COMPASS COMUNITY PLANNING ASSOCIATION of Southwest Idebo

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING AUGUST 19, 2013 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise, Immediate Past Chair John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, Vice Chair Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian John Evans, Mayor, Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department Dave Luft for Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality Robb MacDonald for Brent Orton, City of Caldwell Larry Maneely for Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4 Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, Chair Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna Jim Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Chair Elect Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton TJ Thomson, Councilman, City of Boise Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Dave Wallace for Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Secretary/Treasurer Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

MEMBERS ABSENT:	David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County David Smith, Boise State University Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma
OTHERS:	Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors Daren Fluke, City of Boise Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Kathleen Lacey, City of Boise Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association Meg Leatherman, Ada County Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Don Matson, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association John Van Dyke, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Millar called the meeting to order at 1:33 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll requested to add an item after the Consent Agenda approving Daren Fluke as a non-elected Board alternate for the City of Boise.

Elaine Clegg moved and Kathy Alder seconded to amend the agenda to approve Daren Fluke as a non-elected Board alternate for the City of Boise after the Consent Agenda items. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS

None.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve July 15, 2013, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved June 18, 2013, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Approve David Smith as Boise State University's Non-Elected COMPASS Board Member

Tom Dale moved and Charlie Rountree seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed with one abstention.

Dave Bieter moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of Daren Fluke as a nonelected Board alternate for the City of Boise. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEM

A. Executive Session – Personnel Matter I daho Code [67-2345 (b)]

Charlie Rountree moved and Tom Dale seconded moving into Executive Session pursuant to Idaho Code 67-2345 (b) at 1:36 pm.

Matt Stoll called role. The following COMPASS Board members were present and voted in the affirmative to move into Executive Session: Kathy Alder, Rebecca Arnold, Dave Wallace, John Brunelle, Dave Bieter, Dave Case, Elaine Clegg, Tom Dale, Tammy de Weerd, John Evans, Kelli Fairless, Craig Hanson, Dave Jones, John McEvoy, Bryce Millar, Garret Nancolas, Greg Nelson, Robb MacDonald, James Reynolds, Charlie Rountree, Darin Taylor, TJ Thomson, Martin Thorne, Dave Luft, and Rick Yzaguirre. There were no nay votes.

Tom Dale moved and John McEvoy seconded to move back into regular session at 2:02 pm. While in Executive Session, the Board discussed items pertaining to Idaho Code 67-2345 (b), no votes were taken. Motion passed unanimously.

Tom Dale moved and Rebecca Arnold seconded to authorize a 3% salary increase for the Executive Director. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Adopt Resolution 13-2013 Approving the FY2014 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) Final

Megan Larsen presented the FY2014 UPWP for approval as recommended by the Finance Committee.

After discussion, **Dave Case moved and Rebecca Arnold seconded adoption of Resolution 13-2013 approving the FY2014 Unified Planning Work Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.**

B. Adopt Resolution 14-2013 Amending the FY2013-2017 Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Toni Tisdale presented an amendment to the FY2013-2017 Regional Transportation Improvement Program to advance and increase transit projects proposed by ITD for the End-of-Year program.

After discussion, **Elaine Clegg moved and Garret Nancolas seconded adoption of Resolution 14-2013 amending the FY2013-2017 Regional Transportation Improvement Program as presented.** Motion passed unanimously.

C. Adopt Resolution 15-2013 Approving the Adjusted Urbanized Area Boundaries

Carl Miller presented urbanized area boundaries adjusted, or smoothed, to local conditions, which determine funding sources for projects and functional classification designations.

After discussion, **Elaine Clegg moved and Kelli Fairless seconded adoption of Resolution 15-2013 approving the adjusted urbanized area boundaries as presented.** Motion passed with one nay vote.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report - Finance Committee

Finance Committee Chair Rebecca Arnold recapped action taken at the August 8, 2013, Finance meeting.

B. Review Regional Pathway Map

Charles Trainor reviewed the Regional Pathway Map including local existing, programmed and planned facilities.

C. Memo Only: Update on Statewide Transportation Alternatives Program Applications in the COMPASS Planning Area.

ADJOURNMENT

Dave Bieter moved and Charlie Rountree seconded adjournment at 2:55 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 16th day of September 2013.

Approved:

By:___

Bryce Millar, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho

Attest:

By:_

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho

T:\FY13\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maint\Board\2013 agendasminutes\minutes08192013.doc