

REGIONAL TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE NOVEMBER 17, 2010 COMMUNITY PLANNING ASSOCIATION

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Sabrina Anderson, Ada County Highway District

Mary Barker, Valley Regional Transit

Troy Behunin, City of Kuna (for Steve Hasson)

Clair Bowman, City of Nampa

Jon Cecil, Capital City Development Corporation Michael Garz, Idaho Transportation Department-D3

Ryan Head, Ada County Highway District Caleb Hood, City of Meridian, **Vice Chair** Wendy Howell, City of Middleton, **Chair** Gary Inselman, Ada County Highway District

Megan Johnson, Ada County Development Services

Casey Jones, Boise State University

Kathleen Lacey, City of Boise

David Luft, Department of Environmental Quality

Don Matson, COMPASS (Ex-Officio)

Deanna Smith, Public Participation Committee

Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle

Jim Voorhees, Canyon Highway District #4

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jennifer Carson, Canyon County Development Services

Chris Collins, Mayor, City of Notus

Rob Howarth, Central District Health Department (Ex-

Officio)

Robb MacDonald, City of Caldwell Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Eric Shannon, Nampa Highway District No. 1

Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma Jenah Thornborrow, City of Garden City

OTHERS PRESENT: Nathan Dale, COMPASS

Eric Lindstrom, Kittelson & Associates

Amy Luft, COMPASS Carl Miller, COMPASS

Sai Kumar Sarepalli, Holladay Engineering Company

Toni Tisdale, COMPASS Charles Trainor, COMPASS

Cheyne Weston, Boise Parks & Recreation

Debbie Winchar, COMPASS

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Howell called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

CONSENT AGENDA

A. Approve October 27, 2010 Meeting Minutes

Jon Cecil moved and Ryan Head seconded to approve the October 27, 2010 Meeting Minutes as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Recommend Approval of Recommendations for Preservation Funding on US 20/26 and SH 44 and Protocol for Grouping Projects

Toni Tisdale presented a PowerPoint presentation regarding major points between the preservation funding on US 20/26 and SH 44 and protocol for grouping projects. Toni said the FY2011-2015 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) will go to the COMPASS Board in December 2010 which would require RTAC's recommendation to approve again with the changes by reducing the amounts for the corridors at \$50,000 each and adjust the grouping: add safety category and bridge category to match the Idaho Transportation Department's (ITD) current information.

Discussion regarding corrections to grouping changes as presented:

- Key No. 11970, I-84, 10th Street Interchange to Franklin Road Interchange. Caldwell should remain in Roadway Capital group.
- Key No. H316, I-84, Wye Interchange Storm Retention Pond should change to Roadway Capital group.

Toni said she just found out yesterday that two projects need to be added through the Transportation, Community, and System Preservation program (TCSP) and ITD funding. These projects do not have to go through public involvement because they are federally discretionary:

- I-84, Broadway Ave. to Gowen Road widening: \$377,000
- I-84, Caldwell to Nampa widening: \$943,000

After discussion, Clair Bowman moved and Caleb Hood seconded to recommend approval of the proposal for preservation funding on US 20/26 and SH 44 and the Protocol Overview subject to four modifications:

- 1. Include changes on page 7 of the Protocol under Agency Notification as discussed:
- 2. Modify the groupings as presented in changes to the grouped projects category except for Key Nos. 11970 and H316 which stay as they were;
- 3. Include the two TCSP projects; and,
- 4. Remand the discussion of grouping categories back to the Subcommittee prior to presenting the FY2012-2016 TIP to RTAC.

Discussion:

Toni said on bullet #2, Key No. H316 will need to change from Roadway Maintenance to Roadway Capital.

Clair and Caleb concurred.

There being no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

B. Request Volunteers for the TIP Prioritization Scoring Subcommittee

Toni Tisdale requested volunteers for the TIP Scoring Subcommittee.

Volunteers:

Ryan Head, Ada County Highway District Kathleen Lacey, City of Boise Mary Barker, Valley Regional Transit Clair Bowman, City of Nampa Wendy Howell, City of Middleton

Toni said the subcommittee meeting will be scheduled for Friday, December 10, 2010, 9:00 a.m., at COMPASS. An appointment will be sent to the subcommittee volunteers.

Information/Discussion Items

A. Notification of State Applications in FY2013

Toni Tisdale presented information from the Idaho Transportation Department regarding state funds that can be used for small safety projects on state facilities in local jurisdictions.

B. Review and Discuss TIP Guidebook

Toni Tisdale presented the draft Guidebook for discussion. Toni said the goal is to keep an updated document that will benefit both COMPASS and member agency staff in the TIP process.

C. Consider Performance Monitoring Report (PMR) Workgroup Recommendations

Carl Miller presented the PMR and requested RTAC's consideration of the workgroup's recommendations for the 2011 *Communities in Motion* PMR.

Discussion:

- It would be helpful to define "near Transit."
- The Air Quality Index should be a 2010 Indicator under Choices in Transportation as well as Preservation of open space and farmland.

D. Discuss Adoption of Communities in Motion (CIM) 2035 by Local Agencies

Charles Trainor discussed the status of CIM and the need to get it onto the local agencies' agendas for adoption/approval.

Volunteers for the Federal Aid Functional Classification Review workgroup:

Boise city staff
Jim Voorhees, Canyon Highway District
Mark Wasdahl, Idaho Transportation Department, District 3
Deanna Smith, Public Participation Committee
Jeff Lowe, Ada County Highway District
Eric Shannon, Nampa Highway District #1

Charles said a follow-up email will be sent to the volunteers as well as the entire RTAC.

OTHER

A. Next Meeting: Wednesday, December 15, 2010, 9:00 a.m., at COMPASS.

ADJOURNMENT

Kathleen Lacey moved and Deanna Smith seconded adjournment at 10:14 a.m. Motion passed unanimously.

T:\FY11\800 System Maintenance\820 Committee Support\RTAC\Minutes\minutes111710.docx