

After discussion, **Jim Tibbs moved and Bob Henry seconded extending the project obligation deadlines as requested by ACHD and the cities of Caldwell and Eagle. Motion passed unanimously.**

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Baker adjourned the meeting at 2:36 pm.

Dated this 15th day of August 2016.

Approved:

By:_

Sara Baker, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho

Attest:

By:

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho

T:\FY16\900 Operations\Board\2016 agendasminutes\minutes06202016.docx