ITEM III-A



### BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING OCTOBER 16, 2006 CALDWELL POLICE DEPARTMENT CALDWELL, IDAHO

### \*\*MINUTES\*\*

	ATTENDEES:	<ul> <li>A.J. Balukoff, Trustee, Independent School District of Boise City Matt Beebe, Commissioner, Canyon County Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian</li> <li>Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise</li> <li>Dave Bivens, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District</li> <li>Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise</li> <li>Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, <i>Chair-Elect</i></li> <li>Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian, <i>Chair</i></li> <li>Russell Duke, Central District Health, Ex officio</li> <li>Marje Ellmaker, Mayor, City of Notus</li> <li>Matt Ellsworth, Governor's Office, Ex officio</li> <li>Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit</li> <li>David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County</li> <li>John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, <i>Vice-Chair</i></li> <li>Dean Gunderson for Judy Peavey-Derr, Commissioner, Ada County</li> <li>Kathleen Lacey for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise</li> <li>Gordon Law, City of Caldwell</li> <li>James Maguire, Boise State University</li> <li>Carol McKee, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1</li> <li>Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, <i>Secretary-Treasurer</i></li> <li>Jon Sandoval, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality</li> <li>Jerome Scroggins, Commissioner, for Darin Taylor, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4</li> <li>Eric Shannon, Idaho Transportation Department</li> <li>Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio</li> <li>Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa</li> <li>Mike Vuittonet, Trustee, Joint School District #2</li> <li>Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County</li> </ul>
	Members Absent:	Alan Brock, Commissioner, Golden Gate/Notus-Parma Highway District John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County
0		Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation Nancy Merrill, Mayor, City of Eagle Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Dean Obray, Mayor, City of Kuna Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Robert Vasquez, Commissioner, Canyon County Margaret Watson, Mayor, City of Parma

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

Sabrina Bowman, Ada County Highway District Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association Frank Bruneel, Idaho Transportation Board Dave Butzier, Connecting Idaho Partners Matt Ellsworth, City of Meridian Ben Frevert, Iteris Nestor Fernandez, Idaho Transportation Department Michael Fuss, City of Nampa Fred Kitchener, McFarland Management Jim Larson, Ada County Highway District Terry Little, Ada County Highway District Don Matson, Community Planning Association Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Patti Raino, Idaho Transportation Department Terri Schorzman, Community Planning Association Ray Stark, Boise Metro Chamber of Commerce Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Mary Ann Waldinger, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

#### CALL TO ORDER:

OTHERS:

#### Chair de Weerd called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m.

#### AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll noted that Action Item V-A should read, "Adopt Resolution 01-2007 and 02-2007 Approving the Final 2007-2011 Transportation Improvement Programs for Northern Ada County and the Nampa Urbanized Area."

# After discussion, *Frank McKeever moved and Tom Dale seconded changes to the agenda as noted by staff. Motion passed unanimously.*

#### **OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENT**

Chair de Weerd welcomed Board member Matt Ellsworth from the Governor's Office and requested Board approval of James Maguire as a non-elected Board member representing Boise State University and Pete Friedman as a non-elected Board alternate for the City of Meridian.

#### Garret Nancolas moved and David Ferdinand seconded approval of James Maguire as a non-elected Board member representing Boise State University and Pete Friedman as a non-elected Board alternate for the City of Meridian. Motion passed unanimously.

Matt Stoll introduced new COMPASS staff members Don Matson and Carl Miller.

## Elaine Clegg moved and Tom Dale seconded approval of Dean Gunderson as a non-elected Board alternate for Ada County. Motion passed unanimously.

#### CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve September 18, 2006, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved August 15, 2006, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Mike Vuittonet moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### SPECIAL ITEM

#### A. Status Report – Connecting Idaho/GARVEE Program.

Dave Butzier presented an update on the Connecting Idaho/GARVEE program.

#### B. Introduce Frank Bruneel, Idaho Transportation Board Chair

Frank Bruneel reviewed the current issues regarding transportation needs in Idaho.

#### ACTION ITEMS

#### A. Adopt Resolution 01-2007 and 02-2007 Approving the Final 2007-2011 Transportation Improvement Programs for Northern Ada County and the Nampa Urbanized Area

Toni Tisdale presented the final transportation improvement programs for adoption.

After discussion, *Garret Nancolas moved and Vern Bisterfeldt seconded adoption of Resolutions 01-2007 and 02-2007 approving the Final 2007-2011 Transportation Improvement Programs for Northern Ada County and the Nampa Urbanized Area as presented. Motion passed unanimously.* 

#### B. Adopt Resolution 03-2007 Approving the Updated Intelligent Transportation System Plan

Mary Ann Waldinger presented the updated Intelligent Transportation System Plan for approval.

After discussion, Dean Gunderson moved and Carol McKee seconded adoption of Resolution 03-2007 approving the updated Intelligent Transportation System Plan as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### C. Adopt Resolution 04-2007 Approving the Updated Public Involvement Policy

Terri Schorzman presented the updated Public Involvement Policy for approval.

After discussion, *Elaine Clegg moved and Vern Bisterfeldt seconded adoption of Resolution 04-2007* approving the updated Public Involvement Policy with an amendment that the public comment period for GARVEE projects be kept at 15 days to be consistent with all other projects. Motion passed unanimously.

#### INFORMATION/DISCUSSION

#### A. Update on Studies Coordination

Toni Tisdale presented an update on transportation studies in the Treasure Valley website, which can be accessed on the COMPASS website at http://www.compassidaho.org/planning/studies.htm.

#### **A**DJOURNMENT

Tom Dale moved and Dave Bivens seconded adjournment at 3:00 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 20th day of November 2006.

**APPROVED:** 

Вү:

Tammy de Weerd, Chair Community Planning Association

ATTEST:

By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association

T:\FY07\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maintenance\Board\2006agendaminutes\minutes10162006.doc