

Working together to plan for the future

ITEM V-A

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING OCTOBER 19, 2015 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Chair Elect

John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County, Secretary-Treasurer

Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa

Kathleen Lacey for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Chair

Nicole Nimmons, Boise State University

Paul Raymond, Councilmember, City of Nampa

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department – District 3

Jim Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

Charlie Rountree, Councilmember, City of Meridian, Immediate Past Chair

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, **Vice Chair** Aaron Scheff, Department of Environmental Quality

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

Jenah Thornborrow for John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

Scot Ludwig, Councilmember, City of Boise

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

OTHERS: Richard Beck, Ada County

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors Michael Fuss, City of Nampa

Margaret Havey, Valley Regional Transit Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association

Rhonda Jalbert, Valley Regional Transit Bill Larsen, Treasure Valley Partnership

Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association Tom Laws, Community Planning Association Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Don Matson, Community Planning Association

Larry Maneely, Ada County

Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Sabrina Minshall, Community Planning Association Walt Satterfield, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Mike Toole, Department of Environmental Quality MaryAnn Waldinger, Community Planning Association

Dave Wallace, Ada County Highway District

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Garret Nancolas called the meeting to order at 1:30 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Matt Stoll stated that nominations are open for the COMPASS Secretary/Treasurer position, which will be approved at the annual Board meeting in December 2015.

Matt also stated that the Executive Committee authorized him to seek nominations for a COMPASS Board member, to be approved by the COMPASS Board, willing to sit on the National Association of Regional Councils' Board of Directors, either in the existing seat for the region or for an At-Large seat.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve September 21, 2015, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Review August 11, 2015, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Approve List of Records for Destruction
- D. Establish 2015 COMPASS Board and Executive Committee Meeting Dates and Location. Provide 30 Day Notice of Annual Meeting
- E. Adopt Resolution 01-2016 Approving Rural Project Priorities Recommended by Rural Agencies in Ada and Canyon Counties

Darin Taylor moved and Tom Dale seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report - Air Quality Issues in the Treasure Valley

Mike Toole, DEQ staff, provided a status report on air quality issues in the Treasure Valley, including the revised ozone standard.

B. Status Report - State and Federal Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on state and federal legislative issues.

C. Status Report - FY2016 Project Development Program

Sabrina Minshall provided a status report on projects in the FY2016 Project Development Program, which assists member agencies in developing projects that are ready for grant applications.

D. Status Report - Communities in Motion 2040 2.0

COMPASS staff provided a status report on CIM 2040 2.0 transportation components: bicycle/pedestrian network, freight, public transportation, and roadways, and the update to the demographic forecast.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Approve Process for Developing Future Public Transportation System

Walt Satterfield presented the process for developing the future public transportation system, as recommended by the Public Transportation Workgroup and the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee for COMPASS Board approval.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Rebecca Arnold seconded to endorse the process for developing the future public transportation system as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Staff was directed to provide a briefing on the Kittelson study, the analysis and high points, at the December Board 2015 meeting.

B. Approve Shift of High Capacity Corridor Study TMA Funds to Preliminary Development

Walt Satterfield presented a request to reprogram high capacity corridor study TMA funds from FY2018 to preliminary development, as recommended by the Public Transportation Workgroup and the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee for COMPASS Board approval.

After discussion, Bob Henry moved and Steve Rule seconded approval to reprogram the TMA funds to preliminary development as presented. Motion passed with one nay.

C. Approve FY2016 COMPASS Funding Plan

Sabrina Minshall presented the FY2016 COMPASS funding plan, which focuses on increasing the amount of outside resources being invested in the Treasure Valley to implement *Communities in Motion 2040.*

After discussion, Sara Baker moved and Tom Dale seconded approval of the FY2016 COMPASS funding plan as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Adopt Resolution 02-2016 Amending the FY2016-2020 Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 02-2016 amending the FY2016-2020 Regional Transportation Improvement Program. The Regional Transportation Advisory Committee recommended these amendments for COMPASS Board approval.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Charlie Rountree seconded adoption of Resolution 02-2016 amending the FY2016-2020 Regional Transportation Improvement Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

E. Approve Policy for Project Cost Overruns in the CIM Implementation Grant Program

Don Matson presented the policy for project cost overruns in the CIM Implementation Grant Program.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Bob Henry seconded approval of the policy for project cost overruns in the CIM Implementation Grant Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

OTHER

Matt Stoll noted the November 2015 Board meeting has been canceled. The next meeting is December 21, 2015, at the Nampa Civic Center starting at 12:00 pm with the COMPASS Board annual holiday luncheon.

ADJOURNMENT

Bob Henry moved and Dave Case seconded adjournment at 3:20 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 21st day of December 2015.

	Approved:
Attest:	By: Garret Nancolas, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho	

T:\FY16\900 Operations\Board\2016 agendasminutes\minutes10192015.docx