

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING NOVEMBER 20, 2006 ADA COUNTY COURTHOUSE BOISE, IDAHO

MINUTES

A.J. Balukoff, Trustee, Independent School District of Boise City ATTENDEES: Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise Dave Bivens, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Alan Brock, Commissioner, Golden Gate/Notus-Parma Highway District Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, Chair-Elect Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian, Chair John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County Dean Gunderson for Judy Peavey-Derr, Commissioner, Ada County Sherry Huber, Commissioner, for John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Vice-Chair Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation Kathleen Lacey for Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Frank McKeever, Mayor, City of Middleton Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1 Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Secretary-Treasurer Charlie Rountree, Councilman for Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian Jon Sandoval, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality Jerome Scroggins, Commissioner, for Darin Taylor, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4 Eric Shannon, Idaho Transportation Department Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County Cindy Trail for Russell Duke, Central District Health, Ex officio Bill Vaughn for Nancy Merrill, Mayor, City of Eagle Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County MEMBERS ABSENT: Matt Beebe, Commissioner, Canyon County Matt Ellsworth, Governor's Office, Ex officio Gordon Law, City of Caldwell James Maguire, Boise State University Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Dean Obray, Mayor, City of Kuna Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Robert Vasquez, Commissioner, Canyon County Mike Vuittonet, Trustee, Joint School District #2 Margaret Watson, Mayor, City of Parma

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors John Cunningham, Community Planning Association Ross Dodge, Community Planning Association Nestor Fernandez, Idaho Transportation Department Scott Frey, Federal Highway Administration Michael Fuss, City of Nampa Pete Friedman, City of Meridian Don Kostelec, Ada County Highway District Don Matson, Community Planning Association Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Patti Raino, Idaho Transportation Department Randy Romeo, Community Planning Association Terri Schorzman, Community Planning Association Ray Stark, Boise Metro Chamber of Commerce Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Mary Ann Waldinger, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

OTHERS:

Chair de Weerd called the meeting to order at 1:47 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll requested to add a Finance Committee Status Report as Information/Discussion Item V-C.

Tom Dale moved and Phil Kushlan seconded approval of the agenda with the addition of Information/Discussion Item V-C. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Matt Stoll stated that Mayor Ellmaker had lost a recall election and a new mayor will be appointed.

Mayor de Weerd, Mayor Dale and Mayor Nancolas announced upcoming groundbreaking/project opening ceremonies.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve October 16, 2006, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved September 19, 2006, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Frank McKeever moved and Jon Sandoval seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Approve Federal FY2008 Annual Appropriations Priorities

Ken Burgess, of Veritas Advisors, reviewed the Federal FY2008 Annual Appropriations Priorities.

After discussion, *Vern Bisterfeldt moved and Garret Nancolas seconded approval of the Federal FY2008 annual appropriations priorities as presented. Motion passed unanimously.*

B. Approve State 2007 Legislative Session Priorities

Matt Stoll presented the State 2007 legislative session priorities.

After discussion, *Dean Gunderson moved and Tom Dale seconded approval of the State 2007 legislative session priorities 1-4 as presented.*

DISCUSSION

After discussion, the maker and second of the motion agreed to amend the motion to include wording in *Priority No. 3, Transportation Revenue to read, "…transportation system including transit and alternative transportation modes in the State of Idaho." Motion passed unanimously.*

C. Adopt Resolutions Amending the FY2006-2010 and FY2007-2011 Northern Ada County and Nampa Urbanized Area Transportation Improvement Programs

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 05-2007 amending the FY2006-2010 Northern Ada County Transportation Improvement Program and Resolutions 06-2007 and 07-2007 amending the FY2007-2011 Northern Ada County and Nampa Urbanized Area Transportation Improvement Programs.

Carol McKee moved and Dean Gunderson seconded adoption of Resolution 05-2007 amending the FY2006-2010 Northern Ada County Transportation Improvement Program and Resolutions 06-2007 and 07-2007 amending the FY2007-2011 Northern Ada County and Nampa Urbanized Area Transportation Improvement Programs as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Executive Session – Personnel Matter [Idaho Code 67-2345(b)

Vern Bisterfeldt moved and David Ferdinand seconded to adjourn into Executive Session at 2:45 p.m.

Matt Stoll called roll. The following Board members were present and voted in the affirmative to move into Executive Session: A.J. Balukoff, Dave Bieter, Charlie Rountree for Keith Bird, Vern Bisterfeldt, Dave Bivens, Alan Brock, Kathleen Lacey for Elaine Clegg, Tom Dale, Tammy de Weerd, John Evans, Kelli Fairless, David Ferdinand, Sherry Huber for John Franden, Phil Kushlan, Carol McKee, Frank McKeever, Bryce Millar, Garret Nancolas, Dean Gunderson for Judy Peavey-Derr, Jon Sandoval, Eric Shannon, Jerome Scroggins for Darin Taylor, Martin Thorne, Fred Tilman and Rick Yzaguirre. There were no nay votes.

Tom Dale moved and Charlie Rountree seconded to adjourn back into regular session at 3:05 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.

Tom Dale moved and Garret Nancolas seconded approval of an 8% salary increase for Matt Stoll. Motion passed unanimously.

Garret Nancolas moved and Carol McKee seconded that the salary increase is retroactive to October 1, 2006. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION

A. Review Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) Program

Scott Frey, of the Federal Highway Administration, provided an overview of the Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Program.

B. Discuss Traffic Impact Studies Coordination

Charles Trainor presented issues related to the conduct of traffic impact studies and the potential role of COMPASS and the Regional Technical Advisory Committee.

C. Status Report – Finance Committee

A.J. Balukoff, Finance Committee Chair, provided a status report on the November 17, 2006, Finance Committee meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

Dave Bivens moved and David Ferdinand seconded adjournment at 3:40 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 18th day of December 2006.

APPROVED:

Вү:_

Tammy de Weerd, Chair Community Planning Association

ATTEST:

BY:

Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association

T:\FY07\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maintenance\Board\2006agendaminutes\minutes11202006.doc