

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING AUGUST 20, 2012 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County

Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise

Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa,

Secretary/Treasurer

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County,

Immediate Past Chair

John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio Kathleen Lacey for TJ Thomson, Councilman, City of Boise

Anthony Lyons, Capital City Development Corporation Robb MacDonald for Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, **Chair**

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, Chair Elect

Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna

Patricia Nilsson for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Vice Chair

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Bill Vaughan for James Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

MEMBERS ABSENT: David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma

Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County

OTHERS: Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Sally Goodell, Ada County Highway District Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association

Caleb Hood, City of Meridian

Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association

Meg Leatherman, Ada County

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Dave Luft, Department of Environmental Quality Don Matson, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair McKee called the meeting to order at 1:35 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll requested Agenda Item IV-C be removed from the agenda because the presenter, Ken Burgess, will not be at the meeting.

After discussion, Tammy de Weerd moved and John Evans seconded approval of the Agenda with the deletion of IV-C as requested. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS

Various announcements were made by Board members.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve July 16, 2012, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Received Approved June 19, 2012, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Approve Richard Beck as Ada County Non-Elected Board Alternate
- D. Approve Robb MacDonald as City of Caldwell Non-Elected Board Alternate

Bryce Millar moved and Charlie Rountree seconded to approve the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEMS

A. Member Agency Presentation: Goals, Successes, Issues, Challenges

Commissioner Yzaguirre presented Ada County's goals, successes, issues and challenges.

B. Status Report - Air Quality in the Treasure Valley

Dave Luft, Department of Environmental Quality staff, presented a status report on air quality in the Treasure Valley.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Approve Rural Prioritization Process

Toni Tisdale presented the prioritization process for rural transportation projects as recommended by the Regional Technical Advisory Committee.

After discussion, John Franden moved and Dave Jones seconded approval of the rural prioritization process as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Adopt Resolution 07-2012 Approving FY2013 Unified Planning Work Program

Matt Stoll presented Resolution 07-2012 approving the FY2014 Unified Planning Work Program.

Dave Jones noted under Other Transportation Planning Studies, US 20 Corridor Preservation Study needs to be added.

After discussion, Charlie Rountree moved and Kathy Alder seconded adoption of Resolution 07-2012 approving the FY2013 Unified Planning Work Program as presented, and fund a one-time 3% increase for staff and executive director based on performance. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Approve Release of Amendment to *Communities in Motion 2035* for Public Involvement

Toni Tisdale requested approval to release an amendment to *Communities in Motion 2035* to include three new state interchange projects as funded for public involvement.

After discussion, David Ferdinand moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of the release of an amendment to *Communities in Motion 2035* for public involvement as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Approve Release of the Draft FY2013-2017 Regional Transportation Improvement Program Project List for Public Involvement

Toni Tisdale requested approval to release the draft projects list for the draft FY2013-2017 Regional Transportation Improvement Program for public involvement.

After discussion, John Evans moved and Charlie Rountree seconded approval of the release of the draft FY2013-17 Regional Transportation Improvement Program project list for public involvement as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

E. Adopt Resolution 08-2012 Approving Surplus of COMPASS Staff Car

Matt Stoll presented Resolution 08-2012 approving the surplus of the 1998 Ford Taurus. COMPASS staff car.

After discussion, David Ferdinand moved and Charlie Rountree seconded adoption of Resolution 08-2012 approving the surplus of the 1998 Ford Taurus COMPASS staff car. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report – Finance Committee

Rebecca Arnold, Finance Committee chair, provided a status report on actions taken at the August 9, 2012, Finance Committee meeting.

B. Review Process for How Discretionary Program Applications are Prioritized

Toni Tisdale presented the process for how discretionary program applications are prioritized. The Board will be asked to adopt the process at the September 2012 Board meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

Tom Dale moved and Charlie Rountree seconded adjournment at 3:05 pm.

Dated this 17th day of September 2012.

	Approved:
Attest:	By: Carol McKee, Chair Community Planning Association
By:	_