

Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho Board of Directors Meeting September 19, 2005 Ada County Courthouse Boise, Idaho

### \*\*\*MINUTES\*\*\*

**ATTENDEES:** David Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise

Dave Bivens, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Beatrice Black for A.J. Balukoff, Independent School District of Boise City

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, **Vice-Chair** 

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian, Chair-Elect

Mark Dunham, Boise State University Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit Bob Flowers, Mayor, City of Parma, **Chair** 

John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District,

### Secretary/Treasurer

Kathy Holley, Central District Health, Ex Officio

Mike McGown, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality

Carol McKee, Commissioner, for Sherry Huber Ada County Highway District

Frank McKeever, Mayor, City of Middleton

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell Judy Peavey-Derr, Commissioner, Ada County

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex Officio

Sue Sullivan for Charlie Rountree, Idaho Transportation Department

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Matt Beebe, Commissioner, Canyon County

Alan Brock, Commissioner, Golden Gate/Notus-Parma Highway Districts

Marje Ellmaker, Mayor, City of Notus

Ted Ellis, Mayor, Garden City

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County

Lance Giles, Governor's Office, Ex Officio

Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation

Jeffery Lang, Councilman, for Dean Obray, Mayor, City of Kuna

Gordon Law, City of Caldwell Nancy Merrill, Mayor, City of Eagle Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex Officio

Robert Vasquez, Commissioner, Canyon County

Mike Vuittonet, Joint School District #2

**OTHERS:** Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors Kathleen Lacey, City of Boise

Katey Levihn, Ada County Highway District Patricia Nilsson, Community Planning Association

PJ Polikov, Gateway Planning Scott Polikov, Gateway Planning

Terri Schorzman, Community Planning Association

Steve Siddoway, City of Meridian

Ray Stark, Boise Metro Chamber of Commerce Cindy Thiel, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

Jay Witt, Community Planning Association

### **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Flowers called the meeting to order at 1:40 p.m.

## AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Tammy de Weerd moved and Carol McKee seconded approval of the September 19, 2005 COMPASS Board meeting agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

# OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Tom Dale moved and Judy Peavey-Derr seconded approval of Sue Sullivan as Board alternate for Charlie Rountree. Motion passed unanimously.

### **SPECIAL ITEM**

Scott Polikov, planner and attorney from Austin, Texas, shared his experience as a metropolitan planning organization board member for the Austin region. Scott encouraged COMPASS to look at the Atlanta MPO and the North Central Texas Council of Governments as an example of growing areas. Scott discussed the practice of diverting a percentage of transportation improvement program funds to be used to award an area that marries land use and transportation more efficiently and does the things that make the transportation investment more successful.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

- A. Approve August 15, 2005, COMPASS Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved July 27, 2005, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Tammy de Weerd moved and Vern Bisterfeldt seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

A. Adopt Resolutions 19-2005 and 20-2005 Approving the Final FY2006-2010 Transportation Improvement Programs for the Nampa Urbanized Area and Northern Ada County

Patricia Nilsson reviewed the final FY2006-2010 Transportation Improvement Programs for the Nampa Urbanized Area and Northern Ada County.

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Tom Dale seconded adoption of Resolution 19-2005 approving the final FY2006-2010 Transportation Improvement Program for the Nampa Urbanized Area. Motion passed unanimously.

After discussion, John Franden moved and Judy Peavey-Derr seconded adoption of Resolution 20-2005, final FY2006-2010 Transportation Improvement Program for Northern Ada County. Motion passed unanimously.

### INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Review Goals and Objectives for Strategic Plan and Recommend Annual Calendar for Strategic Plan Update

Matt Stoll reviewed the goals and objectives for the strategic plan and the recommended annual calendar for the strategic plan update.

### B. Update on the Development of a Mode Choice Model

Jay Witt provided an update on the development of the mode choice model, which is the third step in the four step travel demand model. Staff has identified future improvements to the model and its output.

# C. Review Optimal Transportation Networks under Communities in Motion

Charles Trainor reviewed the optimal transportation networks developed for presentation at the open house meetings scheduled for October 5-6, 2005. This information will include the best estimates of available resources, costs for the roadway and transit networks, an outline of how project prioritization could be approached, and an analysis of the major travel patterns to depict where people will go under the Trend and Community Choices scenarios.

## D. Review Federal and State Legislative Issues

Matt Stoll reviewed federal and state legislative issues and discussed projects identified by the COMPASS Legislative Relations Committee for submittal for federal FY2007 annual appropriations.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Tom Dale moved and Fred Tilman seconded to adjourn at 3:50 p.m.	<b>Motion passed</b>
unanimously.	

Dated this 17th day of October 2005.

	APPROVED:
ATTEST:	By: Bob Flowers, Chair Community Planning Association
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association	

 $T:\FY05\900Operations\Board\2005 agend as minutes\mbox{$\rangle$ minutes} 192005. doc$