

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING DECEMBER 18, 2006 NAMPA CIVIC CENTER BOISE, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Ex officio

Nichoel Baird Spencer for Nancy Merrill, Mayor, City of Eagle A.J. Balukoff, Trustee, Independent School District of Boise City

Matt Beebe, Commissioner, Canyon County

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise

Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian Vernon Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise

Dave Bivens, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District Alan Brock, Commissioner, Golden Gate/Notus-Parma Highway District

Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa, *Chair-Elect* Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian, *Chair* Russell Duke, Central District Health, Ex officio

John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City

John Franden, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District,

Vice-Chair

Jeffery Lang, Councilman, for Dean Obray, Mayor, City of Kuna

James Maguire, Boise State University

Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Frank McKeever, Mayor, City of Middleton

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, Secretary-Treasurer

Judy Peavey-Derr, Commissioner, Ada County

Jon Sandoval, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality

Jerome Scroggins, Commissioner, for Darin Taylor, Commissioner,

Canyon Highway District #4

Eric Shannon, Idaho Transportation Department

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association,

Ex officio

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Mike Vuittonet, Trustee, Joint School District #2 Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Matt Ellsworth, Governor's Office, Ex officio

Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation

Gordon Law, City of Caldwell Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County

Robert Vasquez, Commissioner, Canyon County

Margaret Watson, Mayor, City of Parma

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

OTHERS: Dan Black, Idaho Press Tribune

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

John Cunningham, Community Planning Association

Ross Dodge, Community Planning Association

Pete Duley, Boise County Pete Friedman, City of Meridian Karen Gallagher, City of Boise

Scott Gurnsey, Idaho Transportation Department

Nancy Holbert, Boise County/Idaho City

Mike Journee, Treasure Valley Air Quality Council

Terry Little, Ada County Highway District

Melinda O'Malley Keckler, Treasurer Valley Air Quality Council

Shawn Martin, Ada County Highway District
Don Matson, Community Planning Association
Pat McGarran, Treasurer Valley Air Quality Council
Carl Miller, Community Planning Association
Pete O'Neill, Treasure Valley Air Quality Council
Terri Schorzman, Community Planning Association
Dale Stephenson, Treasurer Valley Air Quality Council
Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association
Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association
Mary Ann Waldinger, Community Planning Association
Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair de Weerd called the meeting to order at 1:36 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

Matt Stoll requested adding a status report from Ken Burgess on the FY2007 Appropriations Process as Item V-D under Information/Discussion Items.

Garret Nancolas moved and Tom Dale seconded adding to the agenda Information/Discussion Item V-D, Status Report –FY2007 Appropriations Process. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Chair de Weerd thanked Ada County Commissioner Judy Peavey-Derr for her 13 years of participation on the COMPASS Board.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve November 20, 2006, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved October 17, 2006, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Establish 2007 COMPASS Board, Executive Committee and Finance Committee Meeting Dates and Locations; Provide 30 Day Notice of January 22, 2007 Annual COMPASS Board Meeting

Carol McKee moved and Judy Peavey-Derr seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

A. Adopt Resolution Approving Revision 1 of the FY2007 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget

Matt Stoll reviewed proposed revisions to the FY2007 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget.

Elaine Clegg moved and A.J. Balukoff seconded adoption of Resolution 08-2007 approving Revision 1 of the FY2007 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION

A. Status Report-Treasure Valley Air Quality Council

Pete O'Neill, Treasure Valley Air Quality Council Chairman, provided an overview of the Council's recommendations.

B. Review Project Prioritization Process

Toni Tisdale reviewed the project prioritization process to be used for the FY2008-2012 Transportation Improvement Program update.

Elaine Clegg stated for the record, that she is concerned that if we build new roads in areas that we have designated as non-growth areas, it is likely that intent will be lost by driving growth to those areas. She stated she is concerned about whether or not we will recommend policies to the land use agencies along the corridors where that is the case. She stated she would like to see a real transit project scored and prioritized to ensure the process is put together in a way that it will score highly, assuming we have the operating cash and a primary transit corridor is being added.

Chair de Weerd directed staff to respond to Elaine's comments. Matt encouraged Board members to get any comments they have to Toni and to review this process with their staff members.

C. Receive Draft FY2015 Federal Functional Classification Map

This item was provided as information only. Staff will present and request Board approval of the draft FY2015 Federal Functional Classification Map at the January 2007 Board meeting.

D. Status Report – Legislative Activities

Ken Burgess provided a status report on legislative activities.

After discussion, Matt Stoll requested Board action to add transit facilities back in as a third priority item for transit funding for FY2008.

Dave Bieter moved and Dave Bivens seconded to add transit facilities back in as a third priority item for transit funding for FY2008. Motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Dave Bieter moved and Dave Bivens seconded adjournment at 2:40 p.m. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 22nd day of January 2007.	
	APPROVED:
Attest:	By:
By:	

T:\FY07\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maintenance\Board\2007agendaminutes\minutes12182006.doc