BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING SEPTEMBER 17, 2012 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Nichoel Baird Spencer for James Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

Sara Baker, Commissioner, for Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa,

Secretary/Treasurer

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian John Evans, Mayor, Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4 Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Chair Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, Chair Elect Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna Brent Orton, City of Caldwell Ben Quintana, Councilman, for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton TJ Thomson, Councilman, City of Boise Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality

MEMBERS ABSENT: Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County, Immediate Past Chair David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio Anthony Lyons, Capital City Development Corporation Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell



700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

MEMBERS ABSENT: (CONTINUED)	Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Vice Chair Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County
OTHERS:	Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors David Duro, YMCA

Karen Gallagher, City of Boise
Sally Goodell, Ada County Highway District
Mike Hall, Capital City Development Corporation
Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association
Amy Luft, Community Planning Association
Don Matson, Community Planning Association
Brian McClure, City of Meridian
Carl Miller, Community Planning Association
Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association
Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association
Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association
Teresa Wood-Adams, YMCA

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair McKee called the meeting to order at 1:35 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

No additions or changes to the Agenda were requested.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS

Matt Stoll announced that the September 18, 2012, COMPASS Executive Committee meeting has been cancelled due to lack of quorum.

Matt announced that the city of Kuna has been awarded the surplus COMPASS 1998 Ford Taurus Station Wagon in response to the request of interest.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve August 20, 2012, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved July 17, 2012, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved June 28, 2012, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Approve Jared Everett as Boise State University Non-Elected COMPASS Board Member
- E. Approve Process for How Discretionary Program Applications are Prioritized

Martin Thorne moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEM

A. Treasure Valley Family YMCA Safe Routes to School

Janell Zuckerman, Treasure Valley Family YMCA Safe Routes to School Director, provided a presentation on Safe Routes to School program.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

A. Executive Session Idaho Code 67-2345 (b)

Bryce Millar moved and Martin Thorne seconded to move into Executive Session pursuant to Idaho Code 67-2345 (b) at 2:15 pm.

Matt Stoll called role. The following Board members were present and voted in the affirmative to move into Executive Session:

Sara Baker, Ben Quintana, Elaine Clegg, Tom Dale, Tammy de Weerd, John Evans, Kelli Fairless, John Franden, Dave Jones, John McEvoy, Carol McKee, Bryce Millar, Greg Nelson, Brent Orton, Nichoel Baird Spencer, Darin Taylor, TJ Thomson, Martin Thorne, and Pete Wagner.

There were no nay votes.

Martin Thorne moved and John Franden seconded to convene back into regular session at 2:37 pm. No action was taken in Executive Session. Motion passed unanimously.

Tom Dale moved and John Franden seconded approval of a one-time 3% merit payment to Matt Stoll, and Matt will also received an additional 80 hours of director's leave to be awarded in whole on October 1st of each year to be used by September 30th of each year, with no accrual or carryover of time. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Review Communities in Motion 2040 Preferred Scenario

Carl Miller presented the Communities in Motion 2040 Preferred Scenario. Staff will seek adoption at the October 2012 Board meeting.

Darin Taylor requested copies of the traffic congestion slides used in Carl's presentation.

John Franden requested that staff look at past long-range plans to see how accurate we were in forecasting jobs, population, etc.

Carl said he will present an analysis of COMPASS' projections for the last 10 years at the October 2012 meeting.

Elaine Clegg requested staff determine "average travel time," and identify prime farmland, so that we are preserving the agricultural economy.

B. Review Map 21 – Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century

Charles Trainor reviewed MAP 21 legislation and its impact on the region.

C. Review Updated COMPASS Public Involvement Policy

Amy Luft provided an overview of the updated COMPASS Public Involvement Policy, which is updated every three years. Staff will seek approval of the policy at the October 2012 Board meeting.

D. Review Communities in Motion 2040 Financial Forecast

Charles Trainor reviewed the Communities in Motion 2040 Financial Forecast. Staff will seek Board approval of the financial forecast at the October 2012 Board meeting.

Tammy de Weerd requested that Matt work with Ken Burgess and the other MPOs to develop suggestions for possible solutions to the funding challenges in the upcoming state legislative session and report back to the Board at the October 2012 meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

Elaine Clegg moved and John McEvoy seconded adjournment at 3:45 pm.

Dated this 15th day of October 2012.

Approved:

By:_

Carol McKee, Chair Community Planning Association

Attest:

By:_

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association

T:\FY12\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maint\Board\2012 agendaminutes\minutes09172012.doc