

Working together to plan for the future

COMPASS BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING DECEMBER 16, 2019 NAMPA CIVIC CENTER 311 3RD ST S, NAMPA, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Kelli Badesheim, Valley Regional Transit

Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle

Chad Bell, Mayor, City of Star

Treg Bernt, Councilmember, City of Meridian

Elaine Clegg, Councilmember, City of Boise, Chair Elect

Tom Dale, Commissioner, Canyon County, Chair

John Evans, Mayor, Garden City

Karen Gallagher for Dave Bieter, City of Boise

Greg Hill, Boise State University

Caleb Hood for Charlie Rountree, City of Meridian

Kendra Kenyon, Commissioner, Ada County

Debbie Kling, Mayor, City of Nampa

Kurt Kopadt, Councilmember, City of Greenleaf

Diana Lachiondo, Commissioner, Ada County

Nathan Leigh, Mayor, City of Parma

David Lincoln, Commissioner, Golden Gate Highway District No. 3

Mary May, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Tom Points, City of Nampa

Amy Revis, Idaho Transportation Department – District 3

Stan Ridgeway, Mayor, City of Eagle, Secretary-Treasurer

Victor Rodriguez, Councilmember, City of Nampa

Aaron Scheff, Department of Environmental Quality

Joe Stear, Mayor, City of Kuna

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Darin Taylor, Mayor, City of Middleton

Dave Wallace for Sara Baker, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District,

Immediate Past Chair

Pam White, Commissioner, Canyon County

Holli Woodings, Councilmember, City of Boise

Nikole Zogg, Southwest District Health, Ex officio

MEMBERS Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

ABSENT: John Brunelle, Capital City Development Corporation

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Jay Gibbons, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District No. 4

Chelsie Johnson, City of Wilder

Andrew Mitzel, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Vice Chair

David Porterfield, Mayor, City of Notus

Pat Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio Parkie Stapleton, Councilmember, City of Melba Leslie Van Beek, Commissioner, Canyon County

Rick Visser, Commissioner, Ada County

OTHERS: Morgan Andrus, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors Julie DeLorenzo, IT Board Member

Tevrin Fuller, Community Planning Association Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association Meg Larsen, Community Planning Association

Angie Lee, City of Parma

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Carl Miller, Community Planning Association Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Hailey Townsend, Community Planning Association MaryAnn Waldinger, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Tom Dale called the meeting to order at 1:43 p.m.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

General announcements were made.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve October 21, 2019, COMPASS Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved October 8, 2019, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Confirm Regional Transportation Advisory Committee Membership
- D. Accept Annual Statewide Safety Targets
- E. Approve List of Records to be Destroyed

Darin Taylor moved and Joe Stear seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report - Finance Committee

Finance Committee Chair Stan Ridgeway provided a status report on action taken at the November 21 and December 12, 2019, COMPASS Finance Committee meetings.

B. Review Regional Outreach Efforts for the 2020 Census

Hailey Townsend presented COMPASS' planned regional outreach efforts and work in support of local outreach for the upcoming Census.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Adopt Resolution Approving Revision 1 of the FY2020 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget (UPWP)

Meg Larsen presented Resolution 03-2020 approving Revision 1 of the FY2020 UPWP as recommended by the Finance Committee for COMPASS Board approval.

After discussion, Elaine Clegg moved and Debbie Kling seconded adoption of Resolution 03-2020 approving Revision 1 of the FY2020 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approve 2020 Idaho Legislative Session Position Statements

Ken Burgess presented 2020 Idaho legislative session position statements recommended by the Executive Committee for COMPASS Board approval. Positions address transportation revenue, local option sales tax authority, funding for public transportation, high occupancy vehicle lanes, non-motorized transportation, the use of hands-free electronic devices while driving, and a weight/distance fee for heavy vehicles.

After discussion, **Debbie Kling moved and Holli Woodings seconded approval of the 2020** Idaho legislative session position statements as presented. Motion passed with two abstentions.

C. Approve 2020 Federal Transportation Position Statements

Ken Burgess presented 2020 federal transportation position statements recommended by the Executive Committee for COMPASS Board approval. Positions address reauthorization of the FAST (Fixing American's Surface Transportation) Act, long-term solvency of the Highway Trust Fund, and rail corridor use.

After discussion, Darin Taylor moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of the 2020 federal transportation position statements as presented. Motion passed with 1 abstention.

D. Approve Communities in Motion 2050 Demographic Forecast

Carl Miller presented the *Communities in Motion 2050* population forecast of 1,075,000 individuals for the year 2050 as recommended by the Demographic Advisory Workgroup.

E. Accept Proposed Changes to the National Highway System

MaryAnn Waldinger presented the proposed changes to the National Highway System as recommended by the Regional Transportation Advisory Committee for COMPASS Board approval.

F. Adopt Resolution 04-2020 Amending the FY2019-2023 and FY2020-2026 Transportation Improvement Programs (TIPs)

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 04-2020 amending the FY2019-2023 and FY2020-2026 TIPs to fund cost increases for four projects.

After discussion, **Debbie Kling moved and Joe Stear seconded adoption of Resolution 04-2020 amending the FY2019-2023 and FY2020-2026 Regional Transportation Improvement Programs as presented. Motion passed unanimously.**

G. Confirm 2020 Board Officers Slate

The COMPASS Executive Committee recommended COMPASS Board approval of the 2020 Board officers: Elaine Clegg, Chair; Garret Nancolas, Chair Elect; Joe Stear, Vice Chair; Debbie Kling, Secretary-Treasurer; and Tom Dale, Immediate Past Chair.

After discussion, Holli Woodings moved and Mary May seconded to approve the 2020 COMPASS Board Officer Slate as recommended by the Executive Committee. Motion passed unanimously.

OTHER

Matt Stoll presented Commissioner Tom Dale with a plaque in appreciation of his service as the 2019 COMPASS Board Chair.

ADJOURNMENT The meeting was adjourned at 3:10 p.m. Approved this 24th day of February 2020. By: Elaine Clegg, Chair Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho Attest: By: Matthew J. Stoll, Executive Director Community Planning Association of Southwest Idaho