

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING DECEMBER 19, 2011 MERIDIAN CITY HALL 33 EAST BROADWAY AVENUE MERIDIAN, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County Lisa Bachman, Councilwoman, for Scott Dowdy, Mayor, City of Kuna

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise, Immediate Past Chair

Vern Bisterfeldt, Commissioner, Ada County Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa John Evans, Mayor, Garden City Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County,

Caleb Hood for Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian

Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department Bruce Krosch, Southwest District Health, Ex officio Anthony Lyons, Capital City Development Corporation

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, **Vice Chair**

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian,

Secretary/Treasurer

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County James Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

TJ Thomson, Councilman, City of Boise Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Vicki Thurber, Mayor, City of Middleton Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County Pete Wagner, Department of Environmental Quality Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

700 N. East 2nd Street, Suite 200

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F.208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Dave Case, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

David Hensley, Governor's Office, Ex officio James Maguire, Boise State University

Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, Chair

Elect

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma

OTHERS: Sabrina Anderson, Ada County Highway District

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association

Kathleen Lacey, City of Boise

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association Don Matson, Community Planning Association Eric Shannon, Nampa Highway District #1

Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle

Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association

CALL TO ORDER:

Chair Ferdinand called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Charlie Rountree seconded to add under Special Items, as Item A. Approval of Anthony Lyons, Capital City Development Corporation Director, as a non-elected Board member. Motion passed unanimously.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCMENTS

Various announcements were made by staff and Board members.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve November 28, 2011, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved October 18, 2011, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Establish 2012 COMPASS Board and Executive Committee Meeting Dates and Locations

Elaine Clegg moved and Garret Nancolas seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEMS

A. Approve Anthony Lyons, Capital City Development Corporation Director, as a Non-Elected Board Member

After discussion, Vern Bisterfeldt moved and Tom Dale seconded approval of Anthony Lyons, Capital City Corporation Director, as a non-elected Board member. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Boise State University: Explore Public Participation in the Treasure Valley Research Findings

Dr. Brian Wampler presented results of a Boise State University public participation research project that used COMPASS activities as the research base.

C. Recognize Retiring Board Members

Outgoing COMPASS Board members, Vicki Thurber, Mayor City of Middleton, and Lisa Bachman, Councilwoman City of Kuna, were presented plaques of appreciation for their service on the COMPASS Board of Directors.

D. Member Agency Presentation: City of Kuna's Goals, Successes, Issues, Challenges

Councilwoman Lisa Bachman reviewed the City of Kuna's goals, successes, issues, and challenges.

E. Status Report – Federal Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess presented a federal legislative issues update.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Adopt Resolution 02-2012 to Expand the Planning Area Boundary

Charles Trainor presented Resolution 02-2012 to expand the COMPASS planning area boundary to include all of Ada and Canyon Counties.

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Dave Bieter seconded adoption of Resolution 02-2012 expanding the planning area boundary as presented.

Chair Ferdinand called for a roll call vote:

Matt Stoll called the roll. The following members were present and voted as noted:

Kathy Alder: no Dave Bieter: yes Vern Bisterfeldt: yes Elaine Clegg: yes Tom Dale: yes Caleb Hood: yes John Evans: yes Kelli Fairless: yes David Ferdinand: yes

Dave Jones: yes Anthony Lyons: yes John McEvoy: yes Bryce Millar: yes Nate Mitchell: yes Garret Nancolas: yes

Brent Orton: no
Jim Reynolds: no
Charlie Rountree: yes
T. J. Thomson: yes
Vicki Thurber: yes
Sharon Ullman: no
Pete Wagner: yes
Rick Yzaguirre: yes

Motion passed 19 to 4.

B. Approve 2012 State Legislative Positions Statements

Ken Burgess presented proposed 2012 State Legislative Position Statements.

After discussion, John McEvoy moved and Elaine Clegg seconded to vote on the 2012 State Legislative Position Statements per item. Motion passed with one nay vote.

- Item 1, Transportation Revenue: passed as presented with one nay.
- Item 2, Local Option Tax Authority Legislation: passed as presented with one nay.
- Item 3, GARVEE Bonding Authority for Idaho Bridge Program: passed as presented with 7 nays.
- Item 4, Bicycle Safety Legislation, passed as presented.
- Item 5, Transportation Access Plan Legislative, passed as presented.

C. Approve Priorities for FY2012 Federal Highway Discretionary Grant Programs

Toni Tisdale presented priorities for FY2012 federal highway discretionary grant programs applications.

After discussion, Kelli Fairless moved and Elaine Clegg seconded approval of priorities for FY2012 federal highway discretionary grant programs as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report – Finance Committee

Charlie Rountree, Finance Committee member, stated the FY2011 Audit was approved at the December 15, 2011, Finance Committee meeting.

B. Status Report – Communities in Motion 2040

Liisa Itkonen provided a status report on Communities in Motion 2040 process to date.

C. Status Report – Administrative Building

Matt Stoll provided an update on the COMPASS/VRT administrative building construction schedule to date.

ADJOURNMENT

Charlie Rountree moved and Bryce Millar seconded to adjourn at 3:35 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 23rd day of January 2012.	Approved:
Attest:	By: David Ferdinand, Chair Community Planning Association
By:	_

T:\FY12\900 Operations\990 Direct Operations-Maint\Board\2012 agendaminutes\minutes12192011.doc