

Working together to plan for the future

ITEM IV-A

REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE JUNE 22, 2016 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Drew Alexander, Boise State University

Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle

Jeff Barnes, City of Nampa

Megan Basham, Ada County Development Services

Clair Bowman, City of Nampa Randall Falkner, City of Middleton

Tom Ferch, Ada County Highway District, Chair

Daren Fluke, City of Boise Karen Gallagher, City of Boise Caleb Hood, City of Meridian Wendy Howell, City of Kuna

Rhonda Jalbert, Valley Regional Transit, Vice Chair

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

Justin Lucas, Ada County Highway District

Brian McClure, City of Meridian

Kyle McCormick, Canyon County Development Services Patricia Nilsson, Canyon County Development Services

Zach Piepmeyer, City of Boise

Amy Schroeder, Idaho Transportation Department Deanna Smith, Public Participation Workgroup

MEMBERS ABSENT: Chad Bell, Mayor, City of Star

Chris Hopper, Canyon Highway District No. 4 Rob Howarth, Central District Health, Ex. officio

Megan Leatherman, Ada County Development Services

Robb MacDonald, City of Caldwell

Deb Root, Canyon County Development Services

Jenah Thornborrow, City of Garden City

Michael Toole, Department of Environmental Quality

OTHERS PRESENT: Nancy Brecks, COMPASS

Liisa Itkonen, COMPASS Amy Luft, COMPASS

Sabrina Minshall, COMPASS Kathy Parker, COMPASS Toni Tisdale, COMPASS

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Tom Ferch called the meeting to order at 8:30 am.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

General announcements were made by committee members and COMPASS staff.

CONSENT AGENDA

A. Approve May 25, 2016, RTAC Meeting Minutes

Nathan Leigh moved and Nichoel Baird Spencer seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report - Boise Draft Transportation Action Plan

Daren Fluke provided a status report on the Boise Transportation Action Plan.

B. Status Report - Ada County Highway District Strategic Plan

Justin Lucas provided a status report on ACHD's Strategic Plan.

C. Discuss COMPASS Application Process Update

Toni Tisdale discussed updates to the COMPASS application process, which outlines the application and prioritization process for federal funds flowing through COMPASS or requires COMPASS' letter of support, based on input for improvements from last year's application cycle.

Toni requested volunteers for a subcommittee to assist in developing analysis methods and prioritization improvements to enhance the paired comparison methodology required by CIM 2040, and consolidate the committee scoring process and streamline programming.

Subcommittee volunteers as of this meeting; others may be added later:

Justin Lucas Rhonda Jalbert Deanna Smith Megan Basham Zach Piepmeyer Jeff Barnes Wendy Howell Tom Ferch

D. Discuss Federal Funding Policy for Communities in Motion 2040 2.0 (CIM 2040 2.0)

Liisa Itkonen reviewed the outline for the federal funding policy for CIM 2040 2.0 based on RTAC input, which affects implementation of federal policies.

Liisa requested a subcommittee be formed to continue to provide input on the federal funding policy.

Subcommittee volunteers as of this meeting:

Tricia Nilsson
Clair Bowman
Justin Lucas
Nichoel Baird Spencer
Tom Ferch
Megan Basham
Deanna Smith
Rhonda Jalbert
Randall Falkner
Caleb Hood

Next Meeting: July 27, 2016

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Ferch adjourned the meeting at 10:12 am.

T:\FY16\800 System Maintenance\820 Committee Support\RTAC\Minutes\minutes06222016.docx