

Working together to plan for the future

ITEM V-A

COMPASS BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING AUGUST 28, 2017 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

* *MINUTES * *

ATTENDEES: Kelli Badesheim, Valley Regional Transit

Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Immediate Past

Chair

Keith Bird, Councilmember, for Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County, Chair Elect

Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise, Secretary-Treasurer

Corey Cook, Boise State University

Matt Edmond for John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

Daren Fluke for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Jay Gibbons, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District No. 4

Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa, Vice Chair

Maryanne Jordan, Councilmember, for TJ Thomson, Councilmember, City of Boise

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

David Lincoln, Commissioner, Golden Gate Highway District No. 3

David Luft for Aaron Scheff, Department of Environmental Quality

Larry Maneely for Rick Visser, Commissioner, Ada County

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell

Paul Raymond, Councilmember, City of Nampa

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department - District 3

Charlie Rountree, City of Meridian

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Chair

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County

Dave Wallace for Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Paul Woods, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Nikole Zogg, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

MEMBERS Chad Bell, Mayor, City of Star

ABSENT: Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

David Porterfield, Mayor, City of Notus

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Stan Ridgeway, Mayor, City of Eagle

Parkie Stapleton, Councilmember, City of Melba

Joe Stear, Mayor, City of Kuna

Pam White, Commissioner, Canyon County

OTHERS: Marcus Amman, Community Planning Association

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Rachel Haukkala, Community Planning Association

Stephen Hunt, Valley Regional Transit

Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Kathy Parker, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Steve Rule called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Matt Stoll introduced new COMPASS staff members Marcus Amman and Rachel Haukkala.

Matt provided an update on action taken by the Idaho Transportation Board, removed SH 16 from consideration for current GARVEE bonding funding and requested an environmental study on I-84.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve June 18, 2017, COMPASS Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved May 9 and July 11, 2017, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved May 18 and June 29, 2017, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Approve List of Records to be Destroyed
- E. Approve Appointment of Caleb Lacey, ITD-D3 to the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee, per RTAC Bylaws Article 2, Committee Structure, 2.4
- F. Adopt Resolution 11-2017 Amending the FY2017-2021 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)
- G. Approve Change to End-of-Year Program and Redistribution Priorities

- H. Approve Updated Financial Policy and Procedures
- I. Approve City of Greenleaf Request for COMPASS Membership

Dave Case moved and Charlie Rountree seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Adopt Resolution 12-2017 Approving the FY2018 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget

Megan Larsen presented Resolution 12-2017 approving the FY2018 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget, as recommended by the COMPASS Finance Committee.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Bob Henry seconded adoption of Resolution 12-2017 approving the FY2017 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approve FY2019-2023 Funding Applications Ranking Process

Kathy Parker presented a change to the funding application ranking process to remove the requirement to use the Audience Response System to rank projects, as recommended by the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee.

After discussion, **Bob Henry moved and Sara Baker seconded to amend the funding application process for FY2019-2023 as outlined in the FY2019 COMPASS Funding Application Guide as presented. Motion passed unanimously.**

C. Approve COMPASS Workgroup Charters

Megan Larsen presented the FY2018 COMPASS workgroup charters, as recommended by the Executive Committee.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Sara Baker seconded approval of the COMPASS workgroup charters as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Approve FY2018 Communities in Motion (CIM) Implementation Grants

Kathy Parker presented five FY2018 *Communities in Motion* Implementation Grants, as recommended by the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee.

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Darin Taylor seconded approval of the FY2018 Communities in Motion Implementation Grants as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report - Finance Committee

Elaine Clegg, Finance Committee Chair, provided an update on action taken at the June 29 and August 17, 2017, Finance Committee meetings.

B. Status Report - Communities in Motion (CIM) 2040 2.0 Development Process and Document Format

Liisa Itkonen provided a status report on the progress and next steps in developing CIM 2040 2.0, including refining the CIM 2040 funding policy, updating project priorities, and developing a web-based document.

C. Review Communities in Motion (CIM) Growth Comparison

Carl Miller reviewed regional growth trends and how they compare to growth forecasted in the *Communities in Motion 2040* Vision.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Rule adjourned the meeting at 2:45 p.m.

Approved this 16th day of October 2017.

By:	
-	Steven Rule, Chair
	Community Planning Association of
	Southwest Idaho

Attest:

By:______

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho

T:\FY17\900 Operations\Board\2017 agendasminutes\minutes08282017.docx