

# Working together to plan for the future

ITEM V-A

# COMPASS BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING OCTOBER 16, 2017 COMPASS, 1<sup>ST</sup> FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2<sup>ND</sup> STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

## \*\*MINUTES\*\*

**ATTENDEES:** Kelli Badesheim, Valley Regional Transit

Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Immediate Past

Chair

Corey Cook, Boise State University

Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County

Matt Edmond for John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

Jay Gibbons, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District No. 4

Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa, Vice Chair

Kurt Kopadt, Councilmember, City of Greenleaf

Meg Leatherman for Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County, Chair Elect

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

Anne Little Roberts, Councilmember, for Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Zach Piepmeyer for Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise, Secretary-

**Treasurer** 

Paul Raymond, Councilmember, City of Nampa

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department – District 3

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Chair

Aaron Scheff, Department of Environmental Quality

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

TJ Thomson, Councilmember, City of Boise

Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County

Rick Visser, Commissioner, Ada County

Pam White, Commissioner, Canyon County

Paul Woods, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Nikole Zogg, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

MEMBERS Alicia Almazan, Mayor, City of Wilder

ABSENT: Chad Bell, Mayor, City of Star

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

David Lincoln, Commissioner, Golden Gate Highway District No. 3

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell David Porterfield, Mayor, City of Notus

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Stan Ridgeway, Mayor, City of Eagle Charlie Rountree, City of Meridian

Parkie Stapleton, Councilmember, City of Melba

Joe Stear, Mayor, City of Kuna

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

**OTHERS:** Jason Boal, Ada County Development Services

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Julie DeLorenzo, Member, Idaho Transportation Board - District 3

Michael Fuss, City of Nampa

Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association

Justin Lucas, Ada County Highway District Amy Luft, Community Planning Association

Larry Maneely, Ada County

Mitra Mehta-Cooper, Ada County Development Services

Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Duane Wakan, Community Planning Association

#### **CALL TO ORDER:**

Chair Steve Rule called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

#### AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Jim Tibbs requested that the COMPASS Board recognize Meg Leatherman as an alternate for Dave Case, who was not able to provide the required 24 hours advance written notice due to illness.

Bob Henry moved and Nathan Leigh seconded approval of Meg Leatherman as an approved alternate for Dave Case as requested. Motion passed unanimously.

Matt Stoll stated the COMPASS Executive Committee recommended to add Information/Discussion Item VII-B to the agenda for an update from Corey Cook on Boise State's 2017 Public Policy Survey.

Jim Tibbs moved and Bob Henry seconded amending the agenda to add Information/Discussion Item VII-B Update on Boise State's 2017 Public Policy Survey. Motion passed unanimously.

#### OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Chair Rule welcomed Kurt Kopadt, Greenleaf City Councilmember, to his first COMPASS Board meeting.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

- A. Approve August 28, 2017, COMPASS Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved August 8, 2017, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Establish 2018 COMPASS Board and Executive Committee Meeting Dates and Location. Provide 30 Day Notice of Annual Meeting
- D. Confirm Resolution 13-2017 Amending *Communities in Motion* (CIM) 2040 and Resolution 14-2017 Amending the FY2017-2021 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)
- E. Adopt Resolution 01-2018 Approving Rural Project Priorities
- F. Approve Appointment of Ada County Staff Jason Boal, Mitra Mehta-Cooper, and Megan Leatherman to the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee, per RTAC Bylaws Article 2, Committee Structure, 2.4

Tom Dale moved and Jim Hansen seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

A. Adopt Resolution 02-2018 Amending Communities in Motion 2040 (CIM 2040)

Liisa Itkonen presented Resolution 02-2018 amending CIM 2040 to add, remove, and/or change the scope of funded projects as requested by Ada County Highway District, Idaho Transportation Department, and Valley Regional Transit.

After discussion, Nichoel Baird Spencer moved and Nathan Leigh seconded adoption of Resolution 02-2018 amending *Communities in Motion 2040* as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approve Communities in Motion 2040 2.0 Funding Policy

Liisa Itkonen presented a change to the CIM 2040 2.0 funding policy to add the wording, "Use federal funds to maintain the existing transportation system <u>and to strategically address regional priorities as identified in the regional long-range transportation plan</u>."

After discussion, Jay Gibbons moved and Jim Tibbs seconded approval of the CIM 2040 2.0 funding policy as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Adopt Resolution 03-2018 Approving the FY2018-2022 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) and Associated Air Quality Conformity

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 03-2018 approving the FY2018-2022 TIP and associated air quality conformity for COMPASS Board adoption.

After discussion, Brent Orton moved and Sara Baker seconded adoption of Resolution 03-2018 approving the FY2018-2022 Regional Transportation Improvement Program and associated air quality conformity. Motion passed unanimously.

#### INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

# A. Status Report - Rails with Trails

Duane Wakan provided a status report on the Rails with Trails Workgroup and its planning work to date.

After discussion, Chair Rule asked for any objection to directing staff to move forward with research and add this item to a future Board agenda for discussion on how much further to go. No objection was heard.

## B. Update 2017 Public Policy Survey

Corey Cook, Dean, Boise State University reviewed key findings from the 2017 Public Policy Survey conducted September 6-8, 2017.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Rule adjourned the meeting at 2:45 p.m.

Approved this 18th day of December 2017.

	Ву:
	Steven Rule, Chair Community Planning Association of
	Southwest Idaho
Attest:	

By:

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director
Community Planning Association of
Southwest Idaho

T:\FY18\990 Operations\Board\2018 agendasminutes\minutes10162017.docx