

ITEM IV-A

REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE JULY 25, 2018 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Drew Alexander, Boise State University Jeff Barnes, City of Nampa Chris Daly, Ada County Development Services De Enrico, City of Wilder Randall Falkner, City of Middleton Tom Ferch, Ada County Highway District, Acting Chair Maureen Gresham, Ada County Highway District Caleb Hood, City of Meridian Rob Howarth, Central District Health, Ex. officio Wendy Howell, City of Kuna Kurt Kopadt, Councilmember, for Lee Belt, City of Greenleaf Rhonda Jalbert, Valley Regional Transit Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma Justin Lucas, Ada County Highway District Brian McClure, City of Meridian Mitra Mehta-Cooper, Ada County Development Services Patricia Nilsson, Canyon County Development Services Zach Piepmeyer, City of Boise Robert Simison, City of Meridian Michael Toole, Department of Environmental Quality MEMBERS ABSENT: Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle, Chair Gordon Bates, Golden Gate Highway District #3 Chad Bell, Mayor, City of Star Clair Bowman, City of Nampa Daren Fluke, City of Boise Hal Forsgren, Councilman, City of Melba Karen Gallagher, City of Boise Chris Hopper, Canyon Highway District No. 4 Caleb Lakey, Idaho Transportation Department Megan Leatherman, Ada County Development Services Robb MacDonald, City of Caldwell, Vice Chair Kyle McCormick, Canyon County Development Services Deanna Smith, Public Participation Workgroup Jenah Thornborrow, City of Garden City Sajonara Tipuric, City of Caldwell Bill Vaughan, City of Eagle Rick Wallace, Jr., Councilman, City of Notus

OTHERS PRESENT: Nancy Brecks, COMPASS Braden Cervetti, COMPASS Brian Crowley, COMPASS Rachel Haukkala, COMPASS Liisa Itkonen, COMPASS Amy Luft, COMPASS Carl Miller, COMPASS Hunter Mulhall, COMPASS Kathy Parker, COMPASS Tom Points, City of Nampa Lan Smith, LHTAC Toni Tisdale, COMPASS

CALL TO ORDER:

Liisa Itkonen noted with the absence of the chair and vice-chair the RTAC Bylaws state members are required to elect an acting chair for the meeting.

Jeff Barnes moved and Justin Lucas seconded Tom Ferch, Ada County Highway District, as the acting chair of the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

Acting Chair Tom Ferch called the meeting to order at 8:34 a.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

General announcements were made.

CONSENT AGENDA

A. Approve June 27, 2018, RTAC Meeting Minutes

Nathan Leigh moved and Rhonda Jalbert seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Recommend 2018 Change in Motion Scorecard

Hunter Mulhall presented the 2018 *Change in Motion Scorecard*, showing how the region has progressed toward meeting *Communities in Motion 2040* goals.

After discussion, **Rhonda Jalbert moved and Mitra Mehta-Cooper seconded to recommend COMPASS Board of Directors' acceptance of the 2018** *Change in Motion Scorecard* as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Recommend *Communities in Motion 2040 2.0* (CIM 2040 2.0) Performance Measures

Hunter Mulhall presented revised performance measures for CIM 2040 2.0, with the addition of new federally required measures and removal of measures that cannot be reported reliably or that do not provide appropriate data for tracking trends.

After discussion, Justin Lucas moved and Rhonda Jalbert seconded to recommend CIM 2040 2.0 performance measures for COMPASS Board of Directors' approval as presented. Motion passed with Patricia Nilsson voting nay.

C. Recommend the FY2020-2024 COMPASS Funding Application Guide

Toni Tisdale and Kathy Parker presented the FY2020-2024 COMPASS Funding Application Guide for COMPASS Board of Directors' approval.

After discussion, Maureen Gresham moved and Jeff Barnes seconded to recommend the FY2020-2024 COMPASS Funding Application Guide for COMPASS Board of Directors' approval as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Approve Transportation Management Area Balancing

Toni Tisdale requested changes to the Surface Transportation Program - Transportation Management Area (STP-TMA) program to accommodate changes requested by the Ada County Highway District (ACHD). The action moves \$29,019 from ACHD's Franklin Road and Cloverdale Road intersection project and \$340,000 from the Five Mile Road project to cover utility and partially cover needed construction costs for the State Street and Collister Drive intersection, and to design capital maintenance project.

After discussion, Justin Lucas moved and Randall Falkner seconded approval of the request to balance the STP-TMA program for the FY2018-2022 Transportation Improvement Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

E. Recommend Regional Transit State of Good Repair Performance Targets

Rhonda Jalbert presented regional transit state of good repair performance targets as approved by the Valley Regional Transit Board of Directors.

After discussion, Nathan Leigh moved and Maureen Gresham seconded to recommend the regional transit state of good repair performance targets for COMPASS Board of Directors' acceptance as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEM

A. Review Updates to *Communities in Motion 2040 2.0* (CIM 2040 2.0) Funded and unfunded Project Lists

Liisa Itkonen reviewed changes to the Board-approved funded and unfunded projects, including updated cost estimates, additional funded projects, and projects moved from long-term funded to short-term funded. Staff also presented an updated financial outlook.

Next Meeting: September 26, 2018

ADJOURNMENT

Acting Chair Ferch adjourned the meeting at 9:41 a.m.

T:\FY18\800 System Maintenance\820 Committee Support\RTAC\2018 Minutes\minutes07252018.docx