

# Working together to plan for the future

# REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE July 27, 2022 COMPASS, First Floor Board Room **ZOOM CONFERENCE CALL**

### \*\*MINUTES\*\*

ATTENDEES:

Rodney Ashby, City of Nampa, via telephone

Aaron Bauges, Idaho Transportation Department, via telephone

Lee Belt, City of Greenleaf, Vice Chair, via telephone

Clair Bowman, City of Nampa, via telephone Miranda Carson, City of Meridian, via telephone

Lara Disney, Public Participation Workgroup, via telephone Tom Ferch, Ada County Highway District, via telephone Gabe Finkelstein, Boise State University, via telephone

Devin Krasowski for Steve Fultz, Canyon County Development Services,

via telephone

Bre Brush for Karen Gallagher, City of Boise, via telephone Jessica Reid for Doug Hanson, City of Kuna, via telephone Kristi Inselman for Ryan Head, Ada County Highway District, via

telephone

Caleb Hood, City of Meridian, via telephone

Stephen Hunt, Valley Regional Transit, via telephone

Liisa Itkonen, COMPASS, Ex. Officio, via telephone

Tom Laws, Ada County Highway District, via telephone

Dan Lister, Canyon County Development Services, via telephone

Robb MacDonald, City of Caldwell, via telephone

Brian McClure, City of Meridian, via telephone

Brent Moore, Ada County Development Services, Chair, via telephone

Lenny Riccio, Canyon Highway District No. 4, via telephone

Darrell Romine, City of Melba, via telephone

Nichoel Baird Spencer, City of Eagle, via telephone

Mark Steuer, City of Nampa, via telephone

Michael Toole, Department of Environmental Quality, via telephone

Hanna Veal, City of Garden City, via telephone

Tina Wilson, City of Parma, via telephone

Stacey Yarrington, Ada County Development Services, via telephone

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Elizabeth Allen, Canyon County Development Services

Samantha Kenney, Central District Health, Ex. Officio

Leon Letson, Ada County Development Services

Angela Lively, City of Caldwell Shawn Nickel, City of Star Dave Rader, City of Boise Jessica Szelag, City of Boise

Jason VanGilder, City of Middleton

Bill Vaughan, City of Eagle

Bob Watkins, Golden Gate Highway District

**OTHERS PRESENT:** Teri Gregory, COMPASS, in person

Dane Hoskins, COMPASS, via telephone Lila Klopfenstein, COMPASS, via telephone

Amy Luft, COMPASS, via telephone Carl Miller, COMPASS, via telephone Hunter Mulhall, COMPASS, via telephone Sherone Sader, COMPASS, via telephone Joey Schueler, COMPASS, via telephone

Matt Stoll, COMPASS, in person

Toni Tisdale, COMPASS, via telephone

Vince Trimboli, Idaho Transportation Department, via telephone

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Brent Moore called the meeting to order at 8:32 am.

### OPEN DISCUSSION/ANNOUNCEMENTS

Liisa Itkonen announced that the Leadership in Motion Award nominations will open August 1. All information will be available on the COMPASS website and Amy Luft is the contact for any questions.

Caleb Hood announced that a memorial service will be held that day (July 27) at 3:00 at Bogus Basin for Matt Schultz for any who knew him and would like to attend.

Tom Laws announced Carl Miller is leaving COMPASS and thanked him for his assistance.

## **CONSENT AGENDA**

# A. Approve May 25, 2022, RTAC Meeting Minutes

Nichoel Baird Spencer moved and Clair Bowman seconded approval of the Consent Agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

#### SPECIAL ITEM

## A. RAISE Grant Application

Tom Ferch, Ada County Highway District (ACHD), presented ACHD's RAISE grant application, encompassing planning for 12 projects in Garden City, the Boise West Bench, and the Boise Central Bench.

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

# A. Recommend Modification to the FY2022-2028 Regional Transportation Improvement Program

Toni Tisdale reviewed a proposed Board Administration Modification to the FY2022-2028 Regional Transportation Improvement Program to increase the cost of one Idaho Transportation Department project.

After discussion, Nichoel Baird Spencer moved and Stacey Yarrington seconded to recommend COMPASS Board of Directors' approval of the modification to the FY2022-2028 Regional Transportation Improvement Program. Motion passed unanimously.

# B. Recommend Changes to the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendment Policy

Toni Tisdale presented proposed changes to the TIP Amendment Policy to provide more flexibility in approving cost changes due to inflation and simplify the overall amendment process.

After discussion, Clair Bowman moved and Nichoel Baird Spencer seconded to recommend COMPASS Board of Directors' approval of the revised TIP Amendment Policy. Motion passed unanimously.

# C. Recommend Approval of the 2022 Coordinated Public Transit-Human Services Transportation Plan

Lila Klopfenstein presented the draft 2022 *Coordinated Public Transit-Human Services Transportation Plan.* 

After discussion, **Stephen Hunt moved and Bre Brush seconded to recommend COMPASS Board of Directors' approval of the draft** *2022 Coordinated Public Transit-Human* **Services Transportation Plan.** Motion passed unanimously.

## D. Recommend Updates to the FY2024-2030 COMPASS Funding Application Guide

Dane Hoskins presented the updates to the FY2024-2030 COMPASS Funding Application Guide.

After discussion, Stephen Hunt moved and Clair Bowman seconded to recommend COMPASS Board of Directors' approval of the FY2024-2030 COMPASS Funding Application Guide. Motion passed unanimously.

# E. Recommend FY2023 *Communities in Motion* (CIM) Implementation Grant and Project Development Program Rankings

Joey Schueler reviewed the FY2023 CIM Implementation Grant and Project Development Program rankings for local projects.

After discussion, Clair Bowman moved and Tina Wilson seconded to recommend COMPASS Board of Directors' approval of the FY2023 *Communities in Motion* Implementation Grants and Project Development Program projects as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

### F. Safe Streets and Roads for All Safety Action Plan Grant Application

Joey Schueler requested volunteers for the formation of a subcommittee to help develop an application for a Safe Streets and Roads for All Safety Action Plan as well as requesting member agencies provide letters of support as joint applicants in the grant request.

The following individuals volunteered to be on the subcommittee:

Vince Trimboli Stacey Yarrington Miranda Carson Nichoel Baird Spencer Mark Steuer Tom Ferch

## INFORMATION/DISCUSSION ITEMS

### A. I-84 Corridor Operations Plan

Hunter Mulhall reviewed the I-84 Corridor Operations Plan.

Next Meeting: August 24, 2022

**ADJOURNMENT** 

Meeting adjourned at 9:58 am.