

Working together to plan for the future

ITEM V-A

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING OCTOBER 20, 2014 COMPASS, 1ST FLOOR BOARD ROOM 700 NE 2ND STREET, MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County

Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Nichoel Baird Spencer for Jim Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Vice Chair

John Brunelle, Capitol City Development Corporation

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

Michael Fuss for Paul Raymond, Councilman, City of Nampa Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa

Caleb Hood for Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Maryanne Jordan, Councilwoman, City of Boise Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

Kathleen Lacey for Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise

Dave Luft for Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, Immediate Past

Chair

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Chair Elect

Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna

Nicole Nimmons, Boise State University

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department

Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Chair

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

MEMBERS Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

ABSENT: Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County

David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Luke McHenry, City of Wilder

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Secretary-Treasurer

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

OTHERS: Sabrina Anderson, Community Planning Association

Aaron Bauges, Idaho Transportation Department Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Scott Frey, Federal Highway Administration

Jennifer Gonzalez, Idaho Transportation Department

Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association

Rhonda Jalbert, Valley Regional Transit

Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association

Megan Leatherman, Ada County

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association

Larry Maneely, Ada County

Don Matson, Community Planning Association Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association

Christina Torkelson, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association

Dave Wallace, Ada County Highway District

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Rountree called the meeting to order at 1:37 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll requested to add Action Item VII-F Adopt Resolution 03-2015 Supporting Rural Prioritization Projects List.

After discussion, Maryanne Jordan moved and Sara Baker seconded to add Action Item VII-F Adopt Resolution 03-2015 Supporting the Rural Prioritization Projects List to the agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Matt introduced Sabrina Anderson, COMPASS' new Director of Planning.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve September 15, 2014, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved August 19 and August 28, 2014, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Approve List of Records for Destruction

Dave Case moved and Garret Nancolas seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEM

A. Status Report - State and Federal Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on state and federal legislative issues.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Adopt Resolution 01-2015 Approving the FY2015-2019 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) and Air Quality Conformity Demonstration

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 01-2015 approving the FY2015-2019 TIP and associated Air Quality Conformity Demonstration. This item had initially been brought to the COMPASS Board in September, but was tabled to allow for public comment on changes proposed by the Idaho Transportation Department after the initial public comment period closed.

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Bob Henry seconded adoption of Resolution 01-2015 approving the FY2015-2019 Regional Transportation Improvement Program; removing Key Number H324 – US 20/26 and Farmway Road Intersection, Canyon County; eliminating ITD's proposed change to remove Key Number H306, I-84, US 20/26 (Franklin Road) to Caldwell to Franklin Boulevard in Nampa project, and leaving the other priorities intact as described on the Major Changes List. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Adopt Resolution 02-2015 Amending the FY2014-2018 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 02-2015 amending the FY2014-2018 TIP adding new projects from the FY2015-2019 TIP that are scheduled for early FY2015. This will allow new projects to proceed while COMPASS awaits final approval of the FY2015-2019 TIP.

After discussion, Sara Baker moved and Kathy Alder seconded adoption of Resolution 02-2015 amending the FY2014-2018 Regional Transportation Improvement Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Approve Scope of Work for Next Communities in Motion (CIM) Update

Liisa Itkonen presented the scope of work for the next CIM update as recommended for Board approval by the Regional Technical Advisory Committee. The update will be a minor update, maintain 2040 as the horizon year, continue major tenets of CIM 2040, and meet federal requirements and federal certification review recommendations.

After discussion, Kelli Fairless moved and Maryanne Jordan seconded approval of the scope of work and schedule for the Communities in Motion update with the horizon year of 2040 as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Approve Transportation Service Coordination Plan Update

Liisa Itkonen presented the 2014 update to the Transportation Service Coordination Plan for Ada and Canyon Counties, which Valley Regional Transit Board approved in September 2014. The plan is required for funding the Federal Transit Administration 5310, Enhanced Mobility for Seniors and Individuals with Disabilities program, and is also a recommended best practice for prioritizing other Federal Transit Administration funding programs.

After discussion, Maryanne Jordan moved and Kathy Alder seconded approval of the Transportation Service Coordination Plan update as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

E. Approve Employee Health Care Plan Trust Agreement

Megan Larsen requested COMPASS Board approval of the City of Boise Employee Health Care Plan Trust Agreement and Bylaws, and appointment of a Trustee to represent COMPASS.

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Sara Baker seconded approval of the City of Boise Employee Health Care Plan Trust Agreement and Bylaws with minor corrections to be made. Megan Larsen is approved as the COMPASS trustee. Motion passed unanimously.

F. Adopt Resolution 03-2015 Supporting Rural Prioritization

Toni Tisdale presented the Rural Prioritization Projects List.

After discussion, Bryce Millar moved and Sara Baker seconded adoption of Resolution 03-2015 supporting rural prioritization as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Bob Henry moved and Daye Case seconded adjournment at 2:37 pm. Motion passed

unanimously.	aca adjournment at 2.07 pm. Motion pa
Dated this 15th day of December 2014.	Approved:
	By: Charlie Rountree, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho
Attest:	
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Direct Community Planning Association Southwest Idaho	