

BOARD OF DIRECTORS' MEETING DECEMBER 20, 2010 NAMPA CIVIC CENTER 311 3RD STREET SOUTH NAMPA, IDAHO

MINUTES

ATTENDEES:

Kathy Alder, Commissioner, Canyon County

Rebecca Arnold, Commissioner, Ada County Highway

District

Dave Bieter, Mayor, City of Boise, **Chair** Keith Bird, Councilman, City of Meridian Elaine Clegg, Councilwoman, City of Boise

Tom Dale, Mayor, City of Nampa

Tammy de Weerd, Mayor, City of Meridian Kelli Fairless, Valley Regional Transit

David Ferdinand, Commissioner, Canyon County,

Chair Elect

Sherry Huber, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District

Dave Jones, Idaho Transportation Department Carol McKee, Commissioner, Ada County Highway District, **Vice Chair**

Bryce Millar, Commissioner, Nampa Highway District #1, **Secretary/Treasurer**

Nathan Mitchell, Mayor, City of Star

Garret Nancolas, Mayor, City of Caldwell, **Immediate**Past Chair

Brent Orton, City of Caldwell

James Reynolds, Mayor, City of Eagle

Steven Rule, Commissioner, Canyon County

Jerome Scroggins, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Matt Stoll, Executive Director, Community Planning Association, Ex officio

Martin Thorne, Councilman, City of Nampa Vicki Thurber, Mayor, City of Middleton Sharon Ullman, Commissioner, Ada County

Pete Wagner, Idaho Department of Environmental

Quality

Pick Vzaguirra, Commissioner, Ada County

Rick Yzaguirre, Commissioner, Ada County

800 S. Industry Way, Ste 100

Meridian, ID 83642

P. 208.855.2558

F. 208.855.2559

www.compassidaho.org

MEMBERS ABSENT: Vern Bisterfeldt, Councilman, City of Boise

Chris Collins, Mayor, City of Notus Scott Dowdy, Mayor, City of Kuna

Russell Duke, Central District Health, Ex officio

John Evans, Mayor, City of Garden City

Jason Kreizenbeck, Governor's Office, Ex officio Phil Kushlan, Capital City Development Corporation

James Maguire, Boise State University

Patrick Rice, Greater Boise Auditorium District, Ex officio

Craig Telford, Mayor, City of Parma Fred Tilman, Commissioner, Ada County

OTHERS: Sabrina Anderson, Ada County Highway District

Ken Burgess, Veritas Advisors

Nancy Brecks, Community Planning Association Keith Holmes, Community Planning Association Liisa Itkonen, Community Planning Association

Kathleen Lacey, City of Boise

Amy Luft, Community Planning Association

John McEvoy, Commissioner, Canyon Highway District #4

Charlie Rountree, Councilman, City of Meridian Toni Tisdale, Community Planning Association Charles Trainor, Community Planning Association Jeanne Urlezaga, Community Planning Association Jerry Whitehead, Idaho Transportation Board

Bruce Wong, Ada County Highway District

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Bieter called the meeting to order at 1:35 pm.

AGENDA ADDITIONS/CHANGES

None.

OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approve November 15, 2010, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. Receive Approved September 21, 2010, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes
- C. Receive Approved August 12, 2010, Finance Committee Meeting Minutes
- D. Establish 2011 COMPASS Board and Executive Committee Meeting Dates and Locations

Nate Mitchell moved and Rick Yzaguirre seconded approval of the Consent Agenda as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

SPECIAL ITEMS

A. Status Report – State and Federal Legislative Issues

Ken Burgess provided a status report on state and federal legislative issues.

ACTION ITEMS

A. Approve 2011 State Legislative Statements

Ken Burgess presented 2011 State legislative position statements recommended by the Executive Committee on November 16, 2010 on the following:

- Transportation Revenue
- Local Option Tax Authority Legislation
- Final Year Funding Approval of GARVEE Bonding Program
- Bicycle Safety Legislation
- Transportation Access Plan Legislation

After discussion, Kathy Alder moved and Nate Mitchell seconded approval of the 2011 State Legislative Statements as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

B. Approve Process for Establishing Congressional Legislative/Policy Positions

Ken Burgess presented a proposed six-step process for COMPASS in developing congressional legislative/policy positions, which the Executive Committee recommended for Board approval.

After discussion, Rebecca Arnold moved and Sharon Ullman seconded approval of the proposed process for establishing congressional legislative/policy positions, with the following additional language in step No.2: Information will be disseminated to the full Board via email at the same time as the Executive Committee receives it. Add a statement that when time permits, matters will be brought to the full Board for discussion. Also, staff was directed to coordinate a workshop for a Board discussion on developing basic policy positions. Motion passed unanimously.

C. Adopt Resolution 02-2011 Approving FY2011 Unified Planning Work Program-Revision 1

Matt Stoll presented Revision 1 of the FY2011 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget. The COMPASS Finance Committee recommended approval of Revision 1 on November 18, 2010.

After discussion, Garret Nancolas moved and Carol McKee seconded approval of Resolution 02-2011 approving Revision 1 of the FY2011 Unified Planning Work Program and Budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

D. Adopt Resolution 03-2011 Approving FY2011-2015 Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Toni Tisdale presented Resolution 03-2011 approving the FY2011-2015 Regional Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), changes to the TIP amendment policy; and a protocol overview process between ITD and COMPASS, by which transportation projects are planned and programmed within COMPASS' metropolitan planning area.

After discussion, Tom Dale moved and Dave Jones seconded adoption of Resolution 03-2011 approving the FY2011-2015 Regional Transportation Improvement Program as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

After discussion, Tom Dale moved and Dave Jones seconded adoption of the protocol overview process as presented. Motion passed unanimously

After discussion, Carol McKee moved and David Ferdinand seconded approval of the changes to the TIP amendment policy as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Status Report – AMPO Annual Conference

Elaine Clegg, COMPASS Board representative on the AMPO Board and Liisa Itkonen, COMPASS Principal Planner, provided a recap of the October 2010 AMPO annual conference.

B. Status Report - Finance Committee

Rebecca Arnold, Finance Committee Chair, provided a status report on the December 16, 2010, Finance Committee meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

Tammy de Weerd moved and Garret Nancolas seconded adjournment at 2:39 pm. Motion passed unanimously.

Dated this 24th day of January 2011.

	Approved:
	By: Dave Bieter, Chair
Attest:	Community Planning Association
By:	_