

Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho Board of Directors Meeting August 15, 2005 Canyon County Courthouse Caldwell, Idaho

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Gerry Armstrong for Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County

David Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian

Dave Bivens, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, **Vice-Chair**

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian, Chair-Elect

Ted Ellis, Mayor, Garden City

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County

John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District,

Secretary/Treasurer

Rob Howarth for Kathy Holley, Central District Health, Ex Officio

Gordon Law, City of Caldwell

Carol McKee, Commissioner, for Sherry Huber, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Frank McKeever, Mayor, City of Middleton

Nancy Merrill, Mayor, City of Eagle

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell Judy Peavey-Derr, Commissioner, Ada County

June Ramsdell for Mike McGown, Idaho Department of Environmental

Ouality

Eric Shannon for Charles Rountree, Idaho Transportation Department Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex Officio

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

MEMBERS ABSENT: A.J. Balukoff, Independent School District of Boise City

Matt Beebe, Commissioner, Canyon County Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise

Alan Brock, Commissioner, Golden Gate/Notus-Parma Highway District

Mark Dunham, Boise State University

Marje Ellmaker, Mayor, City of Notus
Bob Flowers, Mayor, City of Parma, **Chair**Lance Giles, Governor's Office, Ex Officio
Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation
Ralph Little, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4
Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star
Dean Obray, Mayor, City of Kuna
Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex Officio
Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa
Robert Vasquez, Commissioner, Canyon County
Mike Vuittonet, Joint School District #2

OTHERS:

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Bob Bruce, CH2M Hill

Ted Dahlstrom, Senator Crapo Legislative Aide

Kathleen M. Lacey, City of Boise

Katey Levihn, Ada County Highway District Patricia Nilsson, Community Planning Association Terri Schorzman, Community Planning Association

Daniel Shannon, Citizen

Steve Siddoway, City of Meridian Ray Stark, Boise Metro Chamber

Cindy Thiel, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

Jay Witt, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER

Chair-Elect Tammy de Weerd called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

John Franden moved and Dave Bivens seconded approval of the August 15, 2005 COMPASS Board agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENT

Matt Stoll highlighted upcoming COMPASS presentations: Wednesday, August 17, 2005 at the Idaho Historical Museum, *Transportation Funding: Where Does the Money Come From, and Where Does It Go*; Monday, September 19, 2005 at Boise State University – Jordan Ballroom, *Planning Our Future: Growth, Transportation and the Issues Ahead of Us.*

Frank McKeever noted that Commissioner Ralph Little did not run for reelection due to an illness and will not be attending future COMPASS Board meetings. Chair-Elect de Weerd directed staff to provide the Board with Ralph's address.

SPECIAL ITEM

Ted Dahlstrom, Legislative Aide for Senator Crapo, provided an update on federal legislative issues.

After discussion, Nancy Merrill moved and Tom Dale seconded to direct staff to draft a letter on behalf of the COMPASS Board thanking the Idaho delegation and staff for their efforts on the Transportation Reauthorization Bill. Motion passed unanimously.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve July 18, 2005 COMPASS Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved June 21, 2005 and June 29, 2005 Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved April 15, 2005 and June 29, 2005 Finance Committee Meeting Minutes

Garret Nancolas moved and Rick Yzaguirre seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Adopt Resolution 17-2005 Approving Revision 4 of the FY2005 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget

Matt Stoll reviewed Revision 4 of the FY2005 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget.

After discussion, Judy Peavey-Derr moved and David Ferdinand seconded adoption of Resolution 17-2005 approving Revision 4 of the FY2005 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Adopt Resolution 18-2005 Approving FY2006 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget

Matt Stoll reviewed the FY2006 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget.

After discussion, Tom Dale moved and Carol McKee seconded adoption of Resolution 18-2005 approving the FY2006 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

After discussion, Nancy Merrill moved and Tom Dale seconded that in the event of a shortfall in funds for the legislative services cotnract, the COMPASS Board look at the formula presented by the Executive Committee regarding membership dues and consider the comment from the Idaho Transportation Department and any state agency members in how they can contribute within the guidelines. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Review Transit Options under Communities in Motion

Charles Trainor reviewed the progress on the development by the Plan Coordination Team of an optimal transportation network for the Community Choices land use scenario. He stated that by the end of August 2005, the transportation network for Community Choices should be fairly well defined. Also during this period, the consultant will be preparing cost estimates and a financial forecast, which will be presented to the public at open house meetings on October 5 and 6, 2005.

B. Review 2005 Federal and State Legislative Issues

Matt Stoll announced that Veritas Advisors/MGN has been selected to provide legislative services to COMPASS. Matt reported that Chair Flowers had appointed Dave Bieter, Tammy de Weerd, Garret Nancolas, Tom Dale and John Franden to serve on an Ad-Hoc Committee to advise Veritas and Matt on the annual appropriation process and to serve as spokespeople to the Idaho delegation and their staff in Washington DC.

C. Review of Urban and Transportation Management Area Balancing Committees' Actions and End-of-Year Requests

Patricia Nilsson reviewed the Urban and Transportation Management Area Balancing Committees' actions and end-of-year requests.

D. Review of COMPASS Board's Role in Reviewing the Transportation Improvement Programs

Patricia Nilsson provided a review of the process in developing the transportation improvement programs.

E. Status Report-Finance Committee Update

Matt Stall provided an update on the July 15, 2005 Finance Committee meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

Tom Dale moved and Dave Bivens seconded to adjourn at 3:25 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.

APPROVED:

Dated	this	19th	day	of	Septem	ıber	2005.
--------------	------	------	-----	----	--------	------	-------

	Bv:
	Tammy de Weerd, Chair Elect
	Community Planning Association
ATTEST:	

By: ______ Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association

 $T:\FY05\900Operations\Board\2005 agend as minutes\mbox{\backslash minutes} 8152005. doc$