

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING SEPTEMBER 18, 2006 ADA COUNTY COURTHOUSE BOISE, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Gerry Armstrong for Judy Peavey-Derr, Commissioner, Ada County A.J. Balukoff, Trustee, Independent School District of Boise City

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian

Dave Bivens, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Alan Brock, Commissioner, Golden Gate/Notus-Parma Highway District

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise

Richard Cook for Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, *Chair-Elect* Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian, *Chair*

Marje Ellmaker, Mayor, City of Notus

Pete Friedman for Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County Michael Fuss for Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Karen Gallagher, for Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise

Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation

Katey Levihn for John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County

Highway District, Vice-Chair

Mike McGown, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Frank McKeever, Mayor, City of Middleton

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1 Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, *Secretary-Treasurer* Eric Shannon for Charles Rountree, Idaho Transportation

Department

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association,

Ex officio

Bill Vaughan for Nancy Merrill, Mayor, City of Eagle Mike Vuittonet, Trustee, Joint School District #2

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Matt Beebe, Commissioner, Canyon County Russell Duke, Central District Health, Ex officio Matt Ellsworth, Governor's Office, Ex officio John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County

Gordon Law, City of Caldwell Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Dean Obray, Mayor, City of Kuna

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Darin Taylor, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Robert Vasquez, Commissioner, Canyon County

Margaret Watson, Mayor, City of Parma

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

OTHERS: Eric Adolfson, Community Planning Association

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

John Cunningham, Community Planning Association

Brad Kelly, Iteris

Fred Kitchener, McFarland Management Jim Larson, Ada County Highway District Terry Little, Ada County Highway District Steve Moreno, Federal Highway Administration Patti Raino, Idaho Transportation Department

Terri Schorzman, Community Planning Association

Jon Sandoval, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality

Steve Siddoway, City of Meridian

Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association

Ted Vanegus, City of Eagle

Mary Ann Waldinger, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

Jay Witt, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Tammy de Weerd called the meeting to order at 1:42 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll requested a motion directing staff to draft a letter for Chair de Weerd's signature to Charlie Rountree thanking him for his service as an Idaho Transportation Department employee.

Garret Nancolas moved and Keith Bird seconded that staff draft a letter from the COMPASS Board thanking Charlie Rountree for his service as an Idaho Transportation Department employee. Motion passed unanimously.

Chair de Weerd noted that Mike McGown was moving into a new position with the Idaho Department of Environmental Quality and thanked Mike for his participation on the COMPASS Board.

Elaine Clegg moved and Dave Bivens seconded approval of Jon Sandoval as the non-elected Board member for the Idaho Department of Environmental Quality, Pete Friedman as a COMPASS Board alternate for Ada County, and Bill Vaughan as a COMPASS Board alternate for the City of Eagle. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENT

Matt Stoll reminded the Board that the October 16, 2006 Board meeting location has been changed to the Caldwell Police Department.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve August 21, 2006, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved July 18, 2006, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Tom Dale moved and Carol McKee seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Adopt Resolution 13-2006 and 14-2006 Approving the Final 2007-2011 Transportation Improvement Programs for Northern Ada County and the Nampa Urbanized Area

Toni Tisdale stated that, due to numerous changes that have been requested by the Idaho Transportation Department and the Regional Technical Advisory Committee, staff requests this item be deferred until the October 16, 2006 Board meeting.

After discussion, *Elaine Clegg moved and Carol McKee seconded to defer the approval of the final 2007-2011 Transportation Improvement Programs until October 2006. Motion passed unanimously.*

OTHER

Mayor Dale introduced Michael Fuss, City Engineer for Nampa and requested that Michael be approved as a COMPASS Board alternate for the City of Nampa.

Garret Nancolas moved and Carol McKee seconded approval of Michael Fuss as a COMPASS Board alternate for the City of Nampa. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Discuss Federal Highway Administration's Perspective on Recent Trends in Transportation Funding and Cost Growth

Steve Moreno, of the Federal Highway Administration, provided a presentation on the Federal Highway Administration's perspective on recent trends in transportation funding and cost growth.

B. Overview of the Surface Transportation Program-Enhancement and Congestion Mitigation/Air Quality Projects

Patti Raino, of the Idaho Transportation Department, presented an overview of the Surface Transportation Program-Enhancement and Congestion Mitigation/Air Quality Projects.

C. Status Report – Treasure Valley Intelligent Transportation System Plan

Fred Kitchener, of McFarland Management, provided a status report on the Treasure Valley Intelligent Transportation System Plan.

D. Review Annual Monitoring Report

Charles Trainor reviewed the format of the Annual Monitoring Report.

E. Review Project Prioritization Criteria for Use in Developing the FY2008-2012 Transportation Improvement Programs

Toni Tisdale provided a review of the project prioritization criteria to be used in developing the FY2008-2012 Transportation Improvement Programs.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Marje Ellmaker seconded to direct the Regional Technical Advisory Committee to develop a preliminary prioritization criteria process by December 2006 to use for the FY2008-2012 Transportation Improvement Programs. Motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT	
Dave Bivens moved and Carol McKee seconded adjournment at 3:55.	Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 16th day of October 2006.	APPROVED:
Αττεςτ:	By:
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association	

T:\FY06\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maintenance\Board\2006agendaminutes\minutes09182006.doc