

# Working together to plan for the future

ITEM V-A

# BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING AUGUST 17, 2015 COMPASS, 1<sup>ST</sup> FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2<sup>ND</sup> STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

### \*\*MINUTES\*\*

**ATTENDEES:** 

Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Nichoel Baird Spencer for Jim Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County, Secretary-Treasurer

Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise

Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County

Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa

Maryanne Jordan, Councilmember, City of Boise Kathleen Lacey for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1

Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna

Nicole Nimmons, Boise State University

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Paul Raymond, Councilmember, City of Nampa

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department – District 3

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Vice Chair

Aaron Scheff, Department of Environmental Quality

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

Jenah Thornborrow for John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County

Dave Wallace for Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District,

#### **Chair Elect**

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

MEMBERS Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County ABSENT: Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

Luke McHenry, City of Wilder

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Chair

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Charlie Rountree, Councilmember, City of Meridian, Immediate Past Chair

OTHERS: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Mark Carnopis, Valley Regional Transit

Mike Crapo, U.S. Senator

Julie DeLorenzo, Idaho Transportation Board

Kent Goldthrope, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Ex. officio

Dave Jone, Canyon Highway District #4

Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association

Meg Leatherman, Ada County

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association

Larry Maneely, Ada County

Sabrina Minshall, Community Planning Association Amy Schroeder, Idaho Transportation Department Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association

#### **CALL TO ORDER:**

Vice Chair Steve Rule called the meeting to order at 1:35 pm.

## AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll requested to add an Action Item as Item A. Approve Jenah Thornborrow as City of Garden City's non-elected alternate.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Bob Henry seconded to amend the Agenda as requested. Motion passed unanimously.

#### OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Vice Chair Rule introduced Aaron Scheff, DEQ administrator, and welcomed Aaron to his first Board meeting.

#### SPECIAL ITEM

### A. A Forum with U.S. Senator Mike Crapo

Senator Crapo discussed the status of federal transportation legislation.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

- A. Approve June 15, 2015, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive May 12 and June 2, 2015, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive May 14, 2015, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Approve Aaron Scheff, DEQ Regional Administrator, as Non-Elected Board Member
- E. Approve List of Records for Destruction

Bob Henry moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

## A. Status Report - Finance Committee

Rebecca Arnold, Finance Committee chair, presented a recap of the July 30, 2015, Finance committee meeting.

### B. Status Report - Broadway Bridge Project

Amy Schroder, Idaho Transportation Department District 3 Engineer Manager, presented a status report on the Broadway Bridge replacement project. Environmental documents for the project have been approved and construction will take place between December 22, 2015, and September 1, 2016.

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

# A. Approve Jenah Thornborrow as City of Garden City Non-Elected Board Alternate

Jim Hansen moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of Jenah Thornborrow as the non-elected Board alternate for Garden City. Motion passed unanimously.

# B. Approve Withdrawal from Further Consideration of Economic Development District Designation

Megan Larsen presented staff recommendation to withdraw from further consideration of Economic Development District designation for Region 3, as the transfer process changed from what staff was originally told by the Economic Development Administration and those changes are not in line with direction from the COMPASS Board.

COMPASS has sent a letter to Mayor John Evans, ICOG Chair, requesting reimbursement of the legal fees COMPASS incurred for the EDD transfer process.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Rebecca Arnold seconded withdrawal from further consideration of Economic Development District designation for Region 3. Motion passed unanimously.

# C. Review Updates to Joint Powers Agreement and Board Bylaws and Provide 30 Day Notice of Intent to Amend

Matt Stoll presented updates to the Joint Powers Agreement and Board Bylaws and providing 30 day notice of intent to amend at the September 2015 COMPASS Board meeting.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Dave Case seconded to provide 30 day notice of intent to amend the Joint Powers Agreement and Board Bylaws. Motion passed unanimously.

# D. Adopt Resolution 17-2015 Approving FY2016 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget

Megan Larsen presented the FY2016 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as recommended for COMPASS Board approval by the COMPASS Finance Committee on July 30, 2015.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Bob Henry seconded adoption of Resolution 17-2015 approving the FY2016 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed. Bryce Millar abstained.

# **E.** Approve COMPASS Application Guide

Toni Tisdale presented the COMPASS Application Guide, which consolidates all application processes into one document, with one deadline for all programs managed directly by COMPASS and Valley Regional Transit. Criteria adopted in the Guide determines which projects are recommended for funding.

After discussion, **Darin Taylor moved and Dave Case seconded approval of the COMPASS Application Guide with correction to the typo on Table 1 on page 5. Motion passed unanimously.** 

ADJOURNMENT	
Meeting adjourned at 3:00 pm.	
Dated this 21st day of September 2015.	
	Approved:
	By: Garret Nancolas, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho
Attest:	
By:	_

Southwest Idaho