

Working together to plan for the future

ITEM V-A

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING DECEMBER 15, 2014 NAMPA CIVIC CENTER 311 3RD STREET SOUTH, NAMPA, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

John Bechtel for Luke McHenry, City of Wilder

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

Daren Fluke for Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Jim Hansen, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Craig Hanson, Commissioner, Canyon County

Bob Henry, Mayor, City of Nampa

Maryanne Jordan, Councilwoman, City of Boise Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, Immediate Past Chair

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Chair Elect

Patricia Nilsson for Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Paul Raymond, Councilman, City of Nampa

Jim Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department

Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian, Chair

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County, Secretary-Treasurer

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Jim Tibbs, Commissioner, Ada County

Dave Wallace for Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District,

Vice Chair

Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

MEMBERS John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

ABSENT: David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Greg Nelson, Mayor, City of Kuna Nicole Nimmons, Boise State University

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

OTHERS: Sabrina Anderson, Community Planning Association

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Ken Couch, Idaho Transportation Department

Michael Fuss, City of Nampa

Kent Goldthorpe, Commissioner-Elect, Ada County Highway District

Jennifer Gonzalez, Idaho Transportation Department

Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association

Kathleen Lacey, City of Boise

Megan Larsen, Community Planning Association

Megan Leatherman, Ada County

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association

Larry Maneely, Ada County

Christina Marfice, Idaho Press-Tribune Carl Miller, Community Planning Association

Amy Schroeder, Idaho Transportation Department

David Statkus, Citizen

Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Rountree called the meeting to order at 1:37 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Tammy de Weerd moved and Garret Nancolas seconded approval of Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Chair Rountree welcomed Parma Mayor Nathan Leigh to his first COMPASS Board meeting.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve October 20, 2014, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved September 12, 2014, and October 21, 2014, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Approve List of Records for Destruction
- D. Approve 2015 COMPASS Board and Executive Committee Meeting Dates and Provide 30 Day Notice of Annual Meeting
- E. Adopt Resolution 04-2015 Amending the FY2015-2019 Regional Transportation Improvement Program
- F. Adopt Resolution 05-2015 Amending the FY2014-2018 Regional Transportation Improvement Program
- G. Approve Communities in Motion Update Public Involvement Plan

Tammy de Weerd moved and Rebecca Arnold seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Review ITD Approach to Addressing Needs on I-84 from Franklin Boulevard in Nampa to Interchange 29 in Caldwell (US 20/26 AKA Franklin Road)

Amy Revis, ITD District 3 Engineer, provided a review of ITD's approach to addressing needs on I-84 from Franklin Boulevard in Nampa to Interchange 29 in Caldwell.

After discussion, Chair Rountree requested unanimous consent to direct staff to move forward in starting the process of removing the I-84 from Franklin Boulevard in Nampa to Interchange 29 in Caldwell project from the FY2015-2019 Regional Transportation Improvement Program based on Amy Revis' presentation to reflect ITD's schedule. Hearing no objection, Chair Rountree so ordered.

B. Status Report - Finance Committee

Rebecca Arnold, Finance Committee Chair, provided an overview of action taken at the November 20 and December 11, 2014, Finance Committee meetings.

C. Status Report - COMPASS Education Campaign

Amy Luft provided a memo in the packet outlining the COMPASS Education Campaign on transportation funding.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Approve 2015 Idaho Legislative Position Statements

Ken Burgess presented 2015 Idaho Legislative Position Statements as recommended for COMPASS Board approval by the Executive Committee. The statements focus on support for increased transportation funding, local option taxing authority, and increased funding and flexibility for local transportation agencies.

After discussion, **Bob Henry moved and Maryanne Jordan seconded approval of the 2015** Idaho Legislative position statements, with the exception of positon statement 1.a. Motion passed.

B. Adopt Resolution 06-2015 Approving Revision 1 of the FY2015 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget (UPWP)

Megan Larsen presented Resolution 06-2015 approving Revision 1 of the FY2015 UPWP, which includes a new program to assist member agencies in project scope development and an investment in bicycle/pedestrian counters.

After discussion, John McEvoy moved and Elaine Clegg seconded adoption of Resolution 06-2015 approving Revision 1 of the FY2015 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Approve Revised Development Review Protocol

Carl Miller presented the revised development review protocol and checklist. The checklist will be used as COMPASS provides input to cities and counties regarding how proposed land use developments align with *Communities in Motion 2040*, the long-range transportation plan.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Maryanne Jordan seconded approval of the revised Development Review Protocol as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT	
Chair Rountree adjourned the meeti	ng at 2:58 pm.
Dated this 26th day of January 2015	
	Approved:
	By: Charlie Rountree, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho
Attest:	
By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Dir Community Planning Associat	rector

T:\FY15\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations Maint\Board\2015 agendaminutes\minutes12152014.docx

Southwest Idaho