

## Working together to plan for the future

**ITEM IV-A** 

### COMPASS BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING AUGUST 26, 2019 COMPASS, 1<sup>ST</sup> FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2<sup>ND</sup> STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

### \*\*MINUTES\*\*

**ATTENDEES:** Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Kelli Badesheim, Valley Regional Transit Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Immediate Past

Chair

Chad Bell, Mayor, City of Star

Treg Bernt, Councilmember, City of Meridian

Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise, Chair Elect

Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County, Chair

Matt Edmond for John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

Jay Gibbons, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District No. 4

Greg Hill, Boise State University

Caleb Hood for Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Debbie Kling, Mayor, City of Nampa

Kurt Kopadt, Councilmember, City of Greenleaf

Kathleen Lacey for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Meg Leatherman for Diana Lachiondo, Commissioner, Ada County

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

Mitra Mehta-Cooper for Kendra Kenyon, Commissioner, Ada County

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell Tom Points, City of Nampa

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department – District 3

Stan Ridgeway, Mayor, City of Eagle, Secretary-Treasurer

Charlie Rountree, City of Meridian Joe Stear, Mayor, City of Kuna

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton Rick Visser, Commissioner, Ada County

David Wallace for Mary May, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Holli Woodings, Councilmember, City of Boise

MEMBERS ABSENT:

David Lincoln, Commissioner, Golden Gate Highway District No. 3

Andrew Mitzel, Senior Advisor, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Vice Chair

David Porterfield, Mayor, City of Notus

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Victor Rodriguez, Councilmember, City of Nampa Parkie Stapleton, Councilmember, City of Melba Leslie Van Beek, Commissioner, Canyon County Pam White, Commissioner, Canyon County Nikole Zogg, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

#### **OTHERS:**

Morgan Andrus, Community Planning Association Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Meg Larsen, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Dave Meredith, Valley Regional Transit Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Kathy Parker, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association

#### **CALL TO ORDER:**

Chair Dale called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m.

### **OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS**

General announcements were made.

### **CONSENT AGENDA**

- A. Approve June 17, 2019, COMPASS Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved June 4, 2019, and July 9, 2019, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved May 23, 2019, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Ratify Adoption of Resolution 14-2019 Amending the FY2019-2023 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)
- E. Approve Updated COMPASS Procurement Policy
- F. Approve COMPASS Workgroup Charters
- G. Approve Appointment of City of Nampa Staff member Rodney Ashby and Valley Regional Transit staff member Stephen Hunt to the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee, per RTAC Bylaws Article 2, Committee Structure, 2.4

Nathan Leigh moved and Charlie Rountree seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

A. Approve Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) for the Transfer of Air Quality Board Operations to COMPASS

Matt Stoll reviewed the MOA formalizing the transfer of the Air Quality Board operational functionality and staff responsibilities from Air Quality Board to COMPASS, effective October 1, 2019.

After discussion, **Debbie Kling moved and Joe Stear seconded approval of the Memorandum of Agreement as presented. Motion passed with two nays and one abstention.** 

# B. Adopt Resolution 15-2019 Approving Revision 4 of the FY2019 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget (UPWP)

Megan Larsen presented Revision 4 of the FY2019 UPWP as recommended by the COMPASS Finance Committee.

After discussion, Jay Gibbons moved and Sara Baker seconded adoption of Resolution 15-2019 approving Revision 4 of the FY2019 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed with one nay and one abstention.

# C. Adopt Resolution 16-2019 Approving the FY2020 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget (UPWP)

Megan Larsen presented the FY2020 UPWP as recommended by the COMPASS Finance Committee.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Charlie Rountree seconded adoption of Resolution 16-2019 approving the FY2020 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed with one nay and one abstention.

# D. Approve FY2020 *Communities in Motion* (CIM) Implementation Grants and Project Development Program Projects

Kathy Parker presented the requests for FY2020 CIM Implementation Grants for projects in the Cities of Wilder and Kuna (two projects each) and Project Development Program projects in the Cities of Boise, Nampa and Notus, and at Boise State University.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Rebecca Arnold seconded approval of the FY2020 Communities in Motion Implementation Grants and Project Development Program projects as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

### E. Approve Regional Transit Asset Management Targets

Carl Miller presented the FY2020 regional transit asset management targets as approved by the Valley Regional Transit Board of Directors, to meet federal performance requirements.

After discussion, **Elaine Clegg moved and Nathan Leigh seconded approval of the FY2020** regional transit asset management targets as recommended. Motion passed unanimously.

### **INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS**

A.	<b>Review Content of Communities in Motion</b>	n 2050 (	<b>CIM 2050)</b>	<b>Public Invol</b>	vement
	#1				

Carl Miller and Amy Luft reviewed a draft public survey for CIM 2050.

### **B.** Status Report – Finance Committee

Stan Ridgeway provided a status report on the August 8, 2019, Finance Committee meeting.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting was adjourned at 3:07 p.m.

Approved this 21st day of October 2019.

By:	
-	Tom Dale, Chair
	<b>Community Planning Association of</b>
	Southwest Idaho

**Attest:** 

By: \_\_\_\_\_

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho

 $t:\fy19\900\ operations\board\2019\ agendaminutes\mbox{\mbox}\mbox{minutes}08262019.docx$