

# BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING AUGUST 16, 2010 MERIDIAN CITY HALL 33 E. BROADWAY AVENUE, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

# \*\*MINUTES\*\*

Attendees:

Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County

Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District

Lisa Bachman, Councilwoman, for Scott Dowdy, Mayor,

City of Kuna

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise, Chair

Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian

Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County,

**Chair Elect** 

Sherry Huber, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District

Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department

Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation

James Maguire, Boise State University

Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District, Vice Chair

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway

District #1, Secretary/Treasurer

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Immediate

**Past Chair** 

Jerome Scroggins, Commissioner, Canyon Highway

District #4

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning

Association, Ex officio

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa

Vicki Thurber, Mayor, City of Middleton

Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County

Bill Vaughan for Michael Huffaker, Acting Mayor, City

of Eagle

Pete Wagner, Idaho Department of Environmental

Quality

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

Members Absent: Chris Collins, Mayor, City of Notus

Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa

Russell Duke, Central District Health, Ex officio Jason Kreizenbeck, Governor's Office, Ex officio Derick O'Neill, Independent School District of Boise

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County

Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County

Others: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Sally Goodell, Ada County Highway District Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association

Wendy Howell, City of Middleton

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Carl Miller, Community Planning Association

Patricia Nilsson, City of Boise

Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association MaryAnn Waldinger, Community Planning Association

### **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Bieter called the meeting to order at 1:30 pm.

### AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Elaine Clegg moved and Kelli Fairless seconded to move Information/Discussion Items C and D above Items A and B to allow Elaine to participate in the discussions as she needs to leave the meeting early. Motion passed unanimously.

### OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Matt Stoll stated that nominations are now open for the COMPASS 2011 Leadership Award. Nominations must be received by September 17, 2010. The awards will recognize efforts and projects that support the goals of *Communities in Motion* and occurred between July 2009 and June 2010. The awards will be presented at the December 20, 2010, COMPASS Board meeting.

# **CONSENT AGENDA**

- A. Approve July 19, 2010, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved May 19, 2010, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Garret Nancolas moved and Carol McKee seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

### **SPECIAL ITEM**

# A. Status Report – Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided an update on federal and state legislative issues.

### **ACTION ITEMS**

# A. Adopt Resolution 14-2010 Approving the FY2011 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget- Final

Matt Stoll presented Resolution 14-2010 approving the FY2011 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget – Final.

After discussion, Vern Bisterfeldt moved and Elaine Clegg seconded adoption of Resolution 14-2010 approving the FY2011 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget – Final as presented. Motion passed with two nay votes. Kathy Alder and Sharon Ullman requested that the minutes reflect for the record their nay votes. Rick Yzaguirre requested that his affirmative vote be noted in the minutes.

### INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

# A. Review Update to Communities in Motion

Charles Trainor reviewed the update to *Communities in Motion*. Adoption of the plan will be sought in September 2010, which will enable subsequent federal approvals of the new TIP and amendments.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg requested unanimous consent to direct staff to confirm the name change of "Preservation Scenario" to "Buildout Analysis" or "Buildout Calculation," as was recommended by the Regional Technical Advisory Committee. No objection was heard.

### B. Status Report – Grant Opportunities

Matt Stoll provided an update on the four federal grant applications COMPASS is currently developing:

- Sustainable Communities Regional Planning Grant
- Community Challenge/Tiger II Planning Grant
- TIGER II Planning Grant (Alternatives Analysis)
- TIGER II Meridian Road Interchange Grant

### C. Announcement – City of Meridian

Mayor De Weerd presented COMPASS staff member, Carl Miller, with a plaque of appreciation for his assistance to the City of Meridian and all of the COMPASS member agencies during the Census process. The City of Meridian was recognized for having one of the highest Census data return rates in the United States with a rank of 34. Meridian also was first in the Seattle region, and first in the Western States for communities 50,000 and above in population.

# D. Status Report - Finance Committee

Matt Stoll provided a status report on action taken at the August 12, 2010, Finance Committee meeting. The Committee approved the 2011 Audit Engagement Letter, approved the third quarter Variance Report, and changes to the COMPASS Financial Policy Manual. Staff reported that FY2010 membership dues have been received.

## E. Discuss U.S. 20/26 and SH 44 Right of Way

Dave Jones, ITD District 3 Engineer, discussed ITD's reasons for removing right-of-way funds for the US 20/26 and SH 44 corridors. Dave also noted ITD's commitment to improve communication and coordination with the COMPASS Board. ITD staff will work with COMPASS staff to develop a series of workshops to discuss ITD project prioritization and corridor preservation options.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Vern Bisterfeldt moved and Tammy de Weerd seconded adjournment at 2:55 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 20th day of September 2010.

	Approved:
	By: Dave Bieter, Chair Community Planning Association
Attest:	Community Flamming Association
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director	_
<b>Community Planning Association</b>	

T:\FY10\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maintenance\Board\2010 agendasminutes\minutes08162010.doc